We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Haven Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked ths hotel for a short 2 day mid week break without any research as we wanted to get away for a couple of day's rest. What a break it was, so good that we extended our stay by a further night.. not cheap but well worth the money. The rooms are grand, the location is absolutely sensational- right on the sea shore next to a little ferry t4o get you across from Sandbanks to Studland then Corfe Castle is 5 miles and Swanage is 3 miles rather than a 50 minute drive round Poole. Now to the food .. we were on dinner bed and breakfast, the cuisine is international the brigade of chefs absolutely great!! They were the reason for the extended stay. Breakfasts from Full English to Eggs Royale ( with florentine and benedictine in between). Having just read the reviews of benyemin and yummiUk we disagree entirely regarding the restaurant. No waiting to be seated for breakfast, the only small criticism is that the restaurant gets busy due to its popularity in the evening with the locals and clients so you may have to wait a ittle while, butr the hotel has to make a profit. Wake up and smell the coffee otherwise it waon't be there. Absolutely great break!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room inland view which is good enough you only sleep there a sea view isn't worth anot...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
There are newer reviews for Haven Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,317 - 1,323 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have long wanted to spend time at the Haven Hotel and last week-end, we had the opportunity to celebrate my wife's birthday there. The combination of the great weather and location was just a dream. Our room had a great balcony and the outdoor / indoor leisure facilities were first class. Although all the staff were welcoming and friendly, the service could have been better at times and the food is not as good as you would expect at a hotel of this quality. Having said all that, the whole experience was thoroughly enjoyable and we look forward to another visit.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank happycoupleBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went the beginning of August and when we pulled up I wondered what to expect. Yes the location is very good, but that is where it ends. We had a sea view room with a balcony which was okay just about 10 years out of date.
There was no A la Carte menu offered in the 4 nghts we were there, , the food and service in the restaurant was not what you would expect from a 4* hotel and it was a walk way through to the leisure club anyway, the bar menu was virtually non existant in the evening. we were going to stay for 10 nights but left after 4.
The bar could not cope when busy, no-one seemed to be managing the food & beverage element, the staff seemed to be doing their own thing.
Breakfast was okay but you had a wait to be served, plates were cold and breakfast was not always that hot either

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benyemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in one of the newly refurbished family rooms. The room has a great balcony and a view of the sea. Despite recently having been refurbished the room was not the cleanest - dusty blinds, dubious stains on the curtains and sheets. The hotels facilities are good with a lovely outdoor pool and nice seating areas within the hotel.

I have to agree with the other reviewers regarding the poor customer service. On one morning we waited for over 5 minutes to be seated for breakfast. This was because the 'manager' was too busy resetting tables to seat anyone. When my husband complained about this he continued by only addressing questions to me and ignoring my husband! We ate in the hotel on our first evening and service was again very slow - lots of disgruntled customers.

However, the thing that annoyed me most was the service upon checking out. Having spent a considerable amount of money with the hotel I was shocked that the receptionist neither said thank you nor asked me if I had had a pleasant stay! She merely handed me back my card and a copy of the bill and said 'here you go'! We will be writing to voice our complaints directly with the hotel.

Room Tip: A sea view room is probably worth paying the extra amount
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yummiUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I decided at the last minute to book a night away at the Haven Hotel in Sandbanks for my partners birthday . Although we do not live far away, we thought - why travel when this location, view and experience is right on our doorstep? The weather was superb and having booked a seafront room with a balcony ( which I would recommend !) it allowed us to enjoy drinks whilst taking in the fabulous views of Studland Bay and Sandbanks. The outdoor pool area is fabulous with great spacious loungers and again spectacular views - it did not feel overcrowded at all. The bar area at the front of the hotel served pre dinner cocktails and we were lucky enough to have a window seat in the restaurant for dinner. The menu is appealing with a wide range of choices and just what we were looking for at reasonable prices. The food was absolutely amazing and all courses went down a real treat ! It was very busy but the staff remained friendly and attentive throughout. We were even treated to some celebrity spotting - actors from Harry potter were dining too ! Breakfast outside on the terrace in brilliant sunshine the following morning was a delight . We invited friends for lunch the following day and again the food was fabulous - a much improvement from 3 years ago now they have a new Executive Chef and team - well done ! We will definitely be back for more ...

Room Tip: Seaview rooms in all coastal hotels are always the best option
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just back from 5 days stay at the Haven. The hotel is in the best location on an exquisite area of Britain.

The mix of reviews reflects different aspects of the hotel. The public areas are great with stunning views. The water sports academy was great. The pools tremendous and the staff friendly (see note below). The WIFi is a bit intermittent but talking to staff it is a bespoke innovative system due to the broadband in the area and there are teething issues.

The bedrooms remain a little dated and in the last 18 months there has been improvement but there could be more work undertaken.

Our only gripe would be the level of staffing. 3 people serving a busy dining room in the morning is too few and it made them stretched and stressed with creaks occurring in service, however the food quality remained high on every day.

All in all great and reasonably priced stay and we will be back.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank the5moos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just got back from four nights at The Haven hotel, so this should be a balanced review.

We got a last minute deal, pretty cheap and didn't know what to expect. We were given a room on the 3rd floor facing the car park. The room was clean, large with a nice bathroom. The fixtures and fittings were dated, old fashioned but perfectly fine. The downsides were the room was like a furnace, we were woken up repeatedly by banging doors and then at 7am by a delivery lorry sitting outside with its engine running for 20+ minutes.. The following morning I had a very slight moan to reception who proceeded to move us to a harbour facing room with a lovely balcony. This room was the polar opposite and had obviously been renovated, it was lovely and I was extremely pleased with the way it was handled.

We ate in the hotel for breakfast only, the food was pretty but cold, which is a shame as there was plenty of it. There were a couple of language barrier issues at breakfast with some of the non English staff members, they were attentive but disnt quite understand all that was being asked.

The facilities are good, the atmosphere nice and not too stuffy, we had a great time in the pool and the location is absolutely wonderful. To sum it up, I was pleased we had stayed there but expected a bit more as its on Samdbanks The hotel is looking a bit tired in places and some parts are in need of modernisation, a little more attention to detail from the staff or perhaps a bit more training would help. However, don't let that put you off as we would happily go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,755 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
935 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel

Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $79 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of Blue Flag beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and well-appointed bedrooms with many of which offering ocean view balconies. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. Highly acclaimed by locals, The Point Restaurant serves a two AA-Rosette awarded cuisine helmed by Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. Why not indulge yourself at the Haven Spa and prepare to be pampered and spoilt? Whether working up a sweat in the gym or relaxing in the outdoor heated swimming pool, the Haven Spa is the perfect place to unwind your mind and reinvigorate your body in complete luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing