We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed a couple of nights with friends. Nice greeting at reception. Tiny lift to 2nd floor, then steps to 3rd floor and quite a long walk to our rooms. Fine for us nimble folk but might be a negative for the infirm. Breakfast and the accompanying service was excellent. Nice beach outlook from the terraced area. Our rooms were good and comfy and bathroom fine. Would stay again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor might not be right for infirm or disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank foxycreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is located on the main Banks Road as you drive into Sandbanks which is a very popular place in the summer. They do have a car park but it does get very busy and we counted ourselves fortunate to get a space.

As you enter reception they are installing a new fish tank which looks lovely although it is not quite finished yet.

It is very important that you register your car with reception and there is a sheet that you need to fill in. The staff were really friendly on reception although they were very busy they stayed cheerful.

You then enter the bar area and can walk through to the terrace on the beach. We were in the Compass Room which has a brilliant view of the sea and beach but is totally air conditioned so was very comfortable as it was a very hot day outside.

There was a drinks reception with fruit punch and Pimms.

The food was a hot buffet of roast pork or beef with a selection of roast potatoes, vegetables, Yorkshire pudding, all the condiments and gravy. The staff carved the meat and then helped serve you with the veg. The meal was absolutely delicious, you can't beat a roast and no washing up! Then came a selection of lovely puddings, strawberries and meringues, lemon meringue, chocolate brownies.

Jose the Restaurant Manager was charming and funny with time for everyone, he arranged for the Birthday cake to be brought in and got the guests to sing Happy Birthday.

Whilst the cake was cut up the tea and coffee arrived with plates of chocolates, it was very well organised and so much food.

To complete the event there was live music from a local saxophonist which provided a lovely atmosphere.

We didn't stay so can't comment on the bedrooms but from what we saw the hotel was well maintained and very busy which is a good sign

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank AngieP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We waited 30 minutes for 2 coffees,then had to go back to bar to eventually get them.
We ordered lunch 4 well done burgers…..they all arrived very pink. The burger meat was like a paste and so highly seasoned to disguise the poor quality meat that we did not eat them. When the wine arrive there was no ice bucket and it was a very warm day on the terrace. We asked again and the waiter bought back a cold ice wrap very tacky and not what we would expect of a 4 star hotel.
I have previously stay at the Sandbanks with my family for 13 consecutive years and never had such a bad experience. Many people were complaining but the staff seemed not to understand or respond. We still had a wonderful day sitting with friends reminiscing and enjoying the view.

Room Tip: Just don't eat there. Enjoy the view instead and don't expect any service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank 9elliot999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Just returned from 4 days at the Sandbanks Hotel.
STAFF - polite and welcoming, smartly turned out, soon learned our names though deal with around 200 guests per day plus coach parties. Special mention to Madeline West who seems to work forever on reception as part of a good team, and Sergio and Joseph, the two restaurant managers, both charming, polite and efficient, and ensuring service is swift.
FOOD - cannot fault the food here. We arrived on a Sunday and went straight in to a carvery which was as perfect a roast lamb and beef as its possible to eat. Help yourself buffet style. During the week there is a full range of buffet breakfast from a full English (eggs, bacon, etc) to croissants, cereal, yoghurt, etc. Starts at 7am - 10am. Don't go down too late! The evening meal you MUST BOOK IN ADVANCE, after breakfast, to get your evening slot. We were not told this initially. You can cancel at short notice no problems. All meals are charged to your room so there's no payment until you leave. The food is incredible, the deserts amazing. They really do have a top chef there. Staff are polite and unobtrusive, though when we were asked how we liked our duck and we replied "not quacking", our English sense of humour went over the young ladies head. However, it arrived perfect. You are looking (July 2014 prices) at £25 per person for 2 courses without wine. Around £30 for 3 courses, inclusive of service charge added. Personally I would have liked slightly bigger portions but this is quality restaurant food not pub food, so bear that in mind.
THE ROOM - spotless, kept clean by the hard working cleaners, towels arranged in a different way every day which we loved, coffee and kettle and biscuits topped up daily, power shower, large TV, comfy bed, amazing room of the seafront and a balcony with 2 chairs. Plenty of storage space, sofa and 2 chairs in the room too. There is nothing more you need. We had 2 rooms sea view via Secret Escapes and 2 rooms Harbour view - both with complimentary wine, and Madeline Bell managed to keep us in the same sea-view room all four days which was fantastic. I thoroughly recommend this if you can - the views are stunning. Waking up to the sound of the sea lapping on the shore a few yards away and a sunny balcony - what's not to like?
ROOM SERVICE - do try it. The portions are huge! There is a £4 fee for bringing it up but its worth it. We just left the tray outside our room when we were done and it had gone by the morning. You can get your favourite newspaper delivered for cost price and this arrived before 8am.
POOL - small (8m x 5m) but warm. There is a sauna, showers, and a small gym mostly cardio, if the walking hasn't worm you out. Opens at 7.30am sharp and the local elderly people usually bag the first half hour. Often the place is all yours.
BEACH BAR - serves all sorts of food from mid morning onwards - burgers, pizza, etc. Bar, very decent coffee, some sunbeds out there too. I asked for and was given sunbed cushions.
BEACH - you can walk for miles. Bournemouth is 3 miles away. We turned right and walked down to the Haven (which you can also use the facilities in as a customer of Sandbanks), got a £1 return ferry to Studland, and walked the deserted beaches there. It is absolutely beautiful. Ferry about every 20 minutes and takes 5 minutes to cross.
VISIT - buses take you to Bournemouth or Poole for £4.20 per person day return and are very reliable. The bus stop is outside Tesco on the opposite side of the road. Tesco's stocks everything you need for a trip out and is a 1 minute walk from the hotel.
DO TRY - kayaking, windsurfing, kite surfing - all available opposite the hotel in the harbour area. Very reasonable rates. The water is a max 3 ft deep at 200 yards out and the instructors come out with you if there's a group or your first time.

Gripes. Of course there are one or two minor ones but not enough to ruin this review. We read many reviews prior to arrival - some people were moaning about the carpets! Really? We had 4 days in a spotless room with incredible food, exceptionally polite staff, a gorgeous beach, and we really relaxed. yes - they were painting the balconies and making a little noise but that was during the day and most people were out on day trips. That works ends tomorrow. We have avoided an influx of 90 kids arriving next week - wise to book outside of school holiday time if you are a couple without kids. Best to ask about these things.
The very best we have stayed at is The Savoy in London. No-one will match that. But Sandbanks is clean, friendly, and a very pleasant stay. The staff are wonderful. We are already planning a return next year.

Room Tip: get a sea view if you can, though in the summer the harbour view rooms boast amazing sunsets. Second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Sandbanks is a sort of island.... the Sandbanks Hotel overlooks the sea on one side and Poole harbour and Brownsea Island on the other! The staff are efficient and friendly without being intrusive; nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.... their only goal appeared to be your comfort. The food was extremely good and well presented. A huge bonus was the lovely bar/cafe overlooking the fantastic beach. Forget the caribbean (except for the weather) this is far lovlier.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms have an excellent view; I was disappointed we didn't have a room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were staying at the Harbour Heights Hotel one of the hotels in this group and booked an evening meal here on our first night. Reception were very efficient with my booking which was made in person. It was a bit strange as only half of the restaurant was being used and I got the impression that we were lucky to get a table? The waiting staff did not have English as their first language and it was a bit of a struggle with our service. The head waiter was concerned about us charging our meal to our room but this worked fine. The food was well presented but small portions which was fine as we are not big eaters. We had the set menu which was not available at our hotel. The location was right on the beach and we had a sea view from our table although we were not at the front of the restaurant, there is a walkway between the restaurant and the outside seating area, but still a welcome view.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for just one night. We wish we could have stayed longer. Our sea view room was huge, with a separate lounge area, the balcony was the full length of the lounge and bedroom. The bed was probably the biggest most comfy bed I have ever slept in. The view was amazing. We loved sitting and listening to the waves rolling up the beach. Service was brilliant and food was well presented and very Tasty. The location is great for visiting the sulu ding area and there are some lovey walks around the harbour and sandbanks. The beach is clean and not busy. We will go again especially if we can find another bargain deal on travel zoo ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
982 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $101 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing