We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail is intrinsic to Harbour Heights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed the 'Mother's Day' weekend, and had a fabulous time. The hotel atmosphere was peaceful, the rooms very clean, the staff hospitable, if something was not right the staff sorted it out - nothing was too much. The food was good, we all agreed we would stay at Harbour Heights again, it is located within easy walking distance to the seafront.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
Thank SweetPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResponsePoole, Management Representative at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2010

Thank you for your review SweetP. I am pleased that you had such a fabulous time during your recent stay at The Harbour Heights and that you found all our staff so hospitable. I hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

888 - 894 of 950 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2010

Yesterday lunchtime my partner and I had the pleasure of spending a very pleasant few hours at The Harbour Heights Hotel for a family lunch. Having read so many good reviews, my expectations were very high – and I wasn’t disappointed. The whole experience was a real joy. The staff were welcoming, professional and provided a high level of service.. even with the challenge of our party of 7 adults and 3 young children. The food was excellent – I can especially recommend the Classic Fish Pie and Bread and Butter Pudding, both dishes simply wonderful. Between us all we probably sampled most of the items on the menu – and I can’t recall one adverse comment. Top marks to the chef and staff. We ended our stay with a walk on to the terrace and the wonderful view of Poole harbour and Brownsea Island. We were all really sorry to only be able to stay for a short while, but I’m sure we’ll be making a return visit in the not too distant future. My only comment (not in any way a complaint, but more of an observation) – drivers should be aware that, exiting the hotel car park is a bit tricky with very little visibility of oncoming traffic in either direction.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResponsePoole, Management Representative at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2010

Thank you for your review Dave. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their visit to The Harbour Heights.

You mentioned that your expectations were very high, so I am pleased to learn that the hotel's usual high standards were both in place, and achieved, so that neither you, nor your family, were disappointed.

I am delighted to learn that your party tried a wide range of dishes from our menu and that everyone was equally happy. Your comments have been past to our Head Chef, Norman and Restaurant Manager, Sergio as it is always nice to share feedback with the actual teams and staff involved.

I am sure readers of your post will also be grateful for your recommendations of the Classic Fish Pie and Bread and Butter Pudding, both of which are extremely popular dishes from the current menu.

You indicate that you will be making a return visit, so we look forward to welcoming you back then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We went to Sandbanks last year. We were supposed ro stay at the Luminiere which was a major disappointment so ended up at the Haven which was fine but the rooms were a bit old & tired. This time we stayed at the Harbour Heights and am glad we did. Lovely clean and modern rooms, wonderful view over the Harbour, great breakfast and good value as well. Really lovely stay. Highly recomended

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen67London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResponsePoole, Management Representative at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2010

Hi Stephen – thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review.

Obviously, as The Haven is our sister hotel it is a shame to read that you felt the rooms were a little tired looking, although perhaps they have been refurbished since you stayed, as we do have an on-going refurbishment plan across the group.

However, we are obviously delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Harbour Heights and hope that you are able to return again soon. We also hope that you continue to recommend us and our wonderful views across Poole Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

The Harbour Heights deserves every one of its 4 stars. It's a very comfortable, chic hotel with an intimate feel about it and breathtaking views over Poole Harbour (even on a grey day in February when I stayed there). The service is relaxed but very good and although admittedly the restaurant was quiet, the service at dinner was excellent and the food was even better. It wasn't the right time of year, but I can only imagine how nice it must be to sit out on the terrace in the evening or even for breakfast on a sunny day and watch the yachts sail past Brownsea Island.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelAddictPoole_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResponsePoole, Management Representative at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2010

Hello again TravelAddictPoole and thank you for providing us with another review.

As you say the views from The Harbour Heights are quite unique and amazing.

Despite the famous saying location isn’t quite everything, so I am pleased to hear that you found both the cuisine and service of a high standard.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon, so that you can enjoy a relaxing drink and / or meal on the terrace, you are correct it is a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed at Harbour Heights for a weekend, mostly because we love the views from the hotel's bedrooms and terrace. The weather forecast was terrible - and correct. The wind blew and we thought the roof was going to blow off during the first night but all was OK in the morning. We drove around Poole Harbour and Sandbanks and watched the waves come over the road, we had never seen weather like it at Poole. After the first night we asked to be moved to another room because the top floor was so noisy in the wind and were moved to the second floor where the room was bigger and had even better views with windows on two sides. My sister and her husband joined us for dinner on the Saturday night and we all chose from the menu @ £25 for three courses. All our food was excellent and we considered it wonderful value. My only complaint was that my risotto was very slightly too salty for me but freshly baked bread and fresh, locally sourced ingredients were excellent. We all agreed we would return whenever we had the time or money to spare. Breakfasts were equally good, again freshly cooked and we recognised some of the staff from previous weekends. If we have a spare weekend this spring, I know we will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResponsePoole, Management Representative at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2010

Liz – Thank you for your review. As I am sure you appreciate we have no control over the weather, but I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your request for a room move on your second night to minimise any possible disruption to you. As mentioned, many of dishes in our restaurant are based around locally sourced ingredients which has proven very successful and maintains a changing seasonal menu for our guests. We certainly hope that you have a spare weekend soon, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Harbour Heights shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We recently had a celebration wedding lunch at the Harbour Heights, the lunch was fantastic, the quality of the food was excellant, the service spot on. All the meals arrived together (there were 22 of us) and the staff were faultless, what a lovely experience. We also stayed over for a night, the room was clean, bit small, but the sunset over Brownsea made up for any shortcomings. All in all, a really good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherries2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResponsePoole, Revenue Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2009

Cherries2009 - thank you so much for taking the time out to review our hotel after your celebrations. Your review is really appreciated and it’s always so nice to hear positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and wish you every success in your new lives together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

we have just returned from three nights at harbour heights hotel and found it a wealth of hospitality encasing high standard of accommodation and excellent crusine served by professional and friendly staff

m& j larner essex

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgejohn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelResponsePoole, Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2009

Dear georgejohn67 thank you for your review and positive comments. We fully appreciate the importance of our staff to the business, it is always nice to hear that they are appreciated and that you found them friendly. The Harbour Heights is well known for its cuisine, our Head Chef prides himself in preparing high quality dishes prepared with seasonal and local products.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,794 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,542 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Address: 73 Haven Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $127 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing