We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend in Poole” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend in Poole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Spent two nights at the RNLI College in Poole. Good rooms, good restaurant, great breakfast and good sea view from room. Five minutes walk from Poole Quay for boat rides round Poole Harbour and to Brownsea Island and for walks, five minutes to Sandbanks beach. On our last morning had a college tour of lifeboat crew training facilities - including having a go on the lifeboat simulator. Well recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi MadJanet,

Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI College in Poole.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed all the facilities on offer at the College during your two night stay and that you found our great location overlooking Holes Bay to your advantage when exploring the surrounding areas.

The tours are offered to all our supporters staying at the RNLI College and our volunteer tour guides are able to provide a fantastic insight into the history, training and work carried out by the RNLI.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Ewan Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    136
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
125
367
28
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

For my birthday my friends treated my wife and I to a two night stay at the RNLI College in Poole. We arrived on the Sunday to a warm and helpful welcome at reception and then a great view overlooking the habour when we went up to our room. The room was very clean and tidy and made you feel at home straight away. Although using the College as a hotel, there is a feeling that you are part of one of the great British organisations, "the people with the big orange boats" and walking around the College there are many reminders about heroic episodes in the RNLI's near 200 year history and of course the fleet of all weather and inshore lifeboats outside on the water. We used the restaurant and upstairs bar on both nights of our stay with its stunning panoramic view over the harbour and the impressive two sails bridge. The service was very good and friendly and the food was excellent. Whilst there we did the Discovery Tour which was a well worthwhile 2hr experience with our excellent guide Judith, highly recommended that you do this as part of your stay but best to book before your stay. We had a nice walk around the quay at Poole and also a boat trip to and around Brownsea Island. Our stay was a wonderful experience, for which we thank everyone at the RNLI College, and something that we will definitely do again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi Gareth,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your gracious comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI College.

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday treat with us and that our friendly staff went out of their way to make your stay with us so special.

Our volunteer tour guides provide a fantastic insight into the history, training and work of RNLI and as you found out, the tours are offered to all our supporters staying at RNLI College which are both highly recommended and insightful.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Ewan Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Don't be put off by the name college,this is an excellent good value quality hotel . Very clean rooms which apparently all look out over the Solent so it doesn't mater which room you are in.

Very helpful and friendly staff, especially at reception . The self service breakfast has a good choice with the restaurant having lovely views watching the boats go by.
Its an easy 5/10 min stroll into the high street and shopping centre and plenty of good places to eat within walking distance. I would recommend the Old Quay side for pubs and restaurants rather than the high street. In all highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar and have the same great view so it doesn't mater which room you are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi Keston,

Thank you for taking the time to review the RNLI College with tripadvisor.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Ewan Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge Wiltshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Excellent two night stay, everything was very clean and comfortable, friendly staff and all very tidy, we will be back. Room tip, take advantage of the free discovery tour included in your room rate, brilliant. Top spot on Tripadvisor says it all. handy for Poole old town.

Room Tip: If free try the disabled bedrooms near the lifts. Large wet room/walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vexillologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

When I booked the RNLI College to stay in I wasn't sure the 'all rooms harbour views' was true, so I didn't tell anyone where we were staying but how wrong was I ! The View from the room was amazing, the view of the harbour was so peaceful, the room was very spacious and very clean - it was like a top boutique hotel. All staff members we spoke to were very friendly and the whole atmosphere was very relaxed. Nice to sit on the balcony with a beverage over looking over the harbour. Walkable distant to and from the town which was an added bonus. The only downside was the cost of alcoholic drinks as seemed very expensive compared to other places in the area. Other than the cost of drinks a well deserved 5 star stay. Will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Extremely comfortable, with a nice sea view and a really excellent restaurant. Clean, well maintained. Professional staff. A bit of trouble with my check out as it was early in the morning and my card was not accepted.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filopatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the RNLI College on a Friday night back in February 2014 and we have no complaints.
The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming.
The room was clean and spacious and had everything we needed.
We had a lovely view of the harbour and the twin sails bridge.
We didn’t eat in the restaurant but we did have a few drinks in the bar and it was lovely to look out across Poole Harbour at night.
The breakfast was good – there was a large variety of things available – cereals, cooked breakfast, etc...
We had a tour of the college on the Saturday which was very interesting and the tour guides were fantastic – I would recommend the tour to anyone even if you don’t stay at the hotel.
We don’t drive so we were worried about the college being quite a long walk but it really isn’t far from the Quay, the rail station or the bus station.
If are considering staying at the college please do because not only you will enjoy it you will be helping a fantastic charity – the RNLI do some amazing work.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annmariel_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Property: RNLI College
Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing