We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just the location”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“just the location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

location is great, building needs urgent refurbishment. bathroom poor standard,
service three star, food two star. one has to pay extra 5 £ for kids to have dinner with parents in main restaurant!! bar food pathetic.
best thing is really location, forget the rest

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCK1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    503
    393
    207
    128
See reviews for
500
648
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed as a family for around 10 days - Mum & Dad, Granny & Grandpa, 2 children (5&7) plus teenage daughter and 2 friends (14/15) - so we spanned 5 to 80 years - it was perfect for everyone - Funsters for the youngsters, plenty of space for the teenagers to go off together, and of course the magnificent beach and terrace - the food was excellent - lots of choice and catering for all tastes/ages and above all the staff were always helpful and caring - the right balance of familiarity & at the same time guest treatment - the sea view rooms were large and comfy and clean - we have stayed in many places but Sandbanks is simply the best for a true family holiday - we will be back in 2014 in force - highly recommended - thanks to the staff for a great stay!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms in newer block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebblethwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here on an offer for two days, with my father in law.
The terrace and view was fab and downstairs lounge very comfortable.
Breakfast was more than adequate with a great choice.
We didn't use any of the other facilities so unable to comment.
Our room was upgraded with harbour view, which was stunning however the balcony overlooked a flat roof, which was in need of refurbishing and not the best. If we left the door open, the wind blew through and made a banging noise on the ceiling!
My father in law was more than happy with his single room and both rooms were adequate although, furniture dated the bed was very comfortable.
Toiletres provided were again adequate but not of a great standard.
It was worth the cost we paid and we would return dependant upon the cost!

Room Tip: Great location! You could easily believe your abroad. Don't have room 317, front harbour view:-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had high expectations for my stay at here. It did not live up to my expectations. The room was perfectly adequate but was not what I expected from a 4 star. The tv did not work and the plug in the bath would not open properly. One of the curtain ties was hanging out of the wall, the wallpaper was damaged in various places and for some reason part of the ceiling was closed in with a false ceiling. Applying my normal tests the bed was ok, the shower was good but it was a shame the bath was filling up thoughout the shower. As for the breakfast the selection was good but some of it simply was not hot despite being in there early. However it was not all bad the staff were very freindly and helpful. The view was great.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I always try to be objective and totally honest when writing a review and this is no exception. I was a little worried about some of the bad reviews already written about this hotel and arrived at reception with low expectations.
However, on arrival, the reception staff were very helpful, polite and even offered us a discounted 3-course evening meal option.
Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the road with the sea and harbour beyond. We had a balcony, but the view was slightly impeded by another wing of the hotel jutting out. However, I would be really picky if I complained about this. The room itself was not as “tired” as I was expecting it to be and the bed and pillows were very good. I was also impressed to find a bidet in our bathroom, something that is sadly lacking in many other British hotels.
With regard to meals, dinner was excellent and the waiting staff very attentive. We had three good quality courses for just £20 each. Breakfast was typical hotel fare with hot and cold choices plus a good range of food that could be cooked to order. Meals were taken in the Sea View Restaurant that has spectacular views over the white sandy beach to the sea. But why oh why did someone build the burger bar right in front of the restaurant so that the views were blocked when seated in some areas of the restaurant?
The leisure facilities, I thought, let the hotel down. The pool is small and dated and the changing facilities inadequate. This is an area that definitely needs a refurb. Another problem I had was connection to the free wi-fi. For whatever reason, when I entered the User ID and Password, I was told I had entered the wrong User ID, which I had not. I eventually managed to get a connection on the day of my departure!
Talking of departures, when we checked out, we were served at Reception by a surly, rude and disinterested Duty Manager called Jorge. It was all he could do to even speak to us. It was a shame that that was the last impression we had of the hotel.
All in all, though, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Sandbanks Hotel and would recommend it to others with the proviso that their expectations are not 5* when the hotel is really only a 3*+.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the road and sea/harbour. Rooms at the back overlook the sea and beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisARoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
682 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our group stayed here for 2 nights on business. This is a four star hotel by locaton and food quality, but unfortunately only 2 stars for food quantity, decor and maintenance. The lunches and dinner we took were very good, except the whitebait starter had only 6 whitebait - yes 6 !! One munch and they were gone. My ground floor room was a trek through several dark dingy corridors, through a dance hall undergoing a revamp, and although the room had a balcony the door was secured by just one bolt right at the top - a thief's paradise. One light did not work and the bath plug was permanently in. Just details but they should not be there in a 4 star hotel. Our meeting room was again up a floor, along 3 corridors, down a floor and down a bit more. It must have been no more than 20 yards from reception as the crow flies but it took ages to get there! Finally, their wifi went down for most of day 3 so they could not check people out (why...?) and we could not get outside lines for conference calls. All a bit strange and a shame, as the location is perfect, but the place lets itself down by looking shabby, tired and uncared for outside the main reception areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that takes less than 5 minutes to walk to! Rooms at the back are quieter due to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Poole hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just had a lovely afternoon on the terrace. The views are outstanding and when you combine this with attentive service and satisfying food it all makes for a wonderful afternoon. You feel as though you are in the French Riviera, particularly when the sun is out.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Poole Sandbanks
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing