We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the hotel for our anniversary. We stayed in a double room with a sea view and balcony. The room was gorgeous, and the view was stunning. We paid for the B&B option, the breakfast was a little disappointing, the selection of the food was average and the service was slow to replace the food that was on the heated counters. The only other problem that we encountered was the screaming kids in the small indoor swimming pool, as there was no lifeguard after 4, they were getting away with whatever they fancied. Other than that, the hotel, especially the location was spot on.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Manager at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your review Mark W. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the problems you faced in our swimming pool.

The Sandbanks is proudly advertised as a family orientated hotel and if you plan another visit to the area, we would advise you to explore our other properties under the FJB collection that may be more to suitable for your requirements as a couple.

Hopefully this will encourage you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,385 - 1,391 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel (room 126) 14-15 March 2013. On entering the Hotel, it looked every bit a 4 star hotel, when we got to our room, we found anything but. The room was cold, because there was a 1" gap at the top and bottom of the door leading to the balcony. When you drew the heavy weight curtains across you could see the wind moving the curtain. The room had not been dusted or vacuumed, I could not get WiFi access because as reception put it " there was a blind spot for the WiFi at that end of the Hotel." The shower holder was broken and the window in the bathroom would not close properly.
We found a fire door at the bottom of the stairs outside our room leading to the car park was locked and also the fire doors in the childrens play area leading to rear of the hotel also locked.
The restuarant was over priced, not a great choice of food and Nouveau Cuisine size portions.
The decor was tired and needed updating. Most of the staff were European and were sullen and looked downright miserable.
However, We did find the hotel reception staff very professional and helpful, when I went down to get some more coffee and milk and explain that the room phone was not working, they sent someone within 5 minutes with the coffee and milk, and he even fixed the phone. Think the AA should take another look at this hotel because if is certainly not a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: avoid room 126
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t26morley_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Manager at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your review t26morley_home and positive feedback regarding our reception team.

We apologise that your room and food was not to the standards you had expected. However, as you identified, upon raising an issue to our receptionists, we dealt with it within a matter of minutes to your satisfaction, and we always encourage our guests to highlight any concerns to our team so we can quickly rectify the situation.

Furthermore, our fire doors are not meant to be opened unless there is an emergency and like all industry standard fire doors; there is no lock present on them making it impossible for us to lock them. They only open if the handlebar is pushed from the inside and cannot be opened from the outside. We therefore, encourage guests to use our usual exits as opposed to fire doors to ensure customer safety in the event of an emergency.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I haven't stayed at this hotel for sometime and was disappointed to see it is a bit tired now! The restaurant was very slow and miniature portions. The room and bed were very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norflondoner2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Manager at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your review norflondoner2011 and the positive comments about our bedrooms.

We are always investing into the hotel and hope that during your next stay we will have improved yet another area.

We apologise if you feel the portions did not meet your expectations. However, next time you dine with us, please raise any comments to a member of staff so we can make your dining experience more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the sandbanks with our children for 2 nights at the end of the last half term (22nd-24th Feb). The hotel is pretty average, so is the food and service but what made our stay were the Funsters! They are a childrens entertainment company hired by the hotel and they are brilliant! There were activities all day and night for the children if required and they made ours and our childrens holiday amazing. I would highly recommend staying there with your children when the funsters are there!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bex684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Manager at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your review bex684, we are glad that you enjoyed our entertainment staff so much!
You defined our service and hotel as average but failed to go into any specifics as to why you feel that is. We are always looking to improve and welcome feedback by our guests. However, I hope you understand that this review gives us very little to go on.

We hope you visit us again and can assure you that we will have great entertainment in place for yourself and your children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Sandbanks Hotel organised by Arvonia Coach travel.After reading the negative comments prior to arrival we were concerned as to what we might find.
On arrival we found a friendly helpful staff and a warm welcome.Our room overlooked the bay and was a good size.
The food was excellent and the dining room staff were friendly and attentive.
We used the swimming pool and the sauna,both were spotlessly clean.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I did not expect much from this hotel as we were on a coach party trip and it was relatively cheap for a 4+ hotel. We got a fabulous surprise, we had a mini suite and a huge balcony which overlooked Poole Bay with the lovely sands and views. It was not the weather for a balcony but I went out on it nonetheless, too good to miss. The bathrom was enormous and the rooms were comfortable with flat screen tv's and a comfy bed. The meals were something else again, we got to choose from the a la carte dinner menu and the food was heavenly, no complaints here. The staff were friendly and helpful and the loung areas were nicely kept. If the weather had been later in the year it would have been nice to spend time outdoors in the very nice seating area. Something for next time perhaps? I would love to go back here but apparently it is extremely busy in summer and the likeliehood of another coach trip to this hotel is remote. I would definitely go back if I could get similar accommodation it is a lovey area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr0dden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Manager at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review dorrod. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The terrace has recently been refurbished; we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Big mistake on my part! I forgot to check on Trip advisor before I went to this hotel. Super location but very tired and in need of re-organisation. Staff are young and friendlly but most have a limited vocabulary in English. No one appears to be in charge. When I complained about my poor single room no 15, especially as I was charged a single supplement. I was told that central reservations dealt with the bookings. On phoning them, their reaction was everone has to pay single supplement despite how bad their room is! Unfair, as most other single rooms had balconies or sea views or both. I had neither. I could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpringLutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Manager at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments SpringLutterworth, we take such feedback serious. This issue may have been avoided if a balcony or sea facing room was originally booked/requested. If you have any further questions, please do contact us, we are happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $90 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing