We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Lovely hotel with fantastic terrace and great views over Poole Harbour. Exceptionally clean everywhere although rooms could probably do with a little investment now to bring them up to date and more inkeeping with the rest of the hotel.
We had a lovely double room (top floor) which easily accommodated a put up bed too for our son - room had two small balconies (Room 310) and gorgeous views to Poole.
Nice restaurant with breakfast freshly cooked to order and of a very high standard.
The staff though are this hotels best quality - restaurant staff were great and a special mention should go to Tui on reception who was excellent - she made a special impression on our son by ensuring his favourite biscuits were in our room and nothing was too much trouble for her - sevice with a real smile.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbiepettl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 963 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

We live fairly close to the hotel so we decided to call in at lunch time for a snack. When we asked at the bar for their snack menu we were told that the only snacks that they had were crisps and nuts! Fortunately we then found a menu which showed that there was a fairly good range of "snacks" such as sandwiches but they were called "Lite Bites". I am not sure whether the barmaid was being pedantic or she was just stupid. My "Gammon Sandwich" didn't taste to bad but the gammon consisted of a thin slice of processed ham on sliced brown supermarket bread, not what you expect for £7.50 in an up-market hotel. While I waited the 30+ minutes it took to make it I had plenty of time to check my surroundings, they were tatty! The polished areas of the floor were badly scratched and needed re-polishing, the carpet was disgusting and hadn't been cleaned let alone replace for a long time and the vinyl chairs were long past their best.

The position of this hotel must be the best on the South Coast, they should and could do a lot better.

P.S. They then added an "10% optional service charge" to my bill without even asking me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterRAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just come back from a lovely weekend break, obviously the weather helped but would still recommend this hotel. It doesn't look special from outside and it's not cheap but you get what you pay for. The parking at the hotel is limited and you may have to wait until some of the people have left the restaurant before you can get a space. The receptionist was very friendly/welcoming. The room was clean, comfortable bed and made up well the following morning. The air conditioning didn't work but this was only a shame because the weather was exceptionally hot. Views from the restaurant were wonderful and explain the hotels name. Breakfast was good, although they did briefly forget our order the first morning. There was a guitarist on Friday evening and a singer on Saturday both were good and they didn't go on all evening. We ate in on Saturday evening the menu was not particularly varied and I gather that it is not changed daily but the food was very good. Although they are rather mean with the portions of cheese on their cheeseboard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_newling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Made to feel really welcome by attentive, friendly staff in all aspects of the hotel. We chose a room with a small balcony overlooking Poole Harbour, and what a view! All areas of the hotel were spotless , and we had a very comfortable and relaxing stay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Frank1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Wow - what a view! We could have sat there all day. The outdoor patio decking area is a fantastic place to read and relax or perfect for an afternoon G&T.

We thought this would be the main discovery at this hotel but we were wrong. The food in the restaurant was to die for. The fillet steak was one of the best I have had including Nero's in Las Vegas. We ate there on both nights of our stay. Reasonable price for this type of cuisine.

Our room was facing inland and initially we thought we would be disappointed. We had a pleasant surprise. Whilst not the most glamorous decor, the room was decent, with a comfy bed and a large bathroom. The discovery here was the little touches - a tea pot with the tea and coffee tray, a heated mirror in the bathroom and a flash electric shower. Little things even some expensive hotels miss out.

The hotel is in a good location for the area. Some of the decor is a little tired but nothing offensive and generally good condition for a typical British seaside hotel. The staff seemed mostly foreign but spoke good English and we could not fault the service. Well done guys.

We intend to come back and I would recommend this hotel over and above it's more famous sister, Sandbanks.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great but a little pricey. You will still have a great view from the hotel bar/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We booked our anniversary meal here with a group of 10 of our friends because the views are some of the best in Poole and it is a great place to have a drink. We waited a long time to order drinks and even longer for our food, there was a wedding at the time and the restaurant was busy, they clearly had more on their plates than they could cope with. The starters were average and when the mains finally arrived 3 of the steaks ordered were very over done, they had all ask for medium rare or rare and they were cooked through. The waiter, who was clearly stressed, argued this and reluctantly agreed to provide new steaks after a heated discussion with the chef (that we had full view of from our table), he left the chips they had ordered as sides which they ate whilst they waited a long time for new steaks. I ordered lobster thermidore, I didn't start it until the steaks went back and despite it being very expensive it was undercooked and cold inside and dry because there was so little sauce. I didn't feel like I could complain as the waiter had been so hostile about the steaks. I have no issue paying the price for high quality food, but this was awful and despite complaining we weren't offered so much as a free drink. In fact we weren't even offered any drinks unless we asked as the staff were so busy. The whole evening was awful, despite the great views outside the inside is tired and the food was terrible and for that reason I wouldn't eat here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank RachelsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Went for dinner in the restaurant - ordered scallops at £12.00 and got 2 the size of a 10p piece - 2!!! Followed with a lobster at £59 - very nice but too expensive. You can pick your own lobster or crab out of the tank. The menu is fairly limited and the restaurant Manager was condescending and argumentative. The view is great in daylight. I can recommend Cafe Shore or The Edge, been to both many times and never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Hooper0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,809 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,560 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
855 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Address: 73 Haven Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $128 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing