We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great picture of the local community”

Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden
Ranked #10 of 63 things to do in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Poole Museum discover the colourful history of this ancient port town and its people, and learn about the amazing environment of Poole Harbour, on four floors of art, archaeology and social history. The recently extended and re-displayed museum (all year, except Mons in Winter)has a terrace with stunning harbour views, and activities for all. Medieval Scaplen's Court Museum is open Aug and its tranquil herb garden May - Sept afternoons. ALL FREE.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great picture of the local community”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went down to Poole Harbour as an attempt to defy the rain and go across to visit Brownsea Island. While debating whether this cloud of rain will disappear we realised our attire was not likely to be appropriate and would not remain dry for the next half hour. We will certainly return on a sunny day, meanwhile we decided to wonder around until we came across Poole Museum. The design of the entrance and free entry did attract us even more and stepped in to discover an great array of history of the region and particularly Poole. It also shows an energetic community and its link to the Olympics. Overall, good layout and displays, with films, photographs, objects and furniture from different eras. Worth the detour and will probably return!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HestiandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    87
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Lovely little museum right on our doorstep, runs activities for little ones somedays as well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LcJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting, well laid out and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We came across the museum during a day visit and decided to go in. It was really interesting and full of items. The displays were well laid out, and the staff were very friendly.

There is a terrace on the 3rd floor, which has good views over the streets and quay.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“An excellent insight into the history of Pool”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Free (!!) entry to this excellent museum, housed in a very old timber framed building (timers exposed in many rooms). The displays are chronologically arranged and over a succession of floors, giving a good insight into the history of the town and port. There is a drinks machine with seating and access to a roof-top terrace with views across to the Quay/harbour. Very pleasant and helpful staff. A small shop with curios/souvenirs. Plenty of hands-on activities for children. Torrential rain prevented us from visiting the garden!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglesclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Free Entry and Interesting”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Well worth a visit if you want to learn a little more about Poole, The garden wasn't open when we visited.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbluefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden also viewed

 

Been to Poole Museum and Scaplen's Court Museum and Herb Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing