We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sleep, shame about the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The rooms are adequate & clean with a reasonable bathroom with shower. We stayed one night at either end of a weeks hoiliday & would not choose this again. Although the room was fine the breakfast is abysmal. Even at 7am on sunday morning when breakfast starts, the 'hot' food was only warm at best & consisted of overcooked, congealed scrambled egg, Sausages & solid baked beans. the coffee was sweetened & from a machine as was the orange juice which tasted metallic.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will suffer from traffic noise as the windows are inefficient a t baffling noise...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear scotsgirl42,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. The Holiday Inn Express brand aims to provide just what you need when you are away from home, and whilst your positive comments about the cleanliness are appreciated, you have indicated that there were other aspects of your stay that could have improved.

The specific breakfast quality issues that you refer to are not what the hotel aims to deliver, and it would be of assistance to me if you can email me at gm.@hiexpoole.co.uk your stay date with us in order that I can ascertain those involved and try to improve our performance.

Kind Regards,

Abi Gupta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Poole
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 897 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

One of the few hotels left to offer 'smoking rooms' long may this last at this hotel. Excellent staff, nice little bar. Could do with a more interesting menu. Good location but not the greatest of views from the rooms. Functional, clean, reasonable cost. If the hotel car park is full - ask at reception for a ticket to park in the pay-&-display spaces.

Room Tip: Smoker friendly.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandBAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear AandBAsh,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that the location, smoking rooms and the amenities by the hotel were to your liking, and that you found our complimentary parking arrangements easy to follow.

I was delighted to read that you found our rooms to be very clean and comfortable and I will feed this back to my housekeeper when I meet with her later today. The cleanliness of the hotel is something that the team take great pride in, so thank you for your mention of this. I am not sure how "new" you think we are, but we are over 12 years old, so hopefully it means that we keep it looking clean, fresh and modern.

You will be pleased to hear that all our rooms are in the process of being refurbished by end of this year to Generation 3 Holiday Inn Express.

I have however, taken your point about our menu was not upto your liking, this is something I am looking to improve.

I hope we get the chance to say hello on your next visit Poole.

Kind Regards,

Abi Gupta
gm@hiexpoole.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is well situated and easy to find.Staff friendly and efficient ,our room was perhaps showing signs of wear but not enough to be a problem,the bathroom clean and the water hot.Our bed had plenty of pillows but was way too soft for our taste.
The bar was lacking in a bit of choice and was expensive although there are plenty of bars in town.The breakfast selection was good although no sign of hash browns mentioned by other reviewers.
We have family commitments in the Poole area and will be happy to stay here in future.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast. We are glad you found our staff helpful and friendly.
All of our rooms are in the process of being refurbished and all beds replaced and we hope that when you stay with us again you can enjoy our new rooms.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Me and my father stayed here as we were going to a birthday party in Bournemouth and the Premier Inn was fully booked...... what an error!!!!!.....Stained Carpets... Holes in the curtains...Wallpaper peeling off the walls....AND i came home with flee bites!!!! We never even bothered with breakfast after seeing the state of the room, I should of complained but i didnt want the stress i wanted to enjoy my weekend. Lots of my family live in this area i will be spreading the word to AVOID!

Room Tip: Just Dont!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachelcmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you weren't satisfied with the service you received whilst staying with us. We take feedback on our hotel very seriously we will be addressing the issues raised with our team at Poole.
Please be aware that all our rooms are in the process of being refurbished and we hope you consider us when you return to Poole in the future.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

we booked this hotel with ihg employee rate. we had read very bad reviews on tripadvisor the gm's reply to each of the comment seemed like they didnt care much what people thought of the place. and i was kind of worried what we might end up in. some things were nice like the location from the coach station and the old town was close. i liked the exterior garden sitting area. the hotel from outside looked quite decent. but inside the welcome was quite sad, the front desk staff all look a bit weary and bored to be working there. there was one particular staff who seemed like she walked out of the adams family. i dont mean to be rude or harsh, i work in front desk myself and as a customer service representative i know how important it is to look presentable and pleasant. the room was fine. the furnitures were a bit work out and the carpet was dirty. and the bathroom could do with a deeper clean. i could see hair around the door stopper. and the fact that there isnt any shower curtain meant the bath door was damned and stained with the water from the shower. the food from the bar was horrible. i know its all frozen and reheated food, wetherspoon does the same aswell. atleast try to make it look decent. breakfast was a bit better, more options than normal hi expresses. we had a bit of a mixed feeling about the place. the place is quite old and does need some servicing work done,badly. regardless of who their clientèle is.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarhanaShaanApon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear FarhanaShaanApon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on the stay you had with us. My apologies that your time with us was no as good as it could have been and not what we seek to provide for our guests, as you yourself had alluded to.

All our rooms in the process of being refurbished from November 2012 as Generation 3 Holiday Inn Express, Please could I ask if you can email me directly to gm@hiexpoole.co.uk in order that I may get some more detailed information on your stay and establish those team members who did not deliver the level of service that we look to provide.

Kind Regards,

Abi Gupta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent, helpful staff. Rooms clean and comfortable. Poor choice of food in restaurant if you are staying more than a night, although to be fair there are plenty of local eateries nearby but being a single female traveller I didn't want to go wandering round the outskirts of Poole by myself? The first night the room was right next to the railway and the fly over which was noisy. Second night I was facing the rear car park and slept really well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the rear car park away from the railway line
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebStNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, we are glad you had a good stay with us and found our rooms clean and comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Due to a late arrival in Poole on the ferry from Guernsey (which turned into a very very late arrival) I wanted somewhere to sleep for a few hours before driving north. I used 25,000 Priority Club points to reserve a room (or could have paid £100+.) No recognition of Priority Club status. The hotel is pretty convenient for the port, and was easy to find (by car.) Plenty of car parking spaces. Staff on check-in (at 5am) were friendly and efficient. I was given a note to put inside my windscreen to show I was a hotel resident, and the parking didn't cost anything (this was a friday night/saturday morning.) Room was on the 3rd floor. Decor was modern but cheap. Door of room didn't keep any corridor noise out. Bed was very soft. Bathroom appeared to be clean, but had those horrible wall hanging squeezy bottle's of shower/hand wash if I remember correctly. Breakfast was self service and basic. I do not consider this hotel to be anything approaching good value, and cancelled a subsequent stay I had booked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evapor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast, parking and location. We are glad you found our staff helpful and efficient.
All of our rooms are in the process of being refurbished and all beds replaced and we hope that when you stay with us again you can enjoy our new rooms.

Kind Regards

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.4 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
935 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,187 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,506 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $97 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing