We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandbanks has lost it's way!”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We used to holiday at Sandbanks when it was an exclusive family hotel, which was always fully booked, so went back with friends to see what had changed. What a disappointment. The hotel doesn't seem to know whether it is a family hotel, a wedding venue, or a conference centre now. There is an air of desperation about it, trying to claw money in by any means. It even seems grateful for people coming up off the beach for a plate of chips, then sitting at the tables all day using the hotel's facilities. The food in the restaurant was excellent, well done Chef, the only good thing we could find, but my daughter's knife had mould on it (!) and where are the lovely white tablecloths and silver service? Eduardo (a previous Maitre D) would have had kittens! Obviously the location is still beautiful, but the hotel needs to improve greatly if it's standards are not to descend further downhill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thehistorygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,290 - 1,296 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night only on a groupon deal. Mainly to see the area as we had never visited before. Welcome was fair...efficient rather than friendly but there was a language issue as most staff ee encountered were not English. They did provide all the information and assistance we required though and were professional throughout.
The hotel itself is in a wonderful location as others have described but oh dear, it was all a bit TIRED.
It badly needed some tlc...from the rickety lift to decor and the room while being comfortable enough...needed a bit of sparkle. Because we wereon a deal presumably we were not allocated one of the better rooms...it was at the back with the airair conditioning vent whirring away outside the window all night. We accept these issues when on a good deal however. Breakfast was the self service variety. Good ingredients but cold and somewhat stale. Still...value for money overall...not if I had paid full price though

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good Points

- The Sandbanks hotel is in a fantastic location, right on the beach one side and overlooking the quay on the other side. When the sun is shining, this place is fantastic.
- My room was overlooking the beach and looked to have been renovated recently to a good standard
- Parking was plentiful despite the hotel being busy
- Everywhere was spotlessly clean.

Bad Points
- The staff were pretty inefficient through most of the hotel.
- The outside bar overlooking the beach closed at 9pm despite being the hottest day of the year and still quite busy
- Communal areas in the hotel are quite tired.
- Food quality was average and not in line of my expectations of a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoingBoing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great location at the back of the hotel you have a beautiful beach and sea views and at the front you have poole harbour.The hotel is very nice but dated in places,however it is very clean and the room was perfect,it was a large room with balcony over looking poole harbour.Breakfast was buffet style and very nice catering for all needs.The patio at the rear of the hotel is a great place to sit and while away the hours with beautiful sea views,a place where you can buy drinks and meals at very reasonable prices.All the staff were delightful and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would personally have a room over looking poole harbour as they are much larger rooms,however if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARKEITH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Due to the unusually fine weather decided last minute to go to Sandbanks for a couple of nights due to the area having the best beaches in the UK. BAD POINTS: I found most of the staff in the hotel not to be english and so had poor local knowledge. The outside bar staff simply could not cope with the number of customers as there appeared to be one guy taking food to tables,one guy washing glasses and only two guys actually serving one of whom seemed to be clueless and was constantly having the other guy help/advise him. At breakfast we were stunned when a waiter reached across my plate to clear !! This person definately has no idea!! The pool was far too small with no lifeguard present and it appeared anyone could have come in off the street and used the pool and the gym was abysmal with a couple of machines and no weights. In the inside bar I asked for Baileys and the female serving had to ask her male assistant for help? as she did not know the measure to pour. The bed was not comfy and the pillows too fluffy!! GOOD POINTS. Location! Its on the beach. Theres a Tesco express next door. The breakfast is fantastic especially liked the sausages and the huge choice/selection and after eating didnt feel hungry until late afternoon!! Room was huge with huge TV on wall. Plenty of tea/coffee etc in room. Huge clean bathroom and excellent maid service. Would I stay again? No, the service needs to be better and I need a proper gym.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eventhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location between the sea and the Poole estuary was perfect. A large room overlooking Poole harbour with large double bed and sitting area and balcony. On the lower ground floor was a heated indoor swimming pool. The temperature was pleasant and not intimidating. Good changing facilities with pre swim showers and lockers, all free. The breakfast was excellent, most of the staff were professional and informative. Safe shallow sea and the presence of a lifeguard made the area idea for families. Although 4 star, the hotel looked sad. Paintwork looked tired, the floors were dirty, the outdoor barbeque area had shards of broken glass from the night before. Only three choices of evening meals were available in the main hotel. On leaving the hotel, the bill should be checked carefully, after our three day stay, we were charged for two meals instead of one and for three newspapers although we had only ordered one. All that said, for location we would stay there again but would definitely avoid the food.

Room Tip: The sea rooms although smaller overlook the beach whilst the harbour rooms are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deluvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is delightful, but that's as far as it goes. The staff are most unhelpful, lack local knowledge and not the friendliest bunch I've come across. Check in and check out was a nightmare, with only one member of staff manning reception at the 11am check out time, creating a queue of 8 families waiting to check out. The rooms are a good size, but in need of modernisation. There is such potential with this hotel but no-one seems to give a damn. There are plenty more hotels/guest houses/B&B's in the area and I would certainly try a different one if I go back to this area. Such a shame. This location demands so much more

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nicer, with only the beach in front of you. Harbour view overlooks the car park a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexington69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $89 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing