We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have stayed here before and there is no doubt about it the outlook is fabulous even on a cold and windy day, but everything else is sadly lacking. Not all the staff are unhelpful, the lady who checked us in was lovely - but the other staff members are disinterested. My husband asked about the menu of the evening and was almost ignored by the waiter. We ate elsewhere because of it and would think twice about staying again.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room which is well worth it and we have had a balcony in the summertime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Haven Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review Mary B

I'm sorry you left disappointed after your stay with us. If you'd like to discuss it in more detail please get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    495
    254
    141
    71
See reviews for
254
717
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Purchased a 2 night Groupon voucher, expecting an average/affordable getaway... was pleasantly surprised! Arrived one bright Thursday afternoon (following a riverside walk and seafront lunch in Christchurch - lovely) and although the car-park was a little tight for space, found reception staff to be very friendly and personable, check-in process efficient and headed to our first-floor room which had a small balcony and seaviews.

Okay, so the decor and furniture could do with a refurb (the ancient TV was located in a wardrobe unit and was deeper than it was wide with a fuzzy yellow picture) but everything wsa clean and comfy and TV's not my priority anyway. Having utilised the en-suite, we identified a really annoying continuously running/flushing water noise... so on the way to the on-site Spa, stopped via reception. The staff were soo helpful, sending maintenance to review the situation straight away who endeavoured to resolve the problem whilst we swam. The lavender scented steam room was fab (again spa staff and facilities were faultless) and whilst we were floating about a Manager approached us to advise they could not resolve the problem so provided us with an alternative room.

Imagine our delight when we packed-up and trudged along the corridor to find we had been given a free upgrade... clearly a room which had been modernised - incredibly spacious (twin sinks in the bathroom) and with a flat-screen TV!!

We ate at the nearby local Shah of Persia (2 for 1 pub) on our first night - good food at cheap prices - wholly recommended if you're on a budget.

The buffet breakfast had a truly excellent array - with every taste/preference catered for - you would be hard-pressed not to find something you liked.

The hotel is in a super location; you can literally step onto the sandy beach and walk all the way into Bournemouth (a gentle hour and half) and after a mosey-about, got a local bus back with the driver even stopping at the hotel entrance for us!

We booked to dine in the Hotel restaurant on our second evening - and weren't disappointed, really excellent fine dining with attentive unobtrusive staff. Thoroughly satisfied we enjoyed another good night's sleep, another fab breakfast and disappointingly headed back to the humdrum of working life!

If I'm honest, would not be willing to pay the full rate prices to stay here - but as a groupon offer - felt we had an excellent deal. Thank you to all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mootimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Haven Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review Mootimer

Sorry about the problems with your room when you arrived, but I can see we dealt with it straight away and you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.

We really hope you come back and see us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXETER
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went to this hotel on a groupon offer, loved the location, looking over the water, couldnt find reception, its around the corner rather strange! The hotel itself is a bit shabby, our room was ok but surprised to find only a double bed which seemed tiny, our bathroom was the coldest I have ever been in and the decor looked very eighties with polystyrene tiles on the ceiling, no robes or nice toiletries, and the hotel could probably invest in some mould and mildew remover.The breakfast was lovely, we ate in the hotel restaurant 1 night the food was lovely but a bit nouvelle cuisine (not very much of it) overall it was anice 2 night break, but would definately recommend asking for a king size bed, which you would probably have to pay for an upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenyweent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Haven Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review teenyweent.

Sorry you weren't impressed with your room. If you'd like to talk about it some more please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

we came on the groupon deal - great value and. Lovely bottle of red in the room. Beds were super comfy and we enjoyed pedicures in the spa. We ventured out on foot in the evening and tried cafe shore which was lovely. Breakfast the next day was great - fantastic selection and eggs benedict amazing! Would definitely return

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LexieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Haven Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review LexiBath.

Glad you spotted that deal on Groupon and visited us! We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed four nights with friends as part of a large group over the week-end. The rooms are well positioned and of a good standard. Food is excellent and not too pricey. Bar and terrace restaurent overlook the sea and Poole Harbour/Brownsea Island.
The staff are excellent particulalry the waiting staff and the front of House. They did everything they could to make our stay memorable.
Only downside is the upstairs corridoors need decorating/new carpet and that sometimes there is just too much going on for the staff to cope with, not their fault just over committment by the management.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay then upgrade your room to a sea or harbour view with balcony. Watching t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIXONS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Haven Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review Dixons2012 and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll pass your comments on about the décor upstairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed a two night stay at The Haven, beautiful location with views across to Studland. The staff and facilities are superb and breakfast was delicious with a wide selection to choose from. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, service was quick and efficient. All in all, a two day break to remember.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Haven Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review LewisSeal

We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very dated hotel, needs a total refurb. Dirty balcony, hallways paintwork is poor and needs a good clean inc the glass doors on each floor, bathroom has a basic shower in the bath, towels were not soft, cheap, no bathrobes, slippers, plates left outside of rooms all day. If you are expecting a luxury stay think again. Restaurant staff very good and food of a high standard and spa very nice. Very disappointed with the hotel itself considering the amazing location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 99Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Haven Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review 99Lewis, and welcome to the Trip Advisor community (I can see that you've only just joined).

I'm sorry to hear of the problems you had with your stay, this certainly isn't how we normally do things. If you'd like us to look into things in more detail please get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
5.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing