We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the Doctor ordered !”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what the Doctor ordered !”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A more than generous sized double room (224) overlooking the sea, balcony with 180 degree views (great for evening drinks and listening to the sea lapping the shore line). Blue flag beach very safe and clean. But, more than anything else a warm welcome, happy and obliging staff, never had to wait more than 5 mins for anything we requested. We stayed for 3 nights half board booked through Voyage Prive and were absolutely delighted with Sandbanks, the adverse comments on Trip Advisor were completely unfounded, or didn't apply to our room or experiences during our stay. Dining was a pleasure the food was deserved of it's Good Food Awards, chef and kitchen staff to be congratulated on the quality and variety of menus. A huge thank you to all the staff (and Managers) especially Nelson, who made our stay so delightful. Chris and John from Durrington.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    533
    416
    222
    141
See reviews for
526
692
45
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Having just returned from a short break with my mother & son I have mixed reviews for this hotel.

The location is great for the gorgeous beach but not much else is within walking distance. This meant eating at the hotel terrace bar one evening. Whilst views amazing food below average and service very slow. We got a refund in the end for our meal. Breakfast was better and lots of choice and great staff

Rooms are a little dated but nice. Pool area nice but small. Great kids play area. Hotel over all reminded me of something belonging in the 1980s when I'm sure it was glorious but now lost its sparkle.

We had a very good deal on the break but not sure I would return paying full price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jordan1981London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Have been coming here for a few years, and while the level of service has not been that of a four star hotel we do enjoy the cream teas with the lovely views. There seems to be a new manager called Daniel who could not do more for us. A lovely young waitress took our order at our table and the coffees came really quickly, the whole place seemed to have a much better vibe, far more organised which made our visit much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night break with my daughter and grand daughter. We had booked through a Groupon deal and were a little concerned by some of the adverse comments. We need not have worried - yes parts of the hotel are a little tired but the weather and sea air must take its toll very quickly on external paintwork. We were in room 320 a lovely room with 180 degree views over the harbour and Brownsea Island. The room was very large with a lovely balcony - my only comment, a coffee table on the balcony would be useful to put your drinks on !! Our room was freshly decorated and spotless. The staff could not have been more helpful - our room was on the 3rd floor and the lift only goes to the 2nd but our cases were taken to and from the car by an extremely courteous young man. Yes most of the staff are from overseas but they all seem to have very good English and are extremely polite and helpful. I would love to return to this lovely hotel whose location cannot be beaten - and if you love views and good service and don't mind a little tired paintwork then you will also love it !! By the way the indoor swimming pool is without doubt the warmest I have EVER been in - lovely for little ones and Grandmas !!

Room Tip: Room 320 has a lovely uninterrupted view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennyandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I booked 2 bedrooms at this hotel at the last minute with some trepidation as there were a number of critical and negative comments on TripAdvisor. I needn't have worried as my wife my grown-up daughter and I had a wonderful 4 night stay. The location of the hotel is fantastic with sea views on one side and Poole harbour views the other. The hotel terrace is pleasant and clean (hosed and brushed down every morning) with attractive and comfortable chairs, settees and parasols and a great outside bar and BBQ food. Steps lead straight down to the magnificent beach which is mechanically cleaned early every morning and has lifeguards on duty all day.
The bedrooms were large with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms in good condition, plenty of storage and hanging space and complete glass 'walls' with opening doors onto roomy balconies. Room 315 had been decorated more recently than room 223 which must be due a makeover.
The attractive restaurant was fairly large with picture windows onto the beach giving great views whilst eating. Staff in the restaurant were delightful, very friendly and helpful and there seemed to be enough of them to give good service. Joseph the restaurant manager was an excellent host. He welcomed us when we arrived was friendly and helpful throughout our stay and waved us off when we left.
We didn't have dinner in the restaurant as we met with family each evening and ate out but breakfast each morning was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food, cereals and fruit.
Carolina on reception was extremely pleasant, helpful and efficient but works far far too long and hard - I hope her commitment is recognised and she is paid well.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and will be be returning to this hotel for another mini break later in the year

Room Tip: Great views from either side of the hotel Ask for refurbished rooms as some have been done (315) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick copeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed recently with my husband for our anniversary, had a superior double room with balcony overlooking sandbanks beach. The room was spacious, and well decorated, but the balcony area was looking a little tired, furniture a bit dated. Saying that, to sit out and listen to the sea was really lovely, and sandbanks beach is stunning. Beware of tractors sweeping the beach very early in the mornings( about 6.45) , quite noisy. The hotel has a lovely terrace to have a nice glass of wine of an evening. Due to my husbands dietary requirements, I ordered food at the bar late in the evening, but the bar staff were extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Sandbanks Hotel with my wife and daughter. The hotel is in a fantastic location with direct access to the beach. The staff were very friendly and polite and provided a good service during our stay. The disappointment with this hotel lies with the rooms. We stayed in room 18, a family room accessible via a circuitous route passed the front of the restaurant, across a dance floor and behind a stage. The rooms in this area give the appearance of having been left to rot a little. The room was very tired, with a stained sofa, bath and carpets. The balcony area was rusty and the warning stickers on the windows had long since worn away. The bathroom had the hair of the previous occupant still on the floor and dirt around the taps and plug holes. A couple of the towels were also stained. This is not what i would expect of a hotel charging the kind of prices this hotel does for a short stay hence the low mark.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing