We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living on its location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Living on its location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

The location of this hotel is perfect. It is the only thing that is! Credit must be given to the head of the restaurant who was always there to help us when things went wrong, which they did, everyday!
On the first day of a three day visit the 6 of us sat down for dinner, the waitress came over and took our order, for 5 of us and then started to walk off. It was only when my wife pointed out that there were 6 of us at the table, and i was difficult to miss having overdone the sun that day, that she took my order.
Day two breakfast my wife and daughter ordered porridge, my daughters boyfriend ordered eggs benedict, the waitress who brought them over was obviously new, and English was obviously not her first language, as she didn't know what skimmed milk was, and handed over the eggs benedict saying, "Here is your porridge"
At dinner that night we oredred a couplr of Corona lagers, again the waitress had no idea what a Corona was.
On all three nights we had to ask the waiters or waitress's where our next course was, average wait time betweeen courses 30-50 minutes.
Kids left to run through the reaturant because the childrens entertainment room is at one end of it, and every time the door was opened you couldn't hear for screaming and shouting.
This is not the fault of the staff, the hotel needs to train them before letting them loose on the public!
On the day of arrival the TV in the room wasn't working, we called reception and after 50 minutes we called again. This is the problem with this hotel, nothing happens first time.
My mother and father in laws TV was reported not working on the second day, and when we left 3 days later it still wasn't working, but they did not want us to bother the hotel staff!! If you are in room 233 enjoy the view because the TV doesn't work!

Great location, shame about the staff (with the exception of Joseph in the restaurant)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    496
    386
    203
    126
See reviews for
492
634
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

the hotel needs updating, the service is very poor, but joker joe and the funsters team are brillant, joker joe is the only reason we would go back, not only did the children enjoy him , my husband and i did too, he is worth the money on his own.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfgang453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at the Sandbanks hotel in October. We where really lucky as the weather was great. Our room was sea view and the view is really great especially when you wake up in the morning. Overall we had a great stay and our little one really loved it. The breakfast was good, the dinner was also good with amazing deserts. Kids entertainment was great and our little that could barely walk at that time loved it. Overall a great stay but I think the hotel needs some tidying up or renovation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickolast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Sandbanks Hotel is a great hotel for families. The kids club is great. My kids could not be happier and more entertained. I could not believe how many activities are running for them. For us we had our evening activites. Fun!!! During the day we enjoyed drinking and eating on the terrace. Barbeque was delicious. The restaurant is fine. Very big room with no features unfortunately.. but the food was very tasty. There was a wedding there. Did not really annoy us as they have a section of the hotel for them. Free internet and Free car park. Other hotel you have to pay for that. We will come back Thanks Funny funsters and Sandbanks staff. You all made ourt stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Harbour views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paultyhedude72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have stayed at the Sandbanks Hotel over the week end with some Friends. We all really enjoyed our stay, The food was tasty and well cooked. The service was ok. The barbeque on the terrace is such a good idea as we all had bbq food. Dinner in the fish restaurant was lovely. The fish is display in the restaurant then taken away to be cooked. Amazing!. The room was fine, might need a bit of new furnitures however we did not really spend much time in my room. I slept well. The reception desk staff was helpful with our needs. I definately stay again. Thanks.

Room Tip: beds are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovedoggystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The location of the hotel is fabulous.
The service and quality of food is poor and over priced.
Thr bedrooms are just about acceptable.
The pool and other amenities are ok.
BUT the kids club...THE FUNSTERS...is brilliant and the best thing about this hotel. The Funsters staff are energetic and truly professional. Our children loved them! Joker Joe and Jiggy Gemma deserve a special mention.. they work so hard, continually smiling and continually making your child feel special. Well done Funsters! I am sure you are the only reason many families return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilsonFamily039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I don't think that it really merits being a 4* hotel. Rooms were fine, but the hotel generally is in need of renovation. Food very average. Service OK. Location great. Funsters team, headed up by Joker Joe were fantastic - in fact, our kids enjoyed it so much that we would be tempted to go back purely for Joker Joe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Property: Sandbanks Hotel
Address: 15 Banks Road, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Poole Sandbanks
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing