We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mo Penfold” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tideway

Tideway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tideway
Ranked #15 of 52 Poole B&B and Inns
Petworth
1 review
“Mo Penfold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Lovely couple made me most welcome excellent accommodation good breakfast, recommend to anyone taking a break in or near Poole easy to find, with views to die for. Really friendly dog . Easy parking. Over all a place I ll use again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
37
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

After multiple visits Hilary, Ken and Lyndon still wish to make our stay enjoyable. Very quiet location with unobstructed beautiful views across Lytchett Bay and we really have seen the deer in the garden. We are already booked to stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D4BBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dollarBH16, Owner at Tideway, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Mo.

Thank you for your most welcome comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We were interested to hear about your dog training days and your company was thoroughly enjoyed by Dollar (the Boxer)

We will be pleased if you come and stay again

best wishes Ken and Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lovely quiet location made this B&B perfect for a short stay to visit family. Provision was made for my elderly mother on the ground floor in a twin bedded room with an ensuite bathroom. Ken and Hilary were very welcoming and kind - we felt we had been welcomed into a warm family home. The double bedroom upstairs was roomy with a huge bathroom. The house was spotlessly clean and breakfasts were generous and delicious. Our hosts did all they could to help and accommodate. The view from the dining room and conservatory was fantastic. A perfect place for a quiet stay with every comfort.

Room Tip: The room upstairs was more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dollarBH16, Owner at Tideway, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we really appreciate them. Hope to see you again soon

Hilary and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Found this place online while searching for a overnight stop in the area. The reviews and picture of a Dollar sold it to us and we were not disappointed! We stayed in the ground floor twin room and, although a little compact, it had everything we needed and the shower is spacious.
The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the views out the back over the wetlands were fantastic, even on a grotty day.
Would definitely recommend for a one or two night stay, the owners are lovely and it's a great, quiet spot to explore lots of what Poole etc has to offer.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aims914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dollarBH16, Owner at Tideway, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again, especially Dollar , who now has a clean bill of health and is back to her usual mischief and she certainly loves having guests.

best wishes
Hilary and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We found this excellent and comfortable B&B. lovely breakfast.good safe area.wild life nearby.away from the noise of main roads.An excellent venue. Would go again. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with anything we wanted to know. A short drive to Poole and Bournemouth . Room was spacious, clean and tidy. No faults really. Could recommend to anyone wishing to get away from the run of the mill travel and holiday rooms. Shower in the room was very spacious, not like a lot of cramped ones you come across. Tea and coffee in the room provided and for the ladies..a hair drier .
Breakfast time seemed quite flexible to suit us which was pleasant as no rush in morning if you wanted to take your time.
The Full English breakfast which was available was excellent and presented well. There was also a superb fruit salad. Coffee was in a Cafetiere and was good, as was the Tea supplied in a Pot..very nice.
Obviously very experienced at keeping people happy and comfortable the hosts were great, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We also discovered that our Hostess was a very talented artist from one or two excellent pictures on the walls which must have been from their extensive travels.
We saw a herd of Dear on the banks of the nearby marsh reeds and had a good look with the aid of binoculars which weren't,t too far away. The view was out to the sea or river area beyond the reeds and was a pleasure to look at during breakfast. A Pheasant was stretching its legs on the back lawn when we arrived, not far from the pool of Coy Carp, which must be a problem to protect from the Herons.
Towels were supplies in the room, as was shower and hair provisions. Bed comfortable and not too soft as so many can be these days with quilt. Light switches were in perfect positions in the bed area as was the power sockets at each side of the bed..perfect for plugging in mobile phone. Wi-Fi was good and easy to access, and was a good speed.
Don't miss the opportunity to try this lovely setting, with good walks close by away from everyday traffic.
Standards here were very high and we cant understand anyone wanting to write a bad review about this place. We felt very much at home. Wished we could have stayed longer.
David and Tina.. Very satisfied customers from Cornwall.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davidsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dollarBH16, Owner at Tideway, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your most welcome report. We are glad you saw the deer and pheasants as they don.t always come to order. |We are so pleased you enjoyed everything about ourselves and Tideway. Hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Hilary and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

On arival Ken & Hilary plus Dollar (the Boxer) were so welcoming it almost seemed we were family. Our room was lovely! every convenience! and the dining room which had panoramic views of the immaculate garden and the "bay" beyond were to die for. We had come to dorset to celebrate my uncle's 80th birthday and our return in the evening was quite late, but as we had our own key there was no problem at all. Ken & Hilary are wonderfull hosts and spent time with us chatting and explaining the area. This is a close family business with their son "the chef" "provided us all with a great "Full English Breakfast. If you are looking for a ffriendly,Professionally run and Beautifully located Guest House, then Please look no further!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnyrabbit1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dollarBH16, Owner at Tideway, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review.

We enjoyed your company again and hope to see you very soon

Hilary and Ken and especially Dollar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for six nights, Ken and Hilary were great hosts and very helpful in all ways. Ken has a DVD which he played on our first morning showing us some attractions. We were down visiting some family but still found the DVD very helpful. The breakfasts were great and the outlook from the breakfast room was lovely. Ken and Hilary would chat whenever we saw them and nothing was to much bother to them. They have a lovely dog called Dollar who loved the attention. We were made to feel like it was our own home.
Will definatily be back to stay there again in the near future. This would have to be the best B&B I or we have stayed in.
Would Highly reccommend to anyone..........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dollarBH16, Owner at Tideway, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for the excellent report. We thoroughly enjoyed your company. Thank you for the photos. They have been included in the presentation. We look forward to meeting you again

Hilary and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.0 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tideway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tideway

Property: Tideway
Address: Tideway Beach Road | Upton, Poole BH16 5NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tideway Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing