We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

Had a lovely afternoon tea here with tea, scones and cakes with a group of friends. The service was excellent and the view over the sea was amazing. A really special afternoon out for my birthday! Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsSMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    495
    254
    141
    71
See reviews for
254
717
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Haven in Sandbanks was a fantastic short break away for my self and my partner the spa was clean and relaxing. The only downside was i felt our room was quite small.
Dinner was good although we had to eat in the bar because the restaurant was full all in all not a bad weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

I was fortunate to book treatments at the above Spa which is within the Haven Hotel at Sandbanks, Poole, which is a hotel within the FJB Group. Part of the package I was able to enjoy was the facilities at the hotel, which included two swimming pools, one indoor and one outdoor, also outside loungers in a fantastic setting. The package included a two course meal in the restaurant. The only downside, was, that the external hot tub clearly displays a sign which says children under 16 are not allowed in the hot tub. Two children, aged about 12 and 10 were in the hot tub, on their own, and were very rude, saying that the lifeguard had told them that they could be in the tub with a parent, no parent was with them. The lifeguard came over and asked them to leave the hot tub, and after some abuse by the elder child, they did leave, only to return with a Mum, who also had to told that she needed to be in the hot tub, so she sat on the side. It is very confusing, when clearly the sign says, no children, and the lifeguard clearly gave different advice. I appreciate that, it was the Friday prior to bank holiday that I was fortunate to enjoy the treatments, so therefore there were a number of children. My constructive recommendation to The Have, is either change your sign, or ensure that the life guards are aware of requirements. Adults would be very vulnerable sharing a confined area with under aged children and accusations could be made, together with health and safety issues.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at a sister hotel of the Haven before( Harbour Heights) and were pleased enough to try the Haven having had a good dinner there and impressed with its incredible location on the entrance to Poole harbour
We booked a double room with sea view for three nights which cost around £250 per night.The view was pretty good but the room itself was extremely small - didn't even have a fridge- and really felt like it needed a refurbishment. The bathroom was absolutely tiny and even had a folding door given the lack of space. The corridor outside also needed sprucing up

The spa was OK ( but not a patch on somewhere like the Four Seasons in Hampshire) and the location is incredible. Dinner was good but the wait for our main course on the night we arrived(Friday around 9pm) was very frustrating. Service on the terrace in the afternoon was achingly slow despite the large number of staff. And when we checked out the system crash did little to reassure us.
The hotel has a fine 30s art deco feel about it but needs some real investment in refurbishment, the quality of service and the rooms to justify the prices charged.

Room Tip: Ask for a modern room..if they have one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was fine - yes very pricy for what it offers/service but a very good location. Much difficulty getting vegetarian meals (at breakfast we were directed to the mushrooms and tomatos in the buffet! - well really). The bar staff in the hotel were very good. The rooms nice and comfy and clean.

The SPA treatments were fine. It is the SPA that really lets this hotel down. The facilities were quite dirty and the staff just did not seem to clear up anything (we were there three days). The ladies changing rooms were a constant mess - not all that surprising I guess when the young lady on that day was sunning herself on the balcony and texting on her phone! Very poor. The spa is in need of some management and the staff some training in standards and expectations. Would I visit again? Probably not.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Haven for two nights mid week. The room set us back around £170 each night, so was not cheap.
Let's start with the room. Our first one had dirty carpet that was coming up off of the floor. I rang reception and was shown another room. The second room was ok but really not up to the standards of a Travelodge which is a third of the price. The room was very dated and our view was of the car park. Also the bedding had holes in it.
Anyway we hadn't come to the hotel to stay in the room so we headed to the spa. The tranquil and relaxing spa! The spa pool was full of children. The sauna and steam room was full of children despite the sign that stated that no children under 16 were allowed in there. The outdoor jacuzzi was full of children. The place was chaos and the lifeguard on duty simply looked the other way. It wasn't relaxing, it was hell!!
The next morning we went to breakfast which thankfully was good. It was a good self service buffet.
To sum up: we wanted a relaxing spa stay in a beautiful location. We got a crappy room with a very un relaxing spa and a good breakfast. This hotel needs to up its game, at the moment it's nothing more than a 2 star hotel. Spend your money elsewhere. I notice that the management don't respond to Tripadvisor reviews so they obviously don't care about what people think of their hotel!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

my first ever review !!! wow what can I say about this hotel absolutely amazing 3 days spent here in sunny August this was a spur of the moment booking with my partner and we had not been away for well over a year. This hotel is located right at the bottom of sandbanks with lovely views over the sea and the Purbeck.
The Hotel Management should incredibly proud of there staff particularly the spa staff during our stay a Massive shout out to the receptionist Alex who was fantastic in shuffling our busy diary around to book our treatments in such a patient away, and also to James only who only could of been 20 years old but showed fantastic management qualities in telling us in detail about the pools and our little grumbles we had about the temperature and so on which really assured us. I don't want to go on but I do Hope the hotel acknowledges these 2 people they deserve it!!, and also Emma on reception what a wonderful and cheerful lady to greet us to and from our stay.

our room was fantastic with lovely sea views and breakfast was very filling, one little negative the outside bar is a little overpriced but hey its sandbanks.

we will be back!!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
5.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing