We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location but disappointing overall”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had been looking forward to our stay as we were attending a wedding in the area and thought we would treat ourselves. Very disappointed with the room which was very shoddy - the curtain was hanging off the rail and was ragged right down one edge. Furniture and fittings are very old and tired. This hotel needs some major investment to bring it up to standard - the location itself is not enough to make up for the high price but poor quality. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,755)
There are newer reviews for Sandbanks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

So I've stayed at this hotel now for about 4 maybe 5 years and over time it's got more and more terrible up to the point where we want to change hotels after 4 or 5 years of staying there. The hotel needs tending to. The rooms are very old and need to be more modernised along with the hotel parts like the terrace are nice and modern then the general attire of the hotel is shabby and old it's in a great location just deserves to have work done to it also they need to increase there quality if there going to charge so much and have just generally upgrade its a terrible hotel for the star rating it has they need to increase quality and modernise big time it's not the same as it used to be

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

11/08/2013 our 62 wedding anniversary spoilt by the fact that we spent a lot of money for two nights at this rated 4 star hotel .we would rate it 1 star above butlins or maybe equal.
the only thing we can say is that it is on the beach .
at 85 and 80 years old we thought we would treat ourselves to a good break ,it was not up to expectations.as mentioned by other reviews the lift was horrible and we had to walk up stairs to the room from the 2nd floor
the room was not bad but the balconey had just two chairs no table ,so to drink a cup of tea we had to use the floor and we ache just doing it
the passageways were dirty the room cotained a fridge (empty ) and there was no safe
as for the food it wasnt good breakfast was solid sausages and over cooked bacon
the evening meal ! the first night we did not fancy the four meals on the menu
the night of our anniversary we thought we must celibrate .what a dissapointment there was minimum choice for starters we chose leek and potatoe soup ,it looked like pea soup and had hard diced potatoes and did not taste well, from the four main choices we picked the duck . well it looked good on the plate but seemed to be like eating a pate ,there was no fibre in it
how they cooked it i dont know ?? we declined the sweets. totally disappointed.

Room Tip: do not pay their prices
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Chose this for location which is fantastic! However, we booked through 'Booking.com', some 4weeks prior to arrival. and paid the higher price so that we could cancel right up to within 24 hrs with no penalty!! This also meant no deposit, and we can pay in total as you would, when we left.!!! So we thought ! Before we left we checked our account on-line, as you do, and found the hotel had Grabbed our money in TOTAL, all £900 even before we arrived. Not an impressive start; it was sorted with the hotel, and we did get a rebate. We asked for wine to be in the room, you guessed, NO WINE. This hotel is clearly not worth the money, at £200 per night. Who wants screaming kids running a mock at all hours, I don't. Service is average, breakfast is very poor, cold is not the word, fat congealed on the plate. Yuk ! The whole hotel needs a good coat of paint, and a change of senior management. Not to be recommended. !!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is very local to me however, I have stayed here on a couple of occasions with the latest stay being May 2013. I booked a suite as a Birthday gift for my now Wife. Finding our suite was okay, not too far from the lift, the room was clean and comfortable. We ordered room service a few times for food and 2 pamper packs were brought to us each at an additional cost of £10, when these pamper packs arrived they were not what we'd hoped for..A shabby dressing gown which really ought to have been thrown away long ago with 3 tiny bottles each holding shampoo, soap and an oil - you usually see these exact items in Motels on a motorway, this "pamper pack" was folded up and carried to our room by hand not even presented nicely as we would expect...Value for money FAIL! We were disgusted! Our suite had an older couple nearby our balcony who persistently annoyed us, the woman constantly asking her husband what we were doing in a loud voice, at one point in the evening the same woman telephoned security via reception to report hearing a scream coming from our suite - I had let out a short scream when my Wife ticked my foot, where is the harm in that?!?! The room next door to our suite had a couple of business men in it, we heard them talking about being told by members of staff there was a lesbian couple staying in the hotel, one of the men asked his friend which room we were in, being told we were next door he made an attempt to enter our suite via a connecting door, we waited quietly but he was unable to open it thank god! The meals brought to us by room service who expected tips constantly, hovering around expectantly is very rude of them as I'm sure they already know! The food was not up to standard and there was very little choice of dishes, I would expect expertly cooked and displayed dishes from a hotel such as Sandbanks. Sandbanks also had a major power failure on our departure day so we had to wait for an itemised bill by post after paying a rough amount someone decided upon out of thin air. We will not be returning to Sandbanks Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila BW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The room was a complete let down. We approached in trepidation when we had to cross the ballroom, extension cables and a maze of doors to get to our "family room." The pedal bin in the bathroom was broken and rusted. The taps dripped continuously and I have a bigger closet than the second "bedroom." Out visually impaired child was unable to use the ramp or accessible entrance as these had been corned off for a function. We were unable to use the buggy for our 2 year old twins through the narrow hallway and copious doors to our "family" room. The location is perfect for us and we would love to use this as our regular getaway, but expecting 4 star and getting a maybe good 3 star was very disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights after our booking was changed from Haven hotel, we were upgraded to sea view which was lovely. Staff very friendly we were well looked after in restaurant by staff both at breakfast and evening meal. Main hotel areas look clean and well maintained,but halls and bedrooms in need of refurbishment as looking a bit tired. Overall we enjoyed our stay as the weather was good and made it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiltshirefriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,506 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,187 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $127 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing