We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unhappy Customers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unhappy Customers”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband went to this hotel for our wedding anniversary weekend. The room itself was lovely with a comfy bed and nice bathroom. On the Saturday night there was a wedding reception being held, hence many unhappy customers. Part of the bar area was closed off to customers. When asked if we could sit at empty tables in the restaurant was told NO as it was only for people eating. This was at 10pm hardly anyone was eating at that time. An elderly lady wanted to sit down and was told to go outside. I could go on but that alone has put me off going back. The wedding party was extremely loud especially when we wanted to get some sleep......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    274
    116
    55
    35
See reviews for
125
477
15
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Been their many of times went for Sunday lunch all very wonderful xx the service was good we had a two course Sunday lunch for 22 pounds and the children can have half portions which is good as I have a child of 5 and a child of 7 they like it their two

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank graceypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went here for drinks on the terrace to enjoy the view. There had been a small rain shower prior to exiting on to the terrace and as the waiter showed us to a table I had to ask him to fetch a towel to wipe the chair & table, which he handed to me to do myself. Incredulous. I was further stunned when he asked me what I wanted to drink and I asked for a wine list. He looked at me and raised his eyebrows. I said 'wine list' he disappeared and a female waitress came out and said may I help you? I said I only asked for a wine list. She said 'im sorry he is new' I politely told her that if a waiter, all be him new, doesn't understand 'wine list' they need to look at their recruitment procedures! Eventually our drinks were delivered by yet another waiter and dumped on the table. My husband was so irritated at this point he went inside and demanded that they come back out, pore and taste and pore the wine as is customary, even in a dump like a Wetherspoons they do it. We didn't receive any nibbles, olives etc as one would expect from a hotel in such a setting and we had to ask twice for the bill, in the end giving up and paying at the bar. There was then a fiasco over our taxi which is too boring to relay but let me say we will never go back or recommend this place to anyone. Shame as the view is out of this world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bella00Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2013 and what can I say? Good food, warm service, amazing view and perfect location to nip to the beech or Poole Quay. We found this hotel to be a hidden gem and will definitely be returning.

We booked via booking.com and thought we got a cracking deal.

Thank you HH

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austriancrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked a harbour view room (306), but it didn't look like those in the photographs, and like a previous review says, was quite small, there was only one armchair and you couldn't sit and look out of the window from where it could be placed!! You could stand between the bed and the window and admire the view, which is stunning and ever changing. In bed, I kept hitting my elbow on the bedside cabinet, and the bed valance was stained but everything else was very good. I'm told you can ask for one of the rooms in the on-line/brochure pictures. The staff were excellent as was the food and wine. The menu changes daily so plenty of choice. And you can use facilities in the sister hotels, two of which are a short walk away.

Room Tip: Ask the question about the room when you book… you may get lucky and get the view you pay for, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justlettinguno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

One of my favourite hotels by the sea , we love sandbanks and the harbour heights and always have a marvellous time . This time we got room 310 which isn't a massive room , but has the best views from the balconies to the sea [ what a view when you wake up !] , plus a lovely large comfortable bed and a whirl pool bath . We also appreciated the kettle and the fridge , so we could have real home from home and relax as it was raining ! Recommend the restaurant for both lunch and dinner [ see my separate review for more details ]. The breakfast is lovely too as they take time to cook to order [ so much nicer than scrambled egg congealing over a warmer]. We also had some real home made style sandwiches as room service [ all food is local and made with care ] . Very pleasant staff through out and couldn't ask for more , Thank you .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Tried to book this hotel through booking.com in July for last minute break. Filled booking form in online and on it requested extra bed as we were travelling as 3. Later that same day got email advising that Hotel did not in fact have a vacancy and my booking did not stand. So, went on to book another. When got Bank statement in few weeks later I had been debited £196 for a "no show" from HH, who have since claimed the reservation did indeed stand.
I have argued until blue in face with booking.com who had contact with Didier at HH throughout my complaint. Unfortunately I deleted said email telling of "outbooking" as I assumed it was unnecessary to keep as my booking did not stand, or so I had been advised. I continue to try to retrieve but Yahoo do not retrieve emails older than a week they state.
To make matters worse the Hotel subsequently, and totally erroneously, claimed that I myself phoned to ask for an extra bed "because the receptionist remembered". Because of this said (fabricated) phonecall they say I definitely had a booking. I should like to see a record of their phonecalls on the evening in question as I most certainly did not call, my request had been made on online booking.com form.
It has to be the easiest £196 any Hotel has made as with the Summer we've enjoyed this year rooms were being snapped up.
Now with booking.com and Harbour Heights Hotel both not wanting to know and regarding the matter as closed as I did not show I am left out of pocket and with a very bad opinion of this Hotel and its administration. The only error I made in all of this was deleting an email in good faith. We shall definitely never cross its threshold, the area of Poole has many beautiful outstanding Hotels we will take our custom to. My advice? IF you use booking.com double check every booking detail and with this Hotel be aware.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank MAH184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJBHotels, Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
The customer that wrote this review actually did not stay in the hotel at all (as stated in the review) through complications caused by Booking.com, not our website or central reservations. Considering the person never actually stayed at the hotel, the review should be removed.

Kind Regards,
Julian Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Property: Harbour Heights Hotel
Address: 73 Haven Road, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing