We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could do better”
Review of Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Haven Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our group, four adults and two children spent a three night weekend at this hotel. It has a lovely location on the beach at Sandbanks right at the entrance to the bay leading to Poole Harbour. Unfortunately the weather was bitterly cold so we were unable to reap the full benefit of its situation.

Our initial experience was inauspicious, to put it mildly. We arrived in the early afternoon and ordered lunch from the snack menu. My choice was a “rare roast beef sandwich with horseradish sauce”. It came with a price tag of £7.50 and was a huge disappointment, consisting of a single slice of well cooked beef with a light smearing of horseradish between two slices of bread, accompanied by a few crisps and some leaves. Total unit cost, about 50p! My wife’s choice of a ham sandwich at the same price was little better. Frankly it was a total rip off.

It was with some foreboding, therefore that a few hours later we sat down to dinner. I need not have worried. I ordered a set price 2 course dinner for £22.50. My starter was salmon mouse with a sweet and sour drizzle, my wife had the pâté. We both had confit of duck for our main course . Both courses were perfectly cooked and presented and at the price, the same as 3 beef sandwiches, excellent value, The food for the rest of the stay was of the same standard and thoroughly enjoyed by all of us.

The staff, mostly foreign, were friendly and efficient throughout and particularly good with the children. The facilities were adequate rather than luxurious. An indoor pool and a play room would have for young children would have added a lot to the enjoyment of the weekend. All in all therefore, apart from the initial complaint, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review JFCIreland. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the dinner in our La Roche restaurant. Thank you for the positive reference to our staff, they take great pride in what they do. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,342 - 1,348 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed Sunday evening in April so the hotel was very quiet, we were allocated a room overlooking the car park which was spacious with an equally large bathroom. I do not think The Haven warrants 4 star rating; the decor is tired and the fittings not particularly good quality in places (plastic bath), two tv's in the room? only one of which functional (strange). Housekeeping standards leave a little to be desired; carpet badly stained in places, basin and bath not very clean, mattress badly stained and a distinct lack of any information in the room (with exception of info on Spa & Water sports) a little disconcerting in the event of a fire or other emergency.
Breakfast was good with an excellent choice of fresh fruit and coffee very drinkable, the dining room alas was in dire need of re-decoration (ceiling very badly water damaged), tables badly chipped and the wooden floor needed cleaning and polishing.
Lovely location however, I would imagine it is very noisy in the summer, I think this hotel trades on its postition and it is probably aimed at the under 50's with children.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room on the back and could not really fault it, rooms overlooking the sea are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladiesthatlunch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have mixed feelings about this hotel, the views are outstanding but is that enough?!

The room we stayed in was in need of work - paintwork was chipped, the bathroom door did not meet the floor, baloncy was dirty and very tired - a plus point the bed was very comfortable. The TV in the room was a nightmare - 3 calls to reception (a very nice man came to sort it straight away each time), after the 3rd time we just gave up with it!

The spa was ok but the steam room was closed and the jacuzzi was not working.

Evening meal was nice but felt over priced. Breakfast was very good.

The staff at reception were not very helpful when we checked in, they gave us no times for breakfast, we were not asked if we would like to reserve a table for an evening meal and no information about the spa - yes we could of asked but surely in a 4* hotel they should provide this? No information folder in the rooms either.

I dont think we would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SALAFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel was fully booked so we had a standard rear room overlooking the car park. It was a lovely big room with a nice bathroom and was better than expected. The hotel had a lovely spa and in particular a decent sized outdoor heated swimming pool and a tennis court. The weather was not good, but our stay was very pleasing.

Room Tip: All rooms were good - obviously see view is great but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you Jennifer F for this great comment, we are happy that you found the room to exceed your expectations and were wowed by our spa and pool facilities. Hopefully the weather will be warmer in time for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

After 8 months still awaiting a reply from the management of this hotel to a complaint made in August 2012. All we wanted was a refund of the poor meals served (sea bass) .We have taken the company to the small claims court because its so unprofessional to ignore complaints.The case after much wriggling by the Managaging Director is now to be defended by the Company Brownsea Haven Properties Ltd.This is definitely NOT the way to treat customers and they should be ashamed of themselves

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank MIKCHARVEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay as brought in local area (sandbanks) stayed in family rooms before but harbour view. These rooms beyond dated and vile. Great location nice staff. But awful rooms. Will not stay another night.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meredith1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Last week four of us shared a special lunch as our friend prepared for a new life in Canada. Staff couldn't be more helpful and as always food was delicious. What I love the most is how you are left to chat and not hassled out as soon as you finish eating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 716,910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,836 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
1,001 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel

Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $110 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of Blue Flag beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and well-appointed bedrooms with many of which offering ocean view balconies. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. Highly acclaimed by locals, The Point Restaurant serves a two AA-Rosette awarded cuisine helmed by Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. Why not indulge yourself at the Haven Spa and prepare to be pampered and spoilt? Whether working up a sweat in the gym or relaxing in the outdoor heated swimming pool, the Haven Spa is the perfect place to unwind your mind and reinvigorate your body in complete luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing