We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent for overall experience”
Review of Banana Wharf Poole

Banana Wharf Poole
Ranked #17 of 362 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Reading,Berks, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“excellent for overall experience”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A nice contemporary feel to this restaurant.

Food was definitely a step up from the normal chain restaurants, but would not challenge the Michelin stars and the price reflects this position in the market - not cheap but not exorbitant.

Staff were friendly, view over marina definitely adds to the experience, without being breathtaking and there were just enough people in to make it lively without in feeling cramped

So for a nice sunny day in February it made a very pleasant way to end a very pleasant trip to Poole. I am sure it would be a lot busier in season.

We would definitely go back so I hope they cope as well in the high season!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    219
    86
    38
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOvely view”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lovely view good service, witty banter which is a must for us.
Food was average but more than compensated for by the service

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moolie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Seaview and Sunseekers”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great spot for watching the day go by, having a drink or lunch/dinner.
We have been there many times. When the sun is shining sat outside, dreaming of owning one of the large gin palaces. Even the food is good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and excellent quality food”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were greeted by very friendly staff, they were attentive throughout our meal and always spoke with a smile.

The food was excellent, the veg was cooked to perfection (firm, hot and not full of water), the portion size was very good considering the quality of food. We had a great table overlooking the harbour and all of our party really enjoyed their time at this restaurant.

Another good point were the very clean and well maintained loo's (always a good place to check for attention to detail!).

Some places charge extra for location, ingredients or kudos but you get all three here. It's not the cheapest but you get what you pay for and that always makes me feel that you get value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_raff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“xmas dinner”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had our company xmas dinner here. There was around 40 of us. The restaurant over looks Poole Quay and is very nice modern feel about it. The food was OK. The service was not so good. My partner was served 20 minutes before me. Everyone on the table was eating at different times. The dish of veg that we had to share had gone cold by the time my main came out. The waiter said that it was because there was so many of us.

For starter I had Prawn Cocktail. That was OK. Main I had Braised Stake. This was more like beef stew and was served in a bowl. which wasn't bad. The desert was xmas pudding. The was a lump about the size if a digestive and was covered in custard.

If I had paid for the £16.50 meal myself I would feel a bit cheated but as it was on the company I don't feel so bad. Would I go back? Probably not.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andydebaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Wharf Poole also viewed

 

Been to Banana Wharf Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing