We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Spent part of the weekend at Harbour Heights hotel Sandbanks Poole Dorset. What can I say it was wonderful. Rooms lovely Food lovely, except my scrambled eggs for breakfast,bit to runny for me. Went to bed looking at seaview and woke up to it. The terrace is great for chilling out with a nice drink. Sandbanks is an amazing place,wish I had a few million to buy a place there. If you want a peaceful weekend this is the place to go. Highly recommend this place. Plan to go back a little later in the year for a bit longer stay

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrasnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    278
    118
    56
    35
See reviews for
128
484
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ringwood
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is pleasant enough and the room we had was okay but nothing special...however the view that we had (and that's why I booked here) was to die for. Also the hotel terrace is a gorgeous place to spend a sunny afternoon, with wonderful views and good food. Not a cheap option but well worth it. The staff were also very attentive and put right a small blip we had almost immediately. Our room was on the corner so we had a double aspect view, and two balconies, one being a Juliette. The hotel would be a great place for a small wedding or similar.

Room Tip: room 208 double aspect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RingwoodHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Champagne Afternoon Tea [Groupon Offer]
Went with friends for a birthday treat and the food was very nice. Value for money with the offer but wouldn't want to pay full price.
We were'nt offered the choice of bar or sun terrace [as offer stated] but the view we had was very nice. Good service although we had to wait quite a while for our tea's and then had to ask for cups!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here on the way home from a family funeral. I wondered if this had coloured my impressions of the hotel but decided not. Our welcome was warm but our room was cold. This was sorted out fairly quickly. We had a harbour view room which was quite small for a double but our daughter had a better sized room further along the corridor. The bed was a small double. Internet access was cable only in the room but wireless in the public areas. Our daughter had a TV remote without batteries. We ate dinner in the restaurant and were not terribly impressed. We felt the food was overpriced and not value for money. Breakfast was better. Attention to detail was definitely lacking during our stay but the staff were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenDayFanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Afternoon tea includes: 
A pot of hot water
One very small sandwich, with very thinly spread filling
Two miniature dry scones, with jam & cream 
A perplexed waitress 
A pot of hot water
Three bite sized cakes (bite sized is not an understatement) 
Another pot of hot water (which, when returned with the request for tea, was only bought back to us!)
Only £17.50 + service charge 

Completely agree with other reviews. How dare afternoon tea actually include tea! 

Shame the quality of food and service didn't match the stunning views. 

A bit of advice - spend less on lobsters and invest in some tea bags!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kp2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The view excellent, however that is the only good thing to report. The afternoon tea was very over priced for what you get. £17.50 foe one sandwich 2scones one which was very salty and 4 inch square pieces of cake. We were given 3 pots of tea and 4 pots of hot water for 10 people. The service was poor, the head waitress didn't,t stop to listen when we were ordering. Much better afternoon teas had locally for a much better price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here last June & chose to stay again as the choice in this area is quite limited.
Not good weather again so not able to use the terrace which is such a feature of this hotel.
The service was much better than last time & lunch was very good. The price of the room was somewhat higher than last year but the room itself was disappointing- smaller quite dated & with a very small bathroom. It definately seems to be cost cutting in this area - just a lonely bath gel & shampoo - no bathrobes, shower hat, conditioner etc. Added to this no wi-fi - although it is available in the lounge area -I would not have wanted to spend more than 1 night in this rather cramped room & did not think it worth the £175 price tag. However the room was spotlessly clean. Also no help with luggage - no porter service. Breakfast was included - was quite good - my eggs were a little undercooked & on the cold side as was the toast but lovely cappucino!

Room Tip: Has to be a seaview............
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
876 reviews
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
777 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Property: Harbour Heights Hotel
Address: 73 Haven Road, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing