We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great.”
Review of Arndale Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arndale Court
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed June 13, 2012

A very nice place. Everything was nice and clean. The rooms were very large and compfy. The staff were very friendly. The only I didn't like was the shower tap, it was almost impossible to turn on and off.

Room Tip: We had a room that was on carpark side. I guess it would be better because you wouldn't get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 195 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed overnight - hotel very dated but clean. Very little noise proofing as could hear other residents very clearly. Breakfast nice. Overpriced for condition of rooms one side of my mattress had a broken spring. The headboard smelled of body odour and one of my pillows was the same.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

ARNold Hagenbach and Samuel ChippenDALE opened the first Arndale centre in Jarrow in 1961. Further Arndale centres around the UK were the height of 60's and 70's sophistication, bringing perceived American glamour on the inside and brutal, soulless concrete design on the outside. The Poole Arndale Centre became the Dolphin Shopping Centre (it's still hideous) in 1988, but twenty four years on the glamour of the name still inspires the Arndale Court Hotel.

Which tells you something about the place, though quite what I'm not sure.

Strange nostalgia for the seventies aside, this is a perfectly competently small provincial hotel. The single room was small but clean, the bed was comfortable, the wifi was excellent and the shower worked fine.

The breakfast was good, but the only discordant note was brusque service to the point of rudeness. The correct answer to "Could I have a hot chocolate instead of tea or coffee?" is "Yes". The disappointing answer is "I'm sorry, but we don't do hot chocolate." The wrong answer is a barked monosyllabic "NO" with a glare of disapproval. That was only one staff member though (I bet they know who I'm referring to) and the rest were fine. In any case they grill their sausages properly instead of frying them, for which I am willing to forgive a lot.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful although - a wee tip for hotel managers here - stained football shirts are not the best uniform for customer facing staff. Buy the lad a suit. He's worth it.

It's handy for the station and for the Arndale - sorry, Dolphin - Shopping Centre if you fancy having your soul sucked out. The swimming pool / leisure centre is just a little further away but the quay is a good fifteen or twenty minutes on foot.

I'd stay there again if business took me there in the future. I probably won't go back for a holiday, but that's as much because Poole itself is, frankly, a dump with a hundred yards of nice old High Street. The hotel was OK.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ubergeekian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

very nice hotel, staff friendly and helpful,Slight smell of smoke from our room ,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

A perfectly respectable hotel - welcoming, clean, comfortable, well-priced. The decor, if slightly tired, was perfectly fine. The reception staff were welcoming.

The breakfast was, alas, a disappointment: when asked whether they served croissants, my friend was told that "there was no call for that sort of thing". Service was slow and staff were remarkably unapologetic when staples ran out (orange juice, brown bread). While perfectly edible, the quality was not high. It also seems slightly odd that they stocked tinned, over fresh, fruit.

Would I stay again? Probably. This is a perfectly good hotel in a reasonable location at a decent price. Next time, I might have breakfast elsewhere, however.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night only this weekend whilst attending a wedding. We found the car park easily and received a warm welcome from the reception staff.
Our room was large and comfortable and spotlessly clean. It was well equipped: kettle, hair drier, trouser press, iron and ironing board, mini fridge & TV. The bathroom was small but adequate and the shower was lovely with good water pressure. However, there was only one hand and one bath towel provided for the two of us. we could have phoned reception for more towels, but I'd brought some with us any way, so we used them.
Breakfast was tinned orange or grapefruit segments or tinned prunes with a good selection of mini-box cereals or some yoghurts. Followed by a very nice cooked breakfast: bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, baked beans, hash brownie, poached eggs, fried bread and toast. perfectly cooked and delicious.
If we go to poole again we would definitely stop here again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 days at the end of last month as a base for attending a wedding in Bournemouth and reception at Compton Acres. We had a very large room on the ground floor which contained everything your might need, including fridge, iron, ironing board, coffee & tea making facilities, TV and hairdryer. The bathroom was also a good size, the water pressure was good and we had a plentiful supply of hot water. The bed was harder than we prefer, but you can't please everyone in this respect. The staff were extremely helpful with directions and other information about the local area. The cooked breakfast was freshly prepared, plentiful and tasty. The restaurant were very efficient and pleasant. There was also a a good selection of cereals and fruit juices. The parking was easy to find behind the hotel and there was always plenty of spaces.
We will definitely use this hotel again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holswelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.7 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
853 reviews
1.7 mi away
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arndale Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arndale Court

Address: 62-64 Wimborne Road, Poole BH15 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range: $69 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arndale Court 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Arndale Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arndale Court Hotel Poole
Arndale Court Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing