We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel with fantastic rooms and a great bistro”
Review of Hotel du Vin Poole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great hotel with bundles of character, set in a lovely location by Poole quay. Complimented by a superb bistro this is a great hotel and thoroughly recommended. Each room is different (I've stayed in many!) and the friendly service is welcomed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my first visit to the Hotel du Vin in Poole and I wasn't disappointed. The room was well appointed, spacious with all the amenities. The bar area and bistro were elegant but friendly. The hotel is down a quiet road near the church and old town and quay. Car parking is either in the hotel car park which is quite small or the public one around the back of the hotel. Both cost £10 per night but the hotel sort out the payment.

All in all, a great place to stay in Poole.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimrod104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hotel is perfectly located on the quay, but is hidden in a cul de sac that makes for a quiet and relaxing stay. Service from the front desk was friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Shower was amazing, bed comfortable and lots of nice touches to make our stay relaxing. The bathroom was at the stage where it needs a bit of tlc with paint chips, but overall quality was very good. Would definitely go back. Room rates are good value if you can get breakfast included.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IM_BN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Arrived quite early in the day but the staff managed to get our room ready very quickly and we did not have to wait. Room was excellent, WiFi free, and coffee maker a Nespresso type which made good expresso. Bathroom and shower clean and well kept. One small irritation was the shallow, square handbasin with a flat bottom. Have to nearly fill it to get enough depth of water to wash and then spilling water is inevitable - a good example of form over function. The hotel has very limited parking and if the hotel car park is full one has to park nearby in a public car park, which is not very satisfactory. This is not mentioned on the hotel web site or in brochures.
The hotel is situated in a quiet side road within easy reach of the waterfront and restaurants

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AubreyP695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

In a side street in Old Town Poole you'll find Hotel du Vin, although quite formulaic this hotel does provide a sanctuary from the tourists of Poole.
The reception staff were very helpful however need to step up the speed and efficiency, it felt like the young team were all very new. We had a comfortable room overlooking the courtyard garden, it was well equipped and large for their most basic room.
The restaurant and bar was homely with sofas and armchairs and an excellent and unique cocktail menu. We only had lunch, but it was well presented and of a high quality.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanBTotteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our first visit to poole & i have to say we got lucky with our hotel as it was wonderful. the bedroom was very comfortable & the bathroom was luxurious.
we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant and the food was beautiful.
the staff are very friendly so i look forward to staying there again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 306William306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A conveniently situated hotel just a minute’s walk from The Quay and The High Street, but down a quiet side road such that you get very little noise. The road is in fact a dead end, so traffic too is minimal.

The hotel appears to be in two parts with an annexe separate from the main building. We had the ground floor room, which going on the large window at the front was probably a shop in a former life. It initially felt rather odd lying in bed knowing that people were walking past just a couple of feet away, but fortunately it was quiet as mentioned previously. In fact most of the noise came from flocks of seagulls overhead. The room itself was a reasonable size and came with the usual facilities such as hair dryer, flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities which included an Espresso machine and complimentary fresh milk in the ‘fridge which was a nice touch. On the downside, there were no biscuits provided, most likely they wanted to encourage you to buy something from the mini bar.

The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom and included a large, double ended walk in shower, as well as a roll top bath. It was clean enough overall, but a thick layer of dust on the window blinds indicated that they could perhaps take a little more care with the cleaning. The bar area was quite pleasant in a restrained sort of way and there was a musician/singer playing on the Sunday night. The drinks choice focussed predominantly on cocktails and spirits although they did have one beer on tap dispensed from a barrel at the end of the bar.

My only criticism of this hotel is really the prices. The rooms certainly aren’t cheap to start with, and by the time you budget an extra £40 a night for parking and a couple of breakfasts, it soon mounts up. It’s a quality hotel in a good location, but it’s not central London.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackth0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,794 reviews
0.3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Poole

Address: Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poole
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $135 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Poole 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Mansion House Hotel, situated close to Poole Quay, Hotel du Vin will open in the Summer of 2008 offering 38 bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and two meeting/dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Vin Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Poole
Hotel Du Vin Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing