We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break, beautiful location, helpful management and staff - all in all thoroughly enjoyable and will visit again”
Review of Sandbanks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandbanks Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My other half, baby daughter and I recently stayed at the Sandbanks Hotel over the course of 2 nights and 3 days. The hotel is undoubtedly in one of the most scenic and beautiful locations one could imagine. A vista of the sea on one side of the hotel looking out to 'Old Harry' and a view of Poole Harbour and Brownsea Island on the other, simply stunning. This is the reason people travel to the south coast.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the General Manager Mike Clitheroe and his team for their hospitality during our stay. Anything we asked for was done smoothly and quickly without any fuss and the quality of service throughout the hotel was first class. I doff my cap to Mike, very rarely will you meet a General Manager so in tune with his staff and also the needs of the customer. He goes out of his way to make sure that all guests feel welcome and are attended to; as a result the atmosphere within the hotel is one that makes you feel comfortable. I would also like to take this opportunity to mention Asta on the front desk who was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

We ate in the restaurant for one of the nights of our stay; the menu though not extensive provided a good choice and the food was extremely well cooked, was presented professionally and most importantly tasted good. Finishing our meal we moved through to the bar and then the beach terrace, both are stunning and it is extremely easy to while an evening away in both.

I mentioned my Daughter who at 17 months had a whale of a time, the Hotel accommodates well for Children and runs regular activities. There is also a nice play area for Children next to the Terrace bar.

Outside of the restaurant, terrace and bar the rest of the hotel could admittedly benefit from some investment to bring it more up to 'modern day', obviously this had no effect on our stay and does not reflect on the staff; I understand that the Hotel is part of a group and I hope they see the benefit in doing this.

Our room was a fantastic size, once again had an amazing view and was very clean.

I have stayed in a handful of hotels along the south coast, including others in this group. I personally from now on will keep the Sandbanks Hotel at the top of my list. I have actually booked another short stay in August.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurrayMcIntosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,641 - 1,647 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

The only thing to recommend this hotel is its location.

Rooms dated, staff helpful but totally ineffective. Hotel is a rambling building and certainly not suited to disabled.

Service very very poor. Food in restaurant limited with minimal size portions. Breakfast: what can I say, no cheese, buffet not replenished, congealed fried eggs (if there were any), just white and brown bread, no rolls, no danish, croissants ran out by 8.45. Waited for over 30 mins for staff to bring tea - even though it was repeatedly asked for. A local Bed and breakfast would have had a better choice and it would have been fresher.

At least the weather was good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsGrumpy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Beautiful location right on golden sandy beach
Room large with sitting area and extra room off-great for snorers-decor a bit dated. This was a mid range room
Food not too fancy but very tasty with several dishes each night in the choice which suited us
Breakfast is really great

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Great welcome with reception staff. Reasonably priced. Location is fantastic right on the beach although it is 3-4 miles into the town centre. £10 in a taxi. Rooms are clean and comfortable although I was aware of the neighbours - they were not noisy but I could hear people moving about. This would make a great conference or training venue. Food was great as well and other than peak time queue at breakfast incredible views out to sea. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The reception staff, at times, lacked care for their guests and came across as very lazy. The room was too dated and shabby for a 4* hotel. Bar was modern and stylish but staff seem very unenthusiastic and demotivated- not a smile to be seen and atmosphere was dead. The restaurant management team couldn't organise a p*ss up in a brewery - service was very scatty, the staff didn't seem to understand their specific duties; it were as if it were everyone's first night on the job with minimal training. The waitress's were mostly polite and friendly but it seemed they felt uncomfortable being managed by amateurs. My nephew's high chair looked like it had been found in a dump! Food was of good standard, loved desserts and presentation. Breakfast was a pleasure. The restaurant decor was so bland and ugly- shame because the views were fantastic. The veranda and outside bar were brilliant but again, not 4* standard service. Childrens entertainment team clearly took pride in their jobs and a lot of effort was put in to providing a fun evening for families -highlight of our stay. Fantastic location, poor service, not worth the money.

Room Tip: Get to restaurant earlier rather than later
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank minnie_mousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The hotel is in desparate need of modernising. The room we were given was a "superior" room, overlooking the sea. Whilst the room was fairly large, the bathroom was like a wind tunnel even though the windows were shut and in need of modernishing. It would have been awful to have stayed there in the winter. When the cleaners came the next day they left a dirty rag on top of our clean clothes and didn't replace the dirty glasses.

The service was not of a high standard. We stayed there for two nights and the breakfast service was appaulling. We had to go in search of waiting staff to order coffee on both days. The breakfast buffet was not replemished regularly and we had to go in search of staff to get orange jiuse, butter, toast fruit - in fact nearly everything. There were apparently alternatives to what was on the breakfast buffet but we only found out by another couple telling us. In the evening on our first night we ordered coffee and after 20 minutes of constantly asking it finally arrived on the counter - so we went and got it ourselves. The staff were more concerned with setting up for breakfast the next day. The restaurant is large and impersonal. The food however was of a good quality.

On check out someone complained about waiting over 1 hour and 30 minutes for room service then gave in. I emailed to complain to the General Manager and never got an acknowledge - says a lot!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marion1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Thank you Marion1011 for your comments.

I’m concerned you didn’t enjoy your stay at The Sandbanks, or had a response from your email.

I’ve spoken to Mike, the General Manager, and he’s told me he hasn’t had an email from you, and unaware of the problems you had.

He’s asked for you to contact him at the hotel, or our Central Reservations department, and we can look into the issues you’ve raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband booked the hotel for my birthday for the weekend and requested an executive room and was prepared to pay that bit extra... Views from the room out to sea were nice but room very dated - not executive style at all. We were quite shocked when we opened the door to the room at how dated it was with large stains on the carpets - also the seats in the room smelt musty!. Food at the hotel - breakfast and evening meals were very good. The hotel itself is in need of throwning out old ( furniture / Carpets) and bringing in new. There was a wedding on both nights of our stay so certain areas of the hotel were closed off and a 'Masons' dinner in one of the dinning areas so evening meal was between the two with a number of guests walking past us to get to the loos....We would not return as it did not meet the expectation after paying a lot of money to stay - pick the hotel up and move it and I think there would be little custom.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandraWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at Sandbanks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Thank you SandraWorthing for your comments and I’m sorry we didn’t meet your expectations.

The decor of our rooms, is something we’re currently looking into. We’ve already refurbished a number of our rooms, and planning to do more next year. However, I will pass your comments onto the hotel about the carpets, as these should be clean.

I’m sorry you weren’t happy with the dinner service. When a large residential function is in (like a lodge), we open our smaller La Mer restaurant for our other guests. The restaurant holds 7-10 tables. Although this is more intimate, I’m sorry you were disturbed by guests walking past you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbanks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Hotel

Address: 15 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7PS, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Sandbanks)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $90 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbanks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in one of England's most enviable seaside locations, the Sandbanks Hotel is a relaxed and affordable holiday destination. With direct access to the world-famous sandbanks beach - seven miles of prestigious blue flag awarded sand to get between your toes! Our popular beach-side terrace area is a place to recline with a glass of wine.Featuring well-appointed rooms that have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Many boasting either sea views or outlooks across Poole harbour. We're sure you'll agree that when it comes to family holidays, it's best to keep everybody happy. Mum, dad, teenagers, toddlers and everyone in between all need their own piece of holiday heaven. The Sandbanks Hotel is a fun filled staycation location for family seaside holidays. With dedicated children's entertainment during school holidays, an exciting programme of activities and adventure with the Watersports Academy - there are more opportunities for mum and dad to find some relaxation time. Our Seaview Restaurant boasts celebrated chefs and an enviable sea view. Helmed by Head Chef, Wayne Joyce and his commitment for creating good food with local ingredients inspired by our wonderful location. When you need a rest from building sandcastles, Sandbanks Beach Club is the perfect spot for a summertime bite. Located on the terrace, it's an easy option for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandbanks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbanks Poole
Hotel Poole Sandbanks
Poole Sandbanks
Sandbanks Hotel Poole, Dorset
Hotel Sandbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing