We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr Best's Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Found Management and Staff accomodating from day one, based on an overall stay of 8 weeks.
For someone who had a number of criteria's associated with my general wellbeing, the whole staff & management were very much flexible and willing to assist to my every needs.
Room was very clean every day, resturant food was very good, staff always polite and professional. Felt looked after at all times and safe in the hotel environment.
Would I stay in Holiday Inn Express again? considering this was my first stay with them, most definately if the location is Poole, Dorset, England.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Chris B,


Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel staff and breakfast.

We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 931 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

As a fan of Premier Inns for a quick stop over whenever needed, I thought I would try this hotel by way of a change. We were visiting a friend who lives locally. We booked online and that was all fine. We checked in quite late but again, that was also fine. Good reception staff. The room was fine - clean and quite fresh looking. We turned on the aircon and despite the clunking, it didn't work save for a slight whisper of air coming out. Aircon is a big deal for me (not that it was essential for our stay this time) and I do check for availability of air-conditioning when booking. when there is aircon - I expect it to work! I called reception and they checked the system was working which it apparently was. He said because it had been on the warm setting, it needed 10 or 15 minutes to 'get going'. Strange. Long story short, it never got going so we turned it off and opened the window. If it had been one of those hot sticky nights we get from time to time, I would have wept!

The sleep was fine. The bed is soft so anyone needing a firm mattress - tricky! Shower was fine- towels v small. They have a shampoo/gel attached to the wall which was good.

Now, breakfast. A total free for all. Whether you had paid or not - there was no way of telling. It was a bit like a rabble. My husband naughtily described the attempts at getting breakfast as competing with hyenas! The dining area was a mess, half eaten breakfasts all over the place and hellish noisy. The choice of breakfast is good (if you are lucky enough to get to it) and mid week, maybe the experience would be a little more positive and calm. All self service which is fine. Hot breakfast - scrambled eggs, sausages and beans. Croissants and small Danish pastries, yoghurt, fruit, juice and coffee/ tea.

We checked out and that was quick and efficient. And that's it. We were disappointed and we won't be going back... Poole is great though and very well worth a visit.

Room Tip: I've put a score for swimming pool - there wasn't one, I just can't seem to remove it! S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 726Tania_B_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear 726Tania_B_11,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case.
Please accept my apologies for the disruptions caused due to the heating/air conditioning units, we have recently had an engineer out to look at all issues and the problems are being fixed.
Breakfast is included in the price for all guests and I would like to apologise for the service you received, we have recently hired new staff to cope with ever changing demand.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff were very helpful and welcoming. However the food wait in the restaurant at night is far too long.
We took our granddaughter who is 4 , and she was too tired to go out. There was only one other guest in the restaurant, so we ordered, yet it took about 40 mins for the food to get to us. When it arrived it was very nice.
The room was nicely decorated, but the TV was temperamental. wifi did not work.
In the middle of the night, cold air was blowing on us. We were given a heater.
I would say that this is great value if everything works, and it looked to have been refurbished recently, the pillows and beds are very comfortable.
The management were very fair and gave us a reduction, due to the failures of the room.

Room Tip: Just check the TV and WIFI and heating, before you unpack!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompey1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear pompey1001,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case.
Please accept my apologies for the disruptions caused due to the heating/air conditioning units, we have recently had an engineer out to look at all issues and the problems are being fixed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

With a Holiday Inn Express, you normally know what to expect. At the Express in Poole, they deliver everything you would expect, but do it well. The rooms are clean. The staff are courteous and helpful. The food is well presented, but somewhat unimaginative - but that is the chain's fault, not the hotel. If you do stay here, also go to the Lighthouse Theatre around the corner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Methorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Methorian,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on Tripadvisor. We highly value all opinions and comments from our guest as this allows us to constantly improve our service.

We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and breakfast. We are glad you found our location to be helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at the hotel this weekend and was glad I booked this hotel. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel is in a great location and we enjoyed a nice night at the dogs.

Staff were happy to contact a local takeaway for us, and provided us with plates and cutlery for the room.

Breakfast was nice, my son really enjoyed the pancakes. Not a great range of choice for the hot breakfast but was good overall.

Would certainly choose this hotel again!

Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Gemma H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
Thank you for you comments regarding our staff and breakfast, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We're regular visitors to Poole, but usually in a marina on a boat, so alternative accommodation required now we no longer own a boat!

An opportunity to catch up with friends and visit our favourite fish restaurant meant alternative bed arrangements on a budget.

The HIE is well located, has free on-site parking and is easy walking to the centre of Poole.

Front entrance, reception and toilets are immaculate, buffet breakfast served in the open plan bar area is great VFM and was included in the room rate.

Okay so room was basic, needed a little attention to decor but was very clean and more than acceptable for overnight stay.

Checkout was fast and efficient, altogether a "just what it says on the tin"

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Paula C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on Tripadvisor. We highly value all opinions and comments from our guest as this allows us to constantly improve our service.

We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and breakfast. We are glad you found our location to be helpful.
We have recently had a number of bedrooms refurbished and we hope that when you stay with us again you can enjoy our new rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our 3 night stay at this hotel was excellent. The Reception staff were of a high standard of service, very warm, welcoming and friendly, presentable, efficient to detail with a good knowledge of the area which made eating out so easy to find. The accommodation room was clean, inviting, comfy and of a very high standard. The breakfast was excellent with a variety of everything! The breakfast staff although rushed off their feet, always gave a smile and were quick to help if things were needed... (the scrambled eggs were so nice it took a while to wait for more!) (but not as long as you waited in some restaurants for service!) I have already recommended this hotel to family, friends and work mates as our stay was so pleasurable. We will defiantly be back soon as the break from London and change of air and pace did both my wife and I a world of good...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Peter S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.4 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
982 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $61 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing