We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I have men too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Poole

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Poole
1 review
“Best hotel I have men too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel it is very near to the beach and lots of places to eat and go shopping. At the hotel you can get free coffee's and tea's. Very friendly people. The best person is Abi Gupta and Fay. It is the best hotel ever.i reccomend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nayna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Nayna P

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case.
Our central location is great for exploring the local area and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kinds Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    306
    213
    95
    58
See reviews for
195
303
33
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We needed a hotel for a quick stopover in Poole and this was ideal. The location is ok, the staff were helpful and there is loads of free car parking. The rooms were large with comfortable beds and great air conditioning although slightly noisy but not as noisy as leaving the windows open and hearing the grinding noises from the train tracks close by. Nothing in the way of toiletries but you can borrow an iron and ironing board if needed.

Breakfast was a poor effort but if we were this way again and the price was cheaper we'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear lisa4040

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the positive feedback regarding the rooms, good customer service and our location.
Your comments have been shared with the entire team, and we hope to welcome you back when you are next visiting Poole.

Thank you once again for your kind comments

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've stayed in Holiday Inn's all over the world, and this is the worst one I have stayed in. As a last minute booking it was all that was left in Poole. We paid £125 for a double room, of which you get dated decor, with a smelly musty smell. Stains on the carpet, the smallest TV you have ever seen, no free wi-fi. and a shower that just trickles out with water.
The breakfast was basic and of low quality but adequate. I would suggest they get more than one toasting machine, as there was a long queue to use this in the morning.

The good points about this hotel is the location and the air con. You turned left over the flyover to the quay which is about 5-10 mins walk, or turn right from the hotel and then using the underpass you are in the Dolphin centre in 5 minutes.
Despite it's location I wouldn't be staying here again, you can get much better for your money.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovestotravel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear zippy100

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on Tripadvisor. We highly value all opinions and comments from our guest as this allows us to constantly improve our service.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our location. We have recently had a number of bedrooms refurbished and we hope that when you stay with us again you can enjoy our new rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Poole hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Arrived on a Tuesday night and was informed that some of the menu was not available, had the lamb shank which was well cooked. Wednesday night virtually all of the menu was unavailable had pasta bake which was not good. Other guests were being told to eat at resturants not really that close. Breakfast on Thusday and they had run out of fruit, I understand that small resturants can suffer with a rush of business but this was not the case here. Room was clean and parking good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Gina S

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you weren't satisfied with the service you received whilst staying with us. We take feedback on our hotel very seriously we will be addressing the issues raised with our team at Poole.
We have recently made some changes to our food ordering to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

A very clean hotel with very helpful staff. This hotel is not close to the beach but is very close to the dolphin shopping centre and also close to the keys...where ther is lists of restaurants. This hotel also gives you a extra bedding for a child without any extra cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear willenhall

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on Tripadvisor. We highly value all opinions and comments from our guest as this allows us to constantly improve our service.

We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Good location as only a 10 minutes walk to the sea front. However we asked for a family room as we had two children with us and unfortunately we had no bath in the room and the air conditioner was very noisy. Apart from that it was a good stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, all Express hotels only have showers as standards, apologies if you were mis-informed of this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Given an uncleaned room at first which was disappointing esp when asked was I sure! Clean rooms and corridors. Basic menu in bar but good service. Breakfast readily available even though it was extremely busy. Nice sitting area outside hotel.
Do not recognise reward card holders.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Avril S

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on Tripadvisor. We highly value all opinions and comments from our guest as this allows us to constantly improve our service.

I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel.
Thank you for your comments regarding your check in, all details will be passed on and relevant members of staff dealt with.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poole
Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing