We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back soon”
Review of Le Bateau

Le Bateau
Ranked #99 of 362 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Le Bateau has been going for 15 years, we have just completed a massive refurbishment throughout in March, a new management team, a new head chef and team and a wood fired traditional pizza oven. That is not to say, we only do pizza’s because we caterer for all tastes and we pride ourselves on best possible quality in all our produce. We also pride ourselves on great customer service with genuinely friendly staff, who are always looking to make your experience the best you can find for miles around. We look forward to your visit and invite you to check out our web site for more details.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back soon”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went for breakfast.... and certainly will come back soon. So glad we found this place. Lovely atmosphere, friendly& welcoming staff. The food was nicely presented, it was hot and so delicious. I couldn't finish mine, this place certainly offers value (and quality) for money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    38
    13
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food is amazing”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

What a great place! To start we had the Nachos to share which was a huge pile of nachos with mozarella cheese piled inbetween the layers and ok the side was a pot of sour cream, home made guacomole and home made salsa (you can tell they were home made, especially the salsa) YUM! with jalepenos on top. Our friends ordered the garlic bread with cheese which came out as an actual garlic bread pizza!! It was huge!! We ordered the wood fired Pizzas for our mains which were cooked perfectly with generous toppings and tasted perfect. I had the Diavolo (hot hot!) and so did our friends and my husband had the Romana. Love wood fired pizzas, they taste so much better than oven cooked. We came away stuffed to the brim and we can't wait to go back. The service was friendly, attentive but not annoying and there was so long waits for the food which was great as we were all starving. This place gets busy as it turns into a bar/club in the evening which can be noisy but great for people watching! Would advise to on a week night if noise annoys you but to be honest you will be so engrossed in your food the noisy bar won't bother you. See you soon La Bateau you little gem! Xxx

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great for large party!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We went to Le Bateau for my brothers birthday. There was a large group for 20 of us.

We had to pre order our food, which was fair enough for such a large party. The food was all really good... My only gripe was that the chicken dish that I ordered wasn't what was served. I didn't mention it at the time so in defence of Le Bateau they had no chance to explain why. But the alternative was really nice. It is also really reasonably priced with 2 courses for £15 or 3 courses for £20.

The place had a really nice vibe and great place to stay on for a few more drinks afterwards.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We go regularly for breakfast and it cannot be beaten - lovely friendly staff and consistently good food and service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality pizza”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

loved the pizzas! good freshly cooked pizzas with lovely staff and all at a good price. kind of looked like a kids club but had a very friendly vibe to the place!
quality!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank matejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bateau also viewed

 

Been to Le Bateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing