We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star luxury hotel”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star luxury hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked this hotel because we wanted a luxury hotel close to Poole as a treat. This hotel was not luxury its more mid-range and has a very old feel to it. The rooms are nice but could do with some repair. The hotel says its good for families but when the the manager refuses to allow you to sterilise a babies bottle in the microwave you start to question that statement. The pool is very small and the area is very old and needs repair. If this hotel was cheaper then it would be worth it but the current prices are not representative of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    517
    405
    214
    131
See reviews for
507
671
43
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked here after bailing on a dreadful hotel ( milsom hotel)

Staff helpful and efficient

Room great view on to beach, decent size clean bathroom. Felt slightly like being in a chalet but overall really good

Getting to the room was a bit of a cross country obstacle course, past restaurants, through function suites and up steps and corridors

Had two wedding parties on.

Barstaff helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Try for a beach balcony room, really nice view on a morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theGimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

They have a great spot. That's for sure. But that is it. The rest is distinctly average and very dissapointing considering the price. Believe all reviews that say this as we ignored them.

One thing to note. If you have a young family. The hallways are very narrow and full of steps. Not great for buggies. And they refuse to let you use the microwave to sterilize bottles. Well one day it was fine. The next day we had the manger telling us it was against h&s. Very helpful.

I would strongly advise anyone looking at this place to look at the nicer local and relaxed places a little further along by Swanage. I wish we had.

Disappointing trip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Sadly this hotel did not come up to our expectations. Location great, however very noisy with lots of doors banging. Not very well signed along corridors to find Reception! Quite a lot of carpets on stairs stained/marked, place looked tired.

Worst of all though when arrived after long journey, turned back bed and found lots of human hairs embedded in the sheets,ugh! Reception did arrive promptly and had sheets changed, offering complimentary cup of coffee and apologies. Would not stay here again, overpriced.

Room Tip: Probably go for top floor, we were on second which was very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a pleasant surprise when staying at this Hotel. We had booked after seeing a special offer for a 2 night stay. We decided to extend this for a 3rd night and were so glad we did as it meant we had another day of good weather. The Hotel was better than we had expected as some of the reviews were not very complementary, we felt we had good attention from the staff and everyone was friendly and helpful. We had requested an a sea view room and were pleased we did. The Harbour side rooms have a good view but also look out at the Car Park at the front of the Hotel.

the points we would criticise are that there is only 1 lift and if you are on the 3rd floor you have to walk up a flight of stairs and then along some long corridors which we found annoying at times. The Hotel should install a 2nd lift to the 3rd floor at the other end of the Building.

We did not expect to pay extra for Porridge at breakfast. This is more or less a necessity for me for dietary reasons and should be included as part of an inclusive breakfast.

My husband found the bed a little uncomfortable and felt the mattress was in need of replacement.

On checking our bill we found it was not correct and had to be adjusted as we had been overcharged for one of our evening meals. This was done without question. So no criticism there but worth mentioning.

Our overall view was that this was a great location and worth coming back to.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a Sea view room which are quieter and get the sun through the day. Also ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skajep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

location is great, building needs urgent refurbishment. bathroom poor standard,
service three star, food two star. one has to pay extra 5 £ for kids to have dinner with parents in main restaurant!! bar food pathetic.
best thing is really location, forget the rest

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCK1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Poole hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed as a family for around 10 days - Mum & Dad, Granny & Grandpa, 2 children (5&7) plus teenage daughter and 2 friends (14/15) - so we spanned 5 to 80 years - it was perfect for everyone - Funsters for the youngsters, plenty of space for the teenagers to go off together, and of course the magnificent beach and terrace - the food was excellent - lots of choice and catering for all tastes/ages and above all the staff were always helpful and caring - the right balance of familiarity & at the same time guest treatment - the sea view rooms were large and comfy and clean - we have stayed in many places but Sandbanks is simply the best for a true family holiday - we will be back in 2014 in force - highly recommended - thanks to the staff for a great stay!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms in newer block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebblethwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
877 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing