We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing room but other points made up for it”
Review of Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Haven Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Staff are friendly and helpful, room was a disappointment , old carpets and tired room fittings, smelt musty and dusty, same odour as the standard chalet at Butlins many years ago, must be the carpets, complained twice about the shower but nothing was done, bathroom had had a revamp but on a tight budget, shower head had no chrome left on it and it wasn't clean.
Mattress had a big dip in it so I woke up with a painful back ,best thing was the pillows, so soft and comfortable.
Restaurant was good although too much effort in presenting Nuevo cuisine instead of giving decent sized portions, I left the restaurant still hungry , service however was excellent,
Spa looked lovely but didn't bring my costume, location outstandingly beautiful.
I would stay there again but thought £123 b&b for a double room not value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but expect to pay for it Rooms on the third floor are noisy
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAPITALOFCULTURE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
There are newer reviews for Haven Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,308 - 1,314 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Two night stay Nov2nd/3rd Two people £270 including breakfast. High quality room with fantastic view across bay with patio door to balcony. Arrived, No porter assistance with bags although reception made offer gesture of assistance from reception to room.
Surroundings really quite exeptional. Given 4* would have expected better bar/lounge service rather than having to wait at bar to order drinks although plenty of helpful staff?
Evening meals were quite delicously presented £30pp and worth every penny.
Breakfast included was equally as nice.
Pool and spa facilities were very good with indoor and outdoor pools, outside spa bath, sauna and steam room. My wife enjoyed a massage treatment session whilst I enjoyed the facilities. Within the room the large flat screen TV was complicated to turn on and had to call reception for assistance. The ensuit was looking a bit tired although clean.
Good cross section of people and overall a fabulous week-end break.
Would recomend The Haven Hotel every day of the week and wish we had stayed for a week to take in the stunning Poole, Bournmouth and Dorset area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms nearest the ferry terminal as chains and engine noise of ferry croosing including vehicl...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIGEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked into the Haven for our one night away from the kids to celebrate our anniversary. We wanted a bit of a pamper - but couldn't afford the splash-out we had last year (2 nights at Chewton Glen..if only we had the money..!) We had been to the Haven before - about 8 years ago - and had fond memories so, despite the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor, we went for one night in a Sea View room.

Checked in just after 2.30pm (this is a bonus for a one night stay - gives you more time to enjoy) and after a brisk walk around the peninsular and beach admiring Harry Rednapp's place (yes he drove past in his Range Rover) and some of the James Bond style modern palaces, got back to our room (yes - room 118) for a cup of tea on the balcony. And this is where the Haven comes into its own - a breath-taking view from a well -appointed balcony with nice deck chairs. Fantastic - soak in the sea air and chill.
Then down to the spa for an energetic swim in the deserted outside (heated) pool in the rain - was great - into the hot tub - sun came out - beautiful.
Back to the room to get changed (yes the bathroom in 118 is small but to be honest I'd showered in the spa changing room so didn't really worry). David the barman kindly carried up two glasses of Champagne for me as yes I'd probably have dropped them as I was carrying paper & wet swimmers..!

Down to dinner and the food was superb - good choice from the £29 menu and the quality was very close to Chewton Glen - the beef in particular just melted in the mouth.
Another swim in the morning in the deserted pool then breakfast which was excellent - buffet style but we prefer it that way to be honest. Grandparents bring the kids over to pick us up just before 11 and once the kids have seen the pool & beach and heard about the food, we are forced to asked about family rooms for an Easter break..!

Yes bathroom was small (with shower curtain over bath - my pet hate), and the service slightly haphazard & decor slightly tired (so sorry - you get a 4 not a 5) - but what a view, really comfy bed, great food and wonderful swimming pool / spa. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MesoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The public rooms are well kept, and the staff very helpful and friendly, but overall the hotel feels rather dated and in need of redecoration. It never gives a good impression when the name over the door has a letter missing! Our room was not one of the best in the hotel, being on the top floor overlooking the car park, again it was a bit shabby, but very clean and spacious. It's quite expensive, but I suppose that's to be expected in Sandbanks, and if you have a sea view, it is probably worth the price. Dinner was not too expensive, and good quality, if rather small portions. Breakfast is buffet style, with a reasonable variety on offer. There were a few small things that could have improved the overall impression - there was the briefest of hotel guides in the form of a laminated A4 sheet in the room, no information about dinner, and an odd selection of toiletries - one shampoo and one shampoo/conditioner, no shower gel or bath soap. Maybe this was an oversight? In summary, yes I would stay there again, if only because of the location, but it didn't live up to its 4 star rating

Room Tip: the hotel has 3 floors, but the lift only goes to the second.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Treesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the second year running (because of an event) and its good points are: nice staff, very friendly, lovely spacious clean and well decorated rooms (double sea view), comfy beds, good food, pool and facilities.

Bad points are: its around £150 a night and for that I wouldn't expect the carpets to be threadbare on the stairs and 2nd floor corridor carpets are held together with 'tape'. There is a letter missing from the front of the hotel sign 'The Ha_en Hotel' !! And a fridge in the room would very much be appreciated. Drinks at the bar are extortionate. When the hotel has such a large number attend in one booking you would think they could discount the drinks or something. £7 bottle of house wine will cost you £22.50 and ham sandwich is around £7.00. Both resident DJ's have the personality of a knat.

Its in a lovely position, right by the chain ferry. Such a shame, could be better with a little shake up and TLC.

Room Tip: Pick the double sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MyHolidayBexley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

First thing to say is that the exterior of the hotel is a bit run down especially the front so when you first drive in it looks a bit naff. However, the reason you stay at this hotel and pay the slightly inflated prices is at the back. Its a great location with panoramic sea and harbour views. We stayed in room 225 which has a balcony with great views including the chain link ferry which i know annoys some people but not us. The room was refurbed in 2011 and was clean and in good condition. The only downside was the bathroom which was very small but it was fit for purpose. The bar and restaurant benefit from the great views and if you are lucky enough to get good weather, the outside terrace is a great place to spend the afternoon. There are some areas of the hotel that are becoming a bit run down which i have seen noted on other reviews but they are not that bad and the location more than compensates. I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful and could not fault the service. The breakfast which is inclusive was very good and eating it looking out to sea was very pleasent. I would recomend staying in a sea or harbour room with a balcony and ask if its been refurbed

Room Tip: Must get a room with balcony. Sea views are quieter, harbour views have the chin link ferry which is...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at the Haven in Poole. Out of interest I looked up reviews on Tripadvisor. I could not believe the comments about room 118, as we had spent two very pleasant nights in the said room I wanted to provide a different perspective.

It was our second visit to this hotel, the room is clearly one of the updated rooms. The bathroom is new, I dont particulary like shower curtains but apart from that, its good sized and well appointed bathroom.

We were there for a function which coincided with a wedding, but regardless the service provided for our event was great.From checking in, to the breakfast service. I rarely expect a gourmet experience at organised events, however, the food at our function was well excecuted and the service was impressive. For example, every person on each table was served at the same time and the plates used for hot courses were served on hot plates - marvelous!

The hotel is in a fantastic position, I could never get bored with the views. We had a great balcony with room 118, I could have forgiven anything for that. But each to our own!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been refurbished.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandKathy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,755 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
935 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel

Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $78 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of Blue Flag beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and well-appointed bedrooms with many of which offering ocean view balconies. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. Highly acclaimed by locals, The Point Restaurant serves a two AA-Rosette awarded cuisine helmed by Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. Why not indulge yourself at the Haven Spa and prepare to be pampered and spoilt? Whether working up a sweat in the gym or relaxing in the outdoor heated swimming pool, the Haven Spa is the perfect place to unwind your mind and reinvigorate your body in complete luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing