We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Shutters Guest House
Ranked #7 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely, comfortable B&B!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at Blue Shutters for 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a triple room as we have a young son, the room was clean and there was plenty of room for all of us. The complimentary toiletteries were very nice, there were tea and coffee facilities which were regularly topped up and overall it was a lovely place to stay. If I had to find one fault with the room it would be the curtains, they are a lovely cream colour but didn't keep out any light so our son was awake very early each morning!
The staff were friendly and helpful, our remote control for the TV was missing and they sorted it out straight away for us.
The breakfast was lovely, the menu is very flexible and we could vary what was on the menu which was great.
Blue Shutters is in a very convenient location, we were able to walk to a variety of restaurants, there is a lovely park nearby and we even managed to walk into Poole Centre (but we did get a taxi back as it was too far for our son to walk both ways)
Overall, I would really recommend this B&B

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samios001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    43
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
76
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S.Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Myself and my wife spent a most enjoyable week in June 2012. Although the weather was a little iffy, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which was convenient to the bus stops and main roads to Poole and Bournemouth. Our room at Blue Shutters was excellent, quiet, warm, and had a nice view of the garden. The breakfast was huge, as a matter of fact, after the first morning having the full english breakfast, we changed to the mini english for the rest of our stay, which was quite sufficient. The room was an on suite facility with tea and coffee making facilities with complimentary biscuits, the sheets were spotless and the double bed extremely comfortable with a nice television to view. The power shower every morning was really refreshing.
Paul and his staff were very pleasant ant helpful at at all times. I would certainly recommend this guesthouse, and the car park was very convenient.
We would stay stay again next time we visit the area.
Many Thanks Paul.

Room Tip: We had room Number 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed prior to catching ferry to Guernsey. Very nice,clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful in producing a map of locality and possible eateries; as we were only bed and breakfast. With early early start(7am) the owner was most accommodating for our breakfast. Would stay again, most definitely.

Room Tip: All appear as good , unless you like to go upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, South Yorks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Myself and a work colleague stayed at the B&B which was booked by our company for us.
We usually stay in Premier Inns and I must say that I had a better nights sleep in Blue Shutters than most Premiers!
The twin room was clean and well presented, and the en-suite was slightly small but clean, with a very good shower!
The down side was the parking at the front, we arrived quite late and had to park our van on the main road, inconvenient as it was full of tools.

All in all two happy guests!
Well done.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adnjord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High wycombe
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Lovely people and well placed to explore although to get to the centre it would really be a taxi ride. Very clean and modern but shower was just a dribble! The only thing I could pick fault with. Would happily go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at the Blue Shutters and it is quite a find! It is perfectly located for our visits to family and friends in Poole and it is the best place we've found in this area. The rooms are clean and modern, the shower is lovely, the breakfast is more than ample, but to top it all the hosts are warm and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us to make our stay enjoyable.
We will certainly be staying here again and we're so glad we've found this little gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMLOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I found Blue Shutters to be very Average considering its Awards. I felt £60.00 per night for a single room was over-priced since the room was small , very tired, in need of refurbishment.
The heating appeared to go off during the evening and there were no Blankets as promised in the guest imformation book. Since the owners do not live in the property but nearby, it wasnt
easy to request anything missing/ not working.. The Heater in the Bathroom didnt work and the Bed was very uncomfortable ( too hard). On the positive side the Breakfast was Brilliant and the owners very polite/friendly. The location is great for touring/shopping with a very convenient bus service outside..but i was dissappointed far too over-priced for what it is....

Room Tip: if you are going to have to pay £60.00 for a single room better to go for a double !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivershannon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
914 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,720 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Shutters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Shutters Guest House

Property: Blue Shutters Guest House
Address: 109 North Road | Parkstone, Poole BH14 0LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian guest house convenient for Sandbanks beaches, bars, restaurants, Poole town / park / quay & ferries, Lighthouse theatre, BIC and shopping centres. Handy for visiting New Forest, Brownsea Island, Weymouth, Lulworth Cove, Swanage / Studland & Jurassic Coast. We offer a range of spacious en-suite accommodation with: TV,DVD player, iPod dock, Refreshment tray. Closest airports - Bournemouth, Southampton. Closest ports - Poole, Southampton. Closest station - Parkstone, Poole. Free off-road parking. Full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Shutters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Shutters Guest House Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing