We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin Poole
Nearby Hotels
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$89
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$113
$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$191
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel(Poole)(Great Value!)
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,323)
Filter reviews
1,323 results
Traveler rating
725
367
156
51
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
367
156
51
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathmonsoon showernespresso machinemansion housechateaubriandcar parklovely buildingmini barparking is limitedmulti storeymain buildingwine liststandard roomeggs benedictper nightafternoon teagreat room
Filter
Updating list...
1,287 - 1,292 of 1,323 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We had an amazing short break at HdV Poole a few weeks before our baby was born when we wanted a final romantic getaway that wasn't too far out of the way .

The whole experience was just fantastic, from the valet parking, through the friendly reception, to the beautiful room, and an excellent dinner. We had the Grange room, which I think was in the premium category, and it was just fantastic, with a luxury shower room, and also a claw-foot bath in the main bedroom in front of the window. Every detail was thought through, from the Arran Aromatics toiletries to the ViSpring bed and egyptian cotton linen.

We hadn't stayed in a Hotel du Vin before, so this was our first experience of the authentic bistro style restaurant. We've lived in France for 2 years and are pretty fussy, but we weren't disappointed. Great menu, excellent service, a cheese-board to die for, and the wine menu topped off by the best selection of aperitifs and digestifs you'll find this side of the channel. And not at all pretentious.

One comment - Poole town centre isn't up to much. However, the hotel is down by the quays and you can have a nice stroll here and a pre-dinner drink or two. There are some beautiful beaches a short drive away.

Finally - lads - don't expect to get away lightly on the cash front. I don't think our one night left much change from £400. But it was really nice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed fon one night, sadly there were no vacancies for the rest of the weekend 31.Jul...on arrival was told there was an £8 charge for the overnight parkng (was to tired to question this) cannot fault the room the "Monsoon shower" was a little lacking in power but everything else inclluding the internet connection (very quick), was of excellent quality, could have had room only but took bed and breakfast option, plenty to eat and of very good quality again.
Will definitly stay here again next time we are in Poole

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelvStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Having enjoyed New Year at the Hotel du Vin in Cheltenham, we were looking forward to a night at the chain's newest hotel in Poole. We were disappointed. When we booked we were not told that we would be in the Mill House, 50 yards down the road from the main hotel, nor was there any mention of this annexe on the hotel's website. As it poured with rain for most of our time there, we could also have done with an umbrella in the room so that we could stay reasonably dry on the dash to the hotel's bar and restaurant. When I mentioned this at check-out I was told that umbrellas kept disappearing from rooms, but that more were on order. Not good enough. On check-in we were told that we had been upgraded from a superior to a de luxe room. It didn't show: the room was small, with a decent bathroom and shower but no armchair, only a dining chair at the desk. There were no fewer than three mirrors, one of which was almost completely obscured by the television set. The bed was extremely comfortable, but the lighting made reading difficult while sitting on the bed (remember, there was nowhere else to sit). We expected more at the price. The restaurant was busy and had a good atmosphere, but the food and drink was very expensive for what they were – decent but in no way memorable. Breakfast was ordinary. I hope it's not true, but we left with the impression that the Hotel du Vin chain is getting too big for the hierarchy to be able to keep an eye on all those little details that enabled it to establish such a good reputation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newportboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed here for one night on Wednesday 8th July 2009 as we were catching the early ferry the next morning. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the car wsa parked for us. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The shower, which is over the bath, and looked massive was a disappointment as the pressure was very low. We didn't eat in the restaurant but thought the menu a little pricey and a bit chi chi! However, it was fairly bustling with people so must be good!

We would go back again if we were going to catch another ferry.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samet2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Hotel Du Vin never lets us down, we have stayed in 6 different "Du Vin's" and have never had a bad stay.. Poole is another fantastic Hotel Du Vin, great service, great food, lovely decor, Fantastic wines.. We actually left our stay in Moonfleet Manor in Weymouth early because we were not happy with the hotel or service to go and stay in hotel du vin and they were very sympathetic to our problem and accomodated us perfectly.. For us this made up for our bad experience at Moonfleet Manor..

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffd247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews