We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,572)
Filter reviews
1,572 results
Traveler rating
854
439
181
66
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
854
439
181
66
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath monsoon shower mansion house nespresso machine car park lovely building chateaubriand multi storey mini bar main building wine list standard room eggs benedict afternoon tea per night an upgrade great room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,572 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attended hotel prior to meeting following day. Lovely hotel in terms of ambience and room size and cleanliness. Two gripes one minor one less so: Why have a coffee machine in a room if there are no mugs/cups provided? Secondly if a fairly simple breakfast order of scrambled eggs smoked salmon is made why was I offered two different plates of food that I had not ordered, kept being promised mine would be soon and this was in a dining room that had one other table occupied. At 30 muinutes after ordering when there was still no sign of scrambled eggs I left. I think is a very poor standard of service

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclospur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear cyclospur,

thank you for your feedback and please let me apologise for the shortfalls during your stay here and I have addressed same with the team.

Our mugs and other coffee utensils can be found in the wardrobe.

Kind regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve just stayed for one night and even though the hotel was hosting a wedding, the staff were exceptional and made our stay. We couldn’t eat in the Bistro because of the wedding and I was worried we’d end up in a pokey side room, but instead we were in a lovely private dining room with a few other couples with exceptional service from the hotel sommelier.

Well done Hotel du vin, even though there was a big wedding, we didn’t feel sidelined as guests, our room was excellent and our overall experience fantastic. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank valeriee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear valeriee2013,

thank you for your very kind comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

Kind regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed a wonderful Sunday lunch with friends for our anniversary celebrations.
The weather was glorious so we dined on the terrace: table was laid perfectly with polished glasses & pristine napkins.
Food & wine were wonderful but mostly it was the service from the friendly staff that shined through. Their genuine warmth & attentiveness was a delight throughout.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank louiseaw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear louiseaw2016,

thank you for your kind comments and feedback - much appreciated

Best regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

Arrived after 3.00 pm, room not ready for an hour.

Room was tired and bathroom was very shabby. Trim on shower door was hanging off and toilet seat needed replacing.

Room Service was advertised in room from 10.00 pm. Tried to use this facility, phone rang for ages. Told does not start until 11.00 pm as Duty Manager not on duty until then.

Would not recommend.

Helen

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Baywell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Baywell7,

thank you for your feedback and please let me apologise for the shortcomings during your time here with us.

I have addressed these issues and pleas contact me directly should you decide to return to us. (christian.struckl@hotelduvin.com)

Best regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

My wife and I had cause to visit Poole for family business, we decided upon an overnight stay at Hotel Du Vin based on dinner bed and breakfast. On arrival although car parking is quite limited we checked in and were greeted by a very pleasant and helpful young lady who showed us to a fabulous superior double room. We enjoyed relaxed pre dinner drinks and an excellent meal in the restaurant. A great night sleep in a very comfortable room and a hearty and well cooked breakfast. We will definately stay at this hotel again if in the area.

Room tip: Any of the superior rooms
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Martin C,

Thank you for your great comments and 5* rating, which was a pleasure to share with the team.

Best regards
Christian
HdV Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews