We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed September 17, 2013

great position, wonderful views over harbour, plenty car parking, large room, average breakfast, very helpful staff. All let down by cheap bedding & uncompfortable bed, lack of investment in what could be a very nice hotel. Dont know how they got 8 and a half star tripadvisor rating.Would we return - very much doubt it !

Room Tip: if a good bed is priority- forget it
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Salterns Harbourside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 310 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel functions take president over private guests, we had to cut our holiday short and leave, due to loud music and rowdy revellers,what a shame, location was spot on. We left at 11pm on Saturday night having been told by the manager that the function would go on until 1 ish am, this was the second night of loud music and rowdy revellers, so beware of this hotel it looks good but does not appreciate their guests.

Room Tip: Don't book here if you want a peaceful quite rest.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The downstairs of the hotel seems to have more attention than the rooms which are basic. Why is there no air conditioning in the upstairs rooms? They were stifling and our whole party agreed that they barely slept due to the heat.
The staff were friendly and the views were glorious and the evenings wedding reception was well organised.

Another point to make is that when visiting the hotel restaurant a month prior to the reception we decided to opt for an evening meal. Avoid this if possible as the meals were bland with no flavour and inadequate seasoning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Granted the best thing by far about this hotel is its Harbour views- superb! The gardens are lovely too, but that's where it ends unfortunately.
Plenty of parking spaces at the front of the hotel which is located at the end of a side road.
Staff though good are young & I feel unexperienced. The rooms are very basic, cleanish, but tired. The beds were very uncomfortable & bath overhead shower was a sprinkle of water.
The restaurant - views out to the harbour were lovely again, but that was it. My husband ordered a fillet steak which was over cooker but was indeed 2 medallions of steak which he did mention to the staff who apologised & reduced the bill. I suffer from Coeliac so could only have the 1 dish from the menu (fish) without the sauce, so it was dry with vegt.
There s not much to do around the vicinity of the hotel, but you can walk into Poole which took us about 35-40 mins steady brisk walk- where there are plenty of restaurants & pubs to choose from.
We could hear other guests walking around their rooms & on the stairs outside our room- so basically we would never choose to stay here again. It was very disappointing unfortunately.

Room Tip: Unfortunately no tips.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parv66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My son got married here on the 17th aug 2013, It was Brilliant, they got married outside in the garden where the back drop was poole harbour a fantastic day, it was beautiful the setting was perfect, the hotel is clean and tidy and the staff were all friendly and couldnt do enough for you, we stayed over night and the rooms are all big and airy, the room we were in had every thing you needed from an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilitys, the breakfast was yummy in the morning and plentiful, cant fault it at all. they even had a wet weather plan if it rained where we could go upstairs to a beautiful room which had a glass front with amazing views, and the ceremony and photos could of been taken.all i can say is Thankyou very much for making my son and his new bride have such a perfect day .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valkaffsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We called in for drinks and a snack one evening and opted to sit in the garden overlooking the marina.The setting was worth it, with panoramic views, and the sun was just beginning to set so it was a good place to be. The bar staff were quite busy so we had to wait a while but it didn't really matter. With reasonably priced food and drink this place offers a nice spot for a relaxed drink overlooking the marina and Poole Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mercuryderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Brilliant location, great breakfast. Hotel in need of modernisation. Bed was extremely uncomfortable did not get much sleep at all, neither did my partner. Hotel staff said there was nothing they could do and apologised.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecluur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
937 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,757 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.6 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salterns Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Address: 38 Salterns Way | Lilliput, Poole BH14 8JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range: $126 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salterns Harbourside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salterns Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salterns Harbourside Poole
Hotel Salterns Harbourside
Salterns Harbourside Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing