We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel. Excellent service!”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My partner and I stayed one night here and had a fantastic evening. The room was a standard room, but absolutely beautiful and bathroom was equally.
We dined in the restaurant and the food was amazing. What really stood out was the service throughout. Check in, at the bar, restaurant and morning breakfast - check out. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargotBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the restaurant for Boxing Day meal and had a lovely experience throughout. We had a : course meal and food was delicious and well presented. Cocktails were tasty and made by an experienced mixologist, very professional and knew how to whip up a cocktail off the menu. Staff were attentive and genuine, always a plus! The atmosphere really made the night, low lighting, candlelit restaurant, Christmas tree by the bar, lounging chairs and sofas and no one pushed you to rush anywhere. Décor was homely (we could've fallen asleep on the sofa like it was a home on Christmas Day). By the way the Sommelier knows his stuff (obviously) if you get a chance to catch him for an opinion on accompanying wine - do it!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lemondropjoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed here with work for 1 night. The receptionists were extremely helpful and pleasant and personally took me and my colleagues to our rooms. The room was large with the most comfortable bed and pillows I have ever stayed in. All the mod cons in the room including a Nespresso coffee machine as well as a kettle and a myriad of teabags.
We had our Christmas meal here and the food was delicious, and the service exceptional for the 24 people in our party. The drinks were quite pricey but only what you would expect for a hotel.
The breakfast was gorgeous and as per another review I can also recommend the eggs Benedict.
A lovely hotel in a nice location, definitely worth treating yourself to a night away.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel used to be the Mansion House. Since it has changed hands I think the quality is not as good. It used to be a special place to go and you could also join as a member. Now they have altered the building considerable and spoilt the atmosphere. There are no carpets in the restaurant and therefore is quite noisy, you sit in rows and the meal was over too quick. The food was excellent but spoilt by sitting so close to other diners and having to shout at each other due to the noise.
I am sorry to be negative about this but I remember it as it was before all the changes, maybe if you did not remember how it was before you may find it good. There is now an outside garden to sit and have a drink or a meal. Food wise 4 star

Room Tip: I have never stayed at the hotel we have only used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella62cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night in one of their suites - beautiful room, gorgeous roll top bath and very comfy bed. Everything you could want (although couldn't find an iPod docking station). We ate in the restaurant which felt like they had crammed as many people as possible into, not much space between tables so it didn't have a feeling of an intimate dining experience hence 4 not 5 stars. However a lovely night away and I would recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Maxime T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just got home from spending a night in the most comfortable bed. We were there for a small party in one of the function rooms, it was a wonderful night, but the drinks are sooo expensive. There's a massive selection, which is great if you've heard of any of them! That said the staff are very knowledgable about all of the spirits, wines, lagers and ales. Our room was in the old part of the hotel with a lot of stairs up & down to get to it (a challenge when a tiny bit tipsy!), the room was clean, well stocked mini bar, lovely bathroom, huge bed. If you've got the ££ it would be well spent here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xbox_widow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here on business trip to south coast & was very pleased.
Reception staff were pleasant & showed me to my room
Nice big room. Think I was upgraded to a terrace room, which had it's own private entrance accessed from car park & included a small outdoor seating area, although I only paid for a standard room. Room was well appointed.
I ate dinner in hotel restaurant, service was good, as was the food, if not cheap. Breakfast was excellent although it was something of an irritation to be charged a supplement for a cooked breakfast given I didn't eat any of the continental selection. However cooked options were freshly prepared & ingredients seemed good quality.
Only downside was £10 charge for parking which I wasn't made aware of either when booking on website or when I checked in.
Otherwise an enjoyable stay which made an essential stay a much more pleasant experience than the majority of business trips.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
947 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $135 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing