We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its all about the location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Its all about the location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in January with teenage children. The location is outstanding and the views from the sea facing rooms are great.This is probably our 7th or 8th visit, we keep going back as we love the beach and the easy access for long walks etc. However, the rooms are variable, some are good, but barely 4 star in some cases, so if you are given a poor room I would ask to change.
The restaurant unfortunately has little atmosphere, its a large hotel dining room. When its full it can be noisy, but when its quiet it is just dull. The food has varied from excellent to poor. Always enjoy the breakfasts, but this year there seemed to be a shortage of staff as it was more like a holiday camp with tables left uncleared and no tea/coffee etc.
Avoid in the school holidays if you don't have young children as sadly they are allowed to dominate the hotel and run riot, whilst the entertainment is totally geared towards kids too. I think this is a hotel that trades on its location , but really needs to decide who it is catering for. The prices are high for the service and quality provided.

Room Tip: Sea view are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review Tarmum, and glad to see you're becoming one of our regulars!

It is true that our hotel caters mainly for families, especially with our own children's entertainers looking after the entire family. Funsters Entertainment have been with us for since 1998 and lots of families have grown up with holidays with Loopy Lisa and Dizzi Danni and the other Funsters! But it you're staying over half-term then it might be worth escaping down to either of our sister hotels - The Haven Hotel or Harbour Heights Hotel, as they don't focus so much on younger families, and they are only a few minutes away from us and it might be a bit quieter.

I hope you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    496
    386
    202
    126
See reviews for
492
634
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

booked for one night only, our room was lovely and warm with balcony, view was great and so was the weather. The bar menu was limited and breakfast was great and on both occasions accommodated me a gluten free meal. Many thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks for your review Sue C (and welcome to the Trip Advisor community!)

Looking at your photo it looks like you stayed in one of our newly refurbished bedrooms. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights. Our room had a sea view and a small sitting room as well as bathroom.

Pros: Efficient, welcoming check-in. Room clean and warm. Proximity to Blue Flag beach.

Cons: Food/Restaurant. Although we were asked if we wanted to book a table when we checked in, we weren't told there was a separate dining room and menu available for Valentines night, until we actually arrived in the restaurant. It would have been good to have had the options/menu mentioned at check-in. We chose from the normal evening menu. When it arrived my soup was cold and my husband's goats cheese & beetroot salad was dry with no walnut oil dressing. When the waiter collected our plates, we asked if they could ensure our main courses were hot. He was apologetic and assured us they would be. We then waited over half an hour, no one came to replenish our drinks and there was no sign of the restaurant manager. When our mains eventually arrived, the food was lukewarm although the plates boiling hot. We ate the food (which actually was quite nice, albeit barely warm) and left. In the bar asked for a brandy and coke and got brandy and lemonade (which was changed, again with apologies). Although the staff are friendly and apologetic - they are mainly foreign with a poor command of English, some of the housekeeping staff appear to speak absolutely no English at all. Breakfast on both mornings was also cold - grilled tomatoes that were cold and raw, fried eggs were cold, in fact nothing was hot. It wasn't that the food had been sat there for a long time - we were at breakfast as the restaurant opened. Again the food wasnt unpleasant - the kitchen staff just dont seem to have any concept of hot food actually being hot.

On our second evening we ate at the Jazz Cafe just across the way from the hotel. Great atmophere, ambience and lovely hot food, served with the drinks we'd ordered!.

On check out we mentioned our disappointment and the receptionist was very apologetic. We've stayed at the other FJB hotels located on Sandbanks and have not experienced these problems. We would stay at both the Haven and Harbour Heights again but not sure we would visit Sandbanks again, although that said, it really is perfectly located on the beach. If only they served their hot food hot, this could a fantastic hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank smudge382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review Smudge382. I'm sorry to hear of your problems when you stayed with us.

I can see you spoke to our receptionist when you checked out, but if there's anything they didn't address please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Perfect location right on the beach in the picturesque Sandbanks area. Had a great stay, I just felt the hotel was a bit shabby. It could do with a bit of a make over to take it to the next level. The pool was good but again it all felt about 10 years old and it could do with modernising.
Wouldn't recommend but wouldn't put people off staying there, it was nice enough for us. The location made up for it all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattyharryharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review MHNCFC and welcome to the Trip Advisor community ( I can see this is your first review).

I'm sorry you weren't happy with the overall look of the hotel. We have refurbished the majority of our bedrooms and public areas over the last few years. However, I'll pass your comments onto the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked the double deluxe with sea view and balcony and was not disappointed. From arrival to departure could not fault it. Food was excellent staff were pleasant and very friendly. Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful. Dinner was marvellous three courses and a good choice. our room was very spacious a lovely big bed and separate lounge area with comfy chairs.Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: No.207 lovely views and weather permitting a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayersSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments holidayersSomerset. I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully next time you're down it will be nice and warm so you make full use of the balcony!

Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAUNTON, SOMERSET, U.K.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

One of the few hotels in England on the beach. A superb hotel with a very friendly welcome for Children. Very comfortable and spacious rooms with the added bonus of a separate Childrens room. If you are fortunate to get a sea view room then you have some of the best sea views in the South and South West. Always happy to return to this very welcoming hotel with excellent parking.

Room Tip: Find a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess253228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review Princess253228. Really pleased you came and stayed with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for walking along the seafront into Bournemouth and for getting buses there or alternatively into Poole or to Swanage via the chain ferry. The hotel is modern and clean and the bedroom we occupied was spacious and comfortable with two easy chairs and a small table. However, for us the very best element of this hotel is the staff. From the greeting we received upon arrival to our departure the staff were consistently pleasant, friendly, efficient and always had the 'can-do' attitude. We ate in the main restaurant during our stay and could not fault the food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlandsCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review MidlandsCas. I'll pass your comments onto the hotel team as I know they'll be really happy to read them!

Really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Poole Sandbanks
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing