We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May return one day--But”
Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This Hotel is in an excellent location, the staff were all friendly and competent, food at restaurant also excellent. The big let down is the standard of the rooms, decor is shabby, tiling in bathroom poor, kettle had to be put onto the floor to plug in, not good health and safety. TV very outdated, only four channels available and old type sets.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank June U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 982 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and myself stayed there onfor a week starting 8th August as part of a group. We had a problem checking in as our names were on one list but not on their computer system. So, we had to wait a while before it was sorted out and this involved three room changes. In addition, we could not get a registration form printed out so it was difficult to charge items to our room account even though we had done a credit card pre authorisation. This went on for the entire week and part way through we got a hand written card with our room number and a signature from a reception member. Very trying! On the plus side, the location of the hotel is perfect and the food was superb both for breakfast and dinner. The hotel staff were helpful, friendly and the restaurant staff highly efficient. If you stay there it is worth paying the supplement for a seaview room but make sure that you ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor. Initially, we were allocated a ground floor room (number 10) next to the seating area for drinks outside and near to the bar. We refused this as it would have been too noisy and smokey and there was no privacy. So, be warned! We loved the area, the outlook and it is close to the town centre. We had an excellent view over the harbour and would certainly visit there again and stay at the Thistle.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The hotel was more pricey than a nearby hotel at which I have stayed, but was certainly well worth the additional cost, given the excellent location and outstanding views.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed at the Quay for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We asked(and paid) for a sea view. We were allocated a ground floor room which when you looked past the hedges, bar tables parked cars you managed to glimpse the sea. The room was ok. A frustration was the tv which was old, offered only 4 channels and had a mind of its own, often mute and very temperamental. The car park ripped us off to the tune of £10.00. We later found out its £5 to guests-no offer of a refund!(a flat denial before we even asked). Forget the £15 breakfast, there is a pub along the quay that does a very reasonable £2.99 breakfast. If you are NT members Kingston Lacey is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ModusOperandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

stayed 3 nights in what i remembered to be a nice hotel from 7 or 8 years ago, now looking really tired.They tried to charge £14.95 for breakfast untill i declined at the price then reduced it to £1o.oo, still the food was ok.located in a great position on the edge of the harbour.

Room Tip: double only have the smallest of double size beds....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davekaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I had seen the hotel in May when visiting Poole with a friend and thought it would be a good place to return to with my husband for a short summer break. The position of the hotel is on the quay with yachts berthed just in front and lovely views across the harbour. We had visions of a quiet walk along the quay after our evening meal but this was not to be.

First impressions of the hotel are good; one thinks it is new with up-to-date facilities but unfortunately this is not so. Bathroom facilities were tired: I tried to fill the wash basin with water but it was impossible, the plug was ill fitting and we found we had to continually run the hot water to keep the water level up, otherwise it would just disappear down the plug hole. The lock on the bathroom door was faulty. We put the TV on to watch the early evening news but the old TV kept turning itself off! In their defence, I have to say the hotel staff tried to help with this. Being on the ground floor, we felt unable to keep our window open during the night so was concerned about ventilation as there was no air-conditioning. Also we were even charged a £5 per day parking fee.

However, more was to come with early evening approaching. We suddenly heard a roar of engines and one by one motor bikes started to arrive and park side-by-side on the quay. There must have been hundreds along the quay and down the side road. We then discovered this was a weekly event organised by the Council called the 'Mean Machine.' Even the hotel joined in on the act and had a BBQ on pavement outside. Our quiet evening meal and stroll was not to be.

Breakfast was in the restaurant on the first floor so one could enjoy the splendid views. Have to say the 'help-yourself' breakfast was first rate but we didn't get our pot of tea until well after we had finished our meals. He forgot!

We stayed one night and booked out the next day telling the hotel that we had not been informed of this weekly event and wouldn't have booked in on a Tuesday if we had known. I also said the room was not 'up to scratch' and I have to say the hotel staff handled my complaint well and duly reimbursed us for the second night. Staff said the hotel was due for refurbishment. Too late for us I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Apparently the second floor bedrooms have air-conditioning. I would avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VulcanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This small hotel is sadly needing refurbishment and customer care skills. The bathroom tiles were cracked and the shower curtain needs replacing with a screen. The decor is tired an in need of updating. The TV's could do with being upgraded to flat screens. We were on the ground floor overlooking the car park, unfortunately we could he upgraded as the hotel was fully booked. The window needed some way of being of beng secured so that we coud leave it open. The staff also lacked customer care skills and the restaurant staff needed training in how to serve. The breaskfast was lovely.

Room Tip: ask for a harbour view on the first floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MabelMercian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.5 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range: $63 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing