We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay ~ Unbeatable”
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed Two Nights 13th March 2014 ~Warm Welcome at RNLI College ~ Large Bedroom with Fabulous Views ~ Every Facility One could Ask for - Great Location ~ Evening Meal delicious ~ Breakfast more than Adequate ~ Happy & Attentive Helpful Staff ~ Excellent Unbeatable Value -
V Highly Recommended ~ Anyone considering Staying in Poole you will Not be Disappointed -
Congratulations to ALL @ RNLI College you run a Superior Establishment ~
Many Many Thanks ~~~ Looking Forward to Another Visit when possible

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acacetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi acacetus

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review with tripadvisor following your two night stay with us at RNLI College. Your kind comments are appreciated.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 842 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were made very welcome at the RNLI College. The rooms are spacious and well furnished, and very clean. The view over the harbour was lovely and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The tour of the training centre was fascinating with knowledgeable guides who were more than willing to answer any questions. The highlight is the simulator which feels just like being in a real lifeboat, very exciting !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the harbour, so a good view is had by all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandevine10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Jandevine10

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor, we appreciate your very kind comments.

Our volunteer tour guides provide a fantastic insight into the history, training and work of RNLI. The simulator is a vital part of the Sea Survival Centre, providing world class training for our volunteer lifeboat crews, lifeguards and flood rescue teams. The tours are offered to all our supporters staying at RNLI College.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel must surely have the best views in Poole. Part of the RNLI headquarters but run as an hotel, using rooms not needed for delegates attending training, every single bedroom has magnificent views across the boats in Poole harbour. Each room is spacious, clean with a large desk against the window overlooking the view and one of the most comfortable double beds ever. Not the cheapest deal around, and sometimes full due to the training of lifeboat crews they do using many of the available rooms, but worth it. Food is okay rather than exceptional, but you sit in the bar in the evening taking in the view and chatting to other guests and course delegates, most of whom are volunteer lifeboat crews from around the country.

Room Tip: Thy are all great - and all have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi David F

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

The purpose of RNLI College is to provide world class trainig to our volunteer lifeboat crews, lifeguards and flood rescue teams. Spare capacity is sold to our supporters and includes accommodation, conference and meeting space, events and our bar and restaurant.

Every £ spent at RNLI College helps support saving lives at sea. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A great place to stay with comfortable rooms that have a nice view of the Holes Bay. The food and drink were good and all the staff were happy to help.
Highly recommended for a weekend in Poole within easy reach of the centre of town. The tour of the RNLI training centre is very interesting and should not be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi 2SteveP

Thank you for reviewing RNLI College with tripadvisor. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and we are delighted you group had a great weekend with us in Poole.

Thank you for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed one night here whilst on our cycling trip from Portsmouth. The staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are lovely and have an amazing view of the harbour, the bar also over looks the harbour and the breakfast is awesome! What more could you want?! I wouldn't stay anywhere else now having stayed here, well done RNLI you have done everything right. Thank you for a lovely stay. Hopefully we will be back soon.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carlyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Carly H

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review with tripadvisor. Portsmouth to Poole is quite a cycle ride!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at the College last week, our second visit, after having a wonderful time a couple of years back.

Friends were staying in Poole as well and, having praised the accommodation and food so much, we invited them to join us for dinner. The first course arrived, was eaten and cleared away, and there seemed to be a bit of a wait for the main course but we were chatting and catching up with news, so did not notice the time, when we were offered desserts! We informed the waitress we were still waiting for our main course, which surprised her, but the food duly followed albeit the meat was somewhat tough. Obviously there had been some malfunction in the kitchen.

I would like to comment on the menu itself.....the description is not precise enough. Three of us ordered what was described as 'Lamb with Mashed Potatoes.' We assumed there were no vegetables so ordered three side dishes of mixed vegetables but, when the food was served, there were vegetables on the dish already, so we were awash with extra food which we could not eat and, therefore, a waste. If the menu could be more precise or the waitress could have informed us, we would not have wasted food or money ordering more. Staff were very apologetic for the long delay.

That was the only downside. The breakfast was good as was accommodation and staff efficiency, manner and politeness.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VulcanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi VulvanLondon

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Please accept our apologies for the mix up with dinner. We have introduced new menus from this week.

Thank you for choosing to stay with and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Around 70 of us arrived at the college this weekend and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The rooms are comfortable with great views over the harbor, the bar prices are very low, the food is very good for reasonable money and the staff were cheerful and attentive. We had an evening meal which was as good as any wedding breakfast in our own dining room with our own bar. There were no complaints from any of our members and every last person said they would be back. Thank you to everyone who works or volunteers at the RNLI. Especially the tour guides who showed us around all the facilities.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical with sea views and fantastic beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Jean S

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor on behalf of your group from Jensen owners. Your very kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Thank you for holding your weekend event with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

We look forward to welcoming you all back!

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $113 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing