We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under staffed and un finished”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
dorking
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Under staffed and un finished”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Staff were very helpful but the hotel was very very understaffed

We stayed in a refurbished room on the 3rd floor and we apparantly were the first guests.
Unfortunately we had a number of problems
TV was not working
There was NO seating in the room at all, apparently they were not expecting the delivery of
sofas until end of January
The room was cold as the A/C was not working correctly so we had to get an extra duvet
We waited 40 mins for a pizza in the restaurant and we were the only people seated
The lift doors did not always open
Breakfast is minimalist with little choice

The staff were extremely helpful but at times seemed to be overwhelmed as they were so short staffed.

I am planning a series of business workshops in the West Country early in 2013 and I will not now
be considering this hotel as they would not be able to cope with a large number of visitors as they are currently set up.

We arrived on the first day at 2.00 but room was another hour before it was serviced
Room was not serviced at all next day until 3.30

Very disappointing three nights

Dr Glenn Wylie

Room Tip: not a refurbished one if you want to sit down and watch TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Glenn W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you weren't satisfied with the service you received whilst staying with us. We take feedback on our hotel very seriously we will be addressing the issues raised with our team at Poole.

Unfortunately we are experiencing some staff shortages at the moment and our in the process of recruiting new members of the team, i apologise if you felt this effected your stay.

All refurbished rooms are to be reviewed again.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    315
    225
    99
    59
See reviews for
201
316
35
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on ternt
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had a few days here recently. Check in was quick and easy. Room was clean and comfortable but could do with a little extra lighting. Bed was comfortable with either hard or soft pillows although there seemed little difference. On arriving we found that both the ground and third floors were being renovated but this was never communicated to us. There was some noise from hammers and drilling but it was not persistent and caused mininmal disturbance. Our room was over the outside decking area used by smokers and we were woken up on a least 3 nights. It was minus 5c at the time so it must be worse in summer with lighter nights and warmer temperatures. One night it was 2am when we were woken, and I think this is something that should be addressed by the management who we never saw. hotel guests were few in number so breakfast was relaxed and although choice of hot food is limited to scrambled egg," funny" sausages and baked beans, with toast and cereal it was adequate for our needs. Rooms were well maintained by cleaning staff although only 2 tea bags are left for drinks this could be increased to 4 surely for little extra outlay. Reception staff were OK but always seemed more interested in one another than the passing guests. Hotel is located between bus station/ Dolphin shopping centre and Poole Park, and is just a few minutes from the town centre and The Quay so whilst it may seem an odd location it is an ideal spot for accessing all the local amenities. For a break at any time of year this hotel is fine even with temperatures below freezing we had a very enjoyable break

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 2 to 8 on ground floor and 102 to 108 on first floor as these are next to the outside sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wobbler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear wobbler63,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on Tripadvisor. We highly value all opinions and comments from our guest as this allows us to constantly improve our service.

Thank you for your comments and kind words regarding our breakfast, staff and location.

Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed by our renovations, we hope that when you stay with us again you can enjoy our new rooms.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was staying overnight for a nearby function and so all that I needed was a clean room to snooze after the party. In most respects the hotel was adequate for my needs, but its a good thing that I didn't want to lie in, as a banging noise started at 8am nearby on the roof or in an adjacent room. Having had a drink, its often nice to settle the stomach with a good English cooked breakfast; well, forget it here. The only cooked options were some cremated sausages and scrambled egg which was hard to identify as having any eggs in it. I took the dried pastry option as well and the coffee out of a machine. This was frankly the worst breakfast that I've seen served up anywhere in the World. Dorset has wonderful local produce - come on Holiday Inn, get your act together, it doesn't take much effort to get it right.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schulkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Schulkx,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on Tripadvisor. We highly value all opinions and comments from our guest as this allows us to constantly improve our service.

Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast, as we are a Holiday Inn Express we do not offer a full English breakfast, just a continental buffet with a hot option of sausages, beans and scrambled egg. I apologise if you were misinformed of this.

Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed by our renovations, we hope that when you stay with us again you can enjoy our new rooms.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Greeted warmly on check in by a member of staff named George , he pointed us in the direction of our room , when we got to the room it was as you'd expect with a express and quite clean . We then made are way down to the bar where once again George was serving , he supplied us with a map of the centre and gave us great directions to the quay . All in all a very nice stay with some wonderful staff members and i will definitely be returning in the summer .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charper967854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear charper967854,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on Tripadvisor. We highly value all opinions and comments from our guest as this allows us to constantly improve our service.

We really pride ourselves on providing a friendly service and keeping a very clean hotel up to Holiday Inn Express standard and I was pleased to read you found this to be the case.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

First time here, staff and room were fine as was breakfast, typical of other Express hotels I have stayed in.
The location is a bit strange, felt like it was in the middle of a bus park and walking into town after dark was odd too.
In the end as I couldn't find anywhere open to eat so I drove out and got a takeaway.
Parking is good

I have re-booked for next month and will be better prepared now

Room Tip: One end of the hotel is by a railway line so maybe at the other end might be quieter, although I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Newquaygreen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel staff and breakfast.
We have local maps and eating guides available at reception and we are happy to assist you with anything you would like to know regarding the local area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was wary about the hotel after reading the reviews. But our experience was positive, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and the brisk walk to the Quay was pleasant and the choose of eateries is extensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear John P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel cleanliness and staff, we are glad you found our central location helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel is average, location is 5 mins walk from town of you don't get hit by a bus. The room has a tramp sofa in it which needs updating and the shower \ sink are slow to drain, to the point where i wish shower trays came with overflows!! Basic hotel without the trimmings.

BYOB : Bring Your Own Bacon

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siehums22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear siehums22,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
You comments have been passed on and all our rooms are in the process of being refurbished by end of this year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Abi Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,664 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poole
Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing