We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Antelope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Antelope Hotel
Ranked #17 of 52 Poole B&B and Inns
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited this hotel for three night over the new year. We thought the hotel was lovely and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent and we had two evening meals and a couple of snacks in the bar, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The bar area was very comfortable and we loved sitting by the open fire. We thought the refurbishment was great. It was very wet and windy whilst we there but we didn't have any problems with the sash windows. We thought everything was great and we loved our break. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    99
    55
    25
    22
See reviews for
65
144
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at the Antelope over the new year. Highly recommend it.
The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly, the food was first class.
The room was beautiful, very clean and well decorated.
Overall the decor was very good

Room Tip: Superior room well worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 299Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I decided to stay here because I read the hotel had only just very recently been refurbished, and I was looking for somewhere clean and in a good location.

Well I can't fault the location, in the lovely old town, so I was happy about that.

First impressions were good - a very nice looking hotel/pub/restaurant, and first impressions of my room again good, nice decor, very tastful, and comfy bed too.

But there are some issues with the en suite room:

First, it was a windy night, and the draughts coming from the old style sash windows was just horrendous. Surely if this hotel was recently refurbished and especially at the start of winter, I would have thought adequate draught proofing in the rooms would have been fitted, or double glazing. Apparently not. Had to squeeze the armchair against the curtains in an attempt to stop the cold air, to no avail, so the radiator went on. But what a waste of heat. If that was my hotel, I would have installed draught proofing or double glazing for the guests comfort and to save on heating bills.

Secondly, the tiles low down on the wall in the en suite bathroom on the side of the toilet were covered in large pieces of white sticky tape. Hardly a refurbish, is it...

However, some better things:
the breakfast choice was excellent, it gets a bit tedious when faced with a full English all the time so it was good to have different cooked breakfasts for a change, and the coffee was nice too.
Staff on the whole helpful and friendly.

I would stay here again, but not in the winter time as I don't want to catch cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClassicBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had another lovely 2 night stay. The refurbishment is excellent and our xmas meal in the snug was superb. Breakfast very good too. Hope the heating is sorted now & thanks for the convector heater provided as our room was a bit cold! Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night only late November 2013. the room was nicely fitted out albeit a bit tight on space. Beer good, breakfast excellent, all the staff very pleasant. we would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliveturnip66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a superior room (2), fabulous, hotel just off the sea front, newly re-furbished excellent job. breakfast hot and good choices.staff very friendly, Parked right outside the hotel. though you have to be gone by 9am, but was offered off street parking. all round highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Antelope Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments on The Antelope. We are glad you were so impressed with our refurbishment, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Was a last minute booking and was a pleasant surprise, the hotel & pub had been recently refurbished. Our room was spacious and decorated to a high standard.

We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be excellent and great value for money, breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked!

The free parking was an added bonus, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, overall a lovely stay and would highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klp9933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.2 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Antelope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Antelope Hotel

Property: The Antelope Hotel
Address: 8 High Street, Poole BH15 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Antelope Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Antelope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Antelope Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing