We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

Good 3 sar hotel with nice sized comfortable rooms. Polite staff and excelent food in the bar and restaurant.

  • Liked — The size of the bedroom and the sea view
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonButerfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    83
    47
    44
    30
See reviews for
48
133
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
rasplicious
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

We have stayed at the Salterns a few times over the years and have watched it gradually decline from being one of the best hotels in the area to one in need of a lot of TLC and training courses in customer service for all the staff. This used to be such a friendly hotel, with themed rooms and wonderful guest books in each room with glowing comments. Now there are staff who really don't seem to care about you and no guest books to be seen.

At £120/night you would expect a good hotel with top service and a friendly welcome. You get none of these at the Salterns and the tone is set when approaching the hotel and seeing that the Director's car parking space is right next to the entrance, clearly marked, while the Disabled spaces are beyond that. The hotel clearly does not put customers first, and this comes across when you enter.

There is no friendly greeting and, on coming and going through the Reception area, we were largely ignored unless one of our party made a point of saying hello.

The internet access (supposed to be a free wireless connection) did not work - when we complained we were not impressed with the response - basically we were told it didn't work and hadn't worked for a while and that, although this had been one of our prime reasons for booking this hotel, there were no plans to either fix it or offer money off the bill. We were not impressed at all with the attitude of the staff in this matter - they really couldn't have cared less and it was not a good start.

We had been in our room about half an hour when the door suddenly opened and a man came to turn on our radiators. The room did need the heating turned on, but we had not requested it and were surprised that someone walked into our room without knocking.

The shower did not work and we did not have the sea view room we had requested, however on the plus side, our room was large and comfortable, although the mattresses were not of the standard they used to be (not the deep, soft beds we used to have at this hotel - more like cheap mattresses that had been overused).

We met up with family at the hotel and they were all put off eating at the hotel by a strong smell of chlorine as they walked towards the restaurant. We ate elsewhere although breakfast the next morning was satisfactory.

There are no lifts so if you are on an upper floor, be prepared that you may have stairs to climb with your cases. As we went further up the stairs we noticed that the corridors were less likely to have been cleaned/vacuumed. It really does appear to be shabbily-run.

This used to be a hotel that my husband and I recommended to all and sundry. Now, if you don't mind spending a lot of money on a glorified B&B, go ahead. Personally, we shall be looking for other hotels in the area for future visits.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bad customer service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rasplicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Poole hotels

West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

Having read the reports on the Trip Advisor web site, it was with some trepidation that we booked a three night stay in October. Fortunately our experience was good. We had a large room with an outstanding view of the marina and the harbour. It was clean and tidy and adequately furnished. We ate in the hotel on all three evenings; once in the bar and twice in the restaurant. Both food and service were very good and very reasonably priced.

I can appreciate that in summer that the rooms at the rear of the hotel could be noisy as music is played from speakers on the terrace. Fortunately in October people were not sitting out in the evening and the speakers were thoughtfully turned off.

Our only problem during the stay was on the night of the Rugby World Cup Final when “locals” took up all the front row seats in front of the large TV in the bar and then persisted in continually moving around during the game.

We would certainly go back again

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor WiFi signa
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jay39bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

We booked directly with the hotel and then read the reviews. Gosh, were we worried. We made the decision to just go and take a chance as we needed to be in the area for a funeral.

Thank goodness we did.

Our stay was very pleasant - the reviews are right, the rooms do need to be modernised but ours was clean and spacious.

The cooked part of the breakfast as great but buffet was not so good. We only had one evening meal in the resturant an was pleasantly surprised - all three course were good. We also saw some of the bar food being delivered which looked very good.

Luckily for us there were no events going on during our stay - I would think that during the summer months it could get a little noise and too busy.

The location and views are stunning.

  • Liked — Location/views
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BARKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

Salterns is in a great location and if it is a question of stay here or miss out on a trip to the area then stay here. That said, at £130 a night the room was chintzy and needed updating. We were attending a wedding at Harbour Heights (gorgeous hotel!!) but found its rates a little steep. The Salterns did its job but if you can splash out nearer the £200 than £100 mark then go somwhere else. Breakfast was fine, staff were fine.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor/Furniture
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine77Herts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

I was unfortunate enough to stay here twice on two separate occasions in August 07. It was a last minute business trip and it was the only hotel in the area with availability.

On the first occasion, I sat at the only breakfast table that was set up and available. It was 9:00am. Even though there were only three other tables taking breakfast at this time, the rest of the tables were left uncleared from earlier breakfast guests. It was at least 5 minutes before I could flag down a passing worker to ask for coffee. Staff were non existent and no attempt to clear the tables was made for another 20 minutes.

On the second occasion my room had a chair at the dresser with covers that were so worn and ripped that the foam cushions were plainly visible. Judging by the material it had been like that for some time. This is not the standard I'd expect from a £80.00 a night hotel.

The next afternoon I sat in the bar to use the internet Wi-Fi they claim is available to guest in room. Its not. If you happen to be more than a few rooms away from the reception the signal is too weak. Seated at the bar were seven 'friends" of the bar maid. It was more like a youth club. They were using the facility for themselves as an afternoon meeting place. In the 30 minutes I sat there (writing this) not once was I acknowledged or asked if I'd like a drink. The bar maid was too busy having fun with her friends. The other guests that came in were also left to their own devices. At the other end of the bar was one of the hotel's chefs having a break and helping himself to drinks. It certainly didn't feel like a place I'd want to be staying as a guest.

I reported the low standards to the owner/manager who said he was not aware of these issues but did welcome my feedback. Perhaps he should pay more attention if he wants to avoid more reports like this....

In addition to the very poor management and no apparent training of the staff, the hotel is run down and tiered. I don't think there has been any major investment for many years. Stay elsewhere if you can..

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Massee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salterns Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Property: Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Address: 38 Salterns Way | Lilliput, Poole BH14 8JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salterns Harbourside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salterns Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salterns Harbourside Poole
Hotel Salterns Harbourside
Salterns Harbourside Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing