We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thistle Poole
Nearby Hotels
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$153
$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$123
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel(Poole)(Great Value!)
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$193
$180
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,026)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveler rating
282
345
233
108
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
345
233
108
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour view restaurantexcellent locationharbour frontfirst floorbrownsea islandper daycar parkingpubs and restaurantsbit datedstayed for one nightwedding receptiona sea view roomhigh streetplenty of parkingafternoon teatown centreshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
771 - 776 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is situated directly on the harbour & is the perfect base for exploring Poole & the Dorset coast. The sea view from room 212 was lovely. The room was comfortable, nicely appointed & very clean. The staff were excellent & very helpful. Breakfast in the dining room overlooking the harbour was excellent, too.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleksander58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review aleksander58. We are really lucky to be in the location we are in. As you rightly say the view is fantastic. I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the staff. Looking forward seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having stayed in another hotel in Poole the night before, this was 100% better.

Every one of the staff were friendly and took an interest in you.

Rooms/beds were very comfortable.

Dinner was very good and breakfast excellent.

On the down side, dont think you sould pay for car park if staying in the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nttm_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

It has been an absolute pleasure to have you at our hotel nttm_guy. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is the biggest asset to us and I it makes me always very happy reading positive comments about them. Looking forward to welcome you back to the Thistle Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had to book for the whole family to have a base for visiting a relative in Poole hospital. A very big thank you to Dayna for organising this. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, all the staff have been very helpful and friendly. The view from our room 214 is stunning had to sleep with the curtains open most nights as I did not want to spoil that view. The breakfast was lovely and caters for all. Under different circumstances this would have been a lovely relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, top floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathybWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your time writing this great review kathybWarrington. It has been an absolute pleasure having you and your family at the hotel. We are very lucky to provide our guests with the view and the location of the hotel.
I will pass on your kind comments to all our staff.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned from fantastic trip at Thistle Hotel in Poole. The Reception staff gave us a warm welcome and we were delighted to hear we had been upgarded to Sea view room. The room was generous in size with all the standard equipment you expect. The Bar was well stocked always a treat to have a decent glass of Drambuie after a great day walking around the fantastic coast line to Bournemouth. We booked in for Dinner, stunning views across the Harbour. Menu choice was balanced, a choice of Two menu's and the food we eat, was well presented by great warm staff and very reasonable priced.

Sdaly lots of banging doors throughout the night which was disappointing. However it didnt detract from excellent stay. Great tasty breakfast although the service was a little slow. The staff looked very stressed and although pleasant you could sense the tension in the air !!

We would be delighted to stay at the Hotel again.
Gary P

Room Tip: Room 206 overlooked the Harbour.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback Gary P. It has been a pleasure talking to you over the phone aswell and I passed on your kind comments to our team members. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time here and I we look foward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable 2 night stay here with my sister and her partner booked through Easybreaks. At the time of booking I requested a top floor rooms with possibly a seaview. ON checking in early I wasn't expecting to be given our rooms or keys so early, but the friendly receptionist checked us in and even gave us an upgrade to a Seaview room with a complimentary pair of Binoculars that were placed on the window sill. Room 216 looked lke it had undergone a bit of a refurbishment, walls and furniture were painted white. Whilst the room and the bathroom were a little on the snug side, all were "perfectly formed" and contained everything that their web site listed, including the slippers and dressing gown. Really nice touch. The hotel is placed in a perfect location, with it's fairly large carpark, and close proximity to the "action". We could see the too-ing and fro-ing of the large Condor ferries that came into the harbour for journeys to France and the Channel Islands. Our break included breakfast on each morning and was taken in the restaurant on the first floor, all I can say is that it was a most pleasureable experience,in as much as all the windows were looking out onto the water - where you could enjoy the ever changing scenery - oh and eat a really delicious breakfast as well. The staff were very obliging, and friendly. There were pro's and con's but one cancelled the other out so not worth mentioning. We would definintely return to this hotel again, and maybe next time catch a ferry to Jersey or Guernsey. I am a Thistle convert.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flick1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review flick 1954.
As you rightly say, our location is fantastic. There is always something going on when looking out the windows. I know that our kitchen and service staff are delighted with your kind comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews