We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly personnel”
Review of Gate of India - CLOSED

Gate of India
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: BH14 0JT 01202 717061
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly personnel”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have eaten at this Indian restaurant many times & never been disappointed. The food is very good & is excellent value for money. The waiters are very friendly & give excellent customer service. They can't do enough for you. Haven't been there since its refurbishment which was overdue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    48
    12
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best indian around”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Went in on a Monday and did the 2 courses for 2 for £19.90 brilliant value for money, but normally its still very reasonable, usual big portions and the staff are friendly. Will return again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Corbz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gateway to Indian delights”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We came here a couple of years ago with our daughter, who lives in the Caribbean - a desert as far as good Indian food is concerned - and had a splendid meal. On her recent visit the plea for a repeat visit couldn't be denied. We were delighted to see the new décor, clean and easy on the eye, and the welcome is as friendly and helpful as ever. The food is terrific, particularly the Chef's special garlic chicken, and the sag bahjee is to die for. The wait staff are attentive but not intrusive, always a bonus. We will be back soon! I would recommend booking, it fills up very quickly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“New and improved”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My favourite restaurant has just got better after undergoing a recent upgrade and repaint. The food is still of the highest quality and hasn't lost any of its wonderful flavour.

£42 for 4 of us to eat with drinks is an absolute bargain and reinforces its position as my favourite restaurant. The lamb dansak and pattia curries were sensational and the chicken korma delicious and all of the group very impressed.

We'll be back for sure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tim_corke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
challenger08
Level Contributor
192 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Even better”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I visited Gate of India in january - loved the food and service but commented on the fabric and style of the restaurant poking a little worn.
We - I ate here again this week with colleagues and found they have re-decorated inside and out. The welcome was as warm and friendly as before, the food jus as good. I asked for another dish to be slightly hotter than normal and the willingly obliged. Thoroughly enjoyable meal in an even nicer environment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank challenger08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gate of India also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing