We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch”
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

we had a lovely lunch. very welcoming staff and restaurant and cafe bar are very comfortable, nice vista even in the rain, a great reason to support a great charity, good value, nice atmosphere, you have to go there! :-)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi Geoffrey S

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College following you lunch with us. You kind comments and recommendation is really appreciated.

Thank you for supporting RNLI. Every £ spent with us helps support saving lives at Sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 843 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've stayed at the College several times now and have been very impressed on each occasion. As the home of RNLI training, the College is both a functional training facility for RNLI volunteers and a wonderful affordable night's accommodation. That you're contributing to a prestigious and reputable organisation at the same time is a wonderful incentive.

With each room having a view over Holes Bay, you're guaranteed a feeling of space and peace with the room's facilities everything you could need. Spacious bedroom and bathroom facilities provide a luxurious charm and allow you to settle and relax very easily either as a specific break or as a temporary base to get ready before heading into Poole or Bournemouth for a meal or activity.

Riggers and Slipway provide delicious locally sourced food and the breakfast in Riggers has its own spectacular reputation for setting you up for a good day through a traditional Full English or lighter continental style options.

Definitely book on to the College Discovery Tour as they are very popular and for residents of the College are free of charge. If you have guests in the area they too are welcome to participate at a small costs and allow for a behind-the-scenes view of how the RNLI uses the College for its primary function of training and also in its aim to generate additional funds to support the training.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g190727-d2385287-Reviews-RNLI_College_Discovery_Tour-Poole_Dorset_England.html

I'll definitely be staying here again and would encourage you to do the same. It's something a bit different, is of the highest quality and its supporting a very valuable service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim_corke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi Tim_Corke

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your kind comments. Thank you for also mentioning RNLI College tours. As you state these provide a wonderful insight into the history, working and training of our Lifeboat Crews, Lifeguards and Flood Rescue Teams. The College Tours are included as part of your stay and hosted by our fantastic volunteer tour guides.

Tim, thank you for continuing to support RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The rooms with nicely equipped with the items you would need while you are staying here: TV, coffee/tea pot, iron, ironing board, etc. They have an onsite restaurant with a nice breakfast buffet, they also serve lunch and dinner, but the menu didnt seem like something that I wanted. Instead, I would recommend Lakeside Fish Market that is close by.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christophe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi Christophe F

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor, we really appreciate your kind comments and hope you had a great journey home.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed at the RNLI College last weekend as attending a dinner dance held there – to be honest expectations weren’t high. I’m delighted to have been so wrong. The room was large and comfortable (especially the bed) and had all the amenities of the much higher priced 4* hotel in Poole we’d stayed in the night before. The room and bathroom were a good size, especially when compared to the night before. The view was superb, would have been very easy to sit in the room and stare out the window all day. All rooms have a harbour view.
The lunch, function dinner and breakfast we had there were excellent – very good food. The service was friendly and helpful and although breakfast was self-service everything was fresh and constantly being replaced.
The tour of the training college on the Sunday was an eye-opener, the amount of work the volunteers put into training to help those of us on the water or beaches.
Will certainly stay again if in Poole and would highly recommend it for a meal or afternoon tea if in Poole – the floor to ceiling windows in the circular restaurant and bar mean you are always guaranteed a great view.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hi SandPO9

Thank you very much for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your very kind comments and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are a working college, with our main purpose training Lifeboat Crews, Lifeguards and Flood Rescue teams. We hope to extend our own brand of 'home from home' hospitality to all our supporters who make use of our spare capacity.

Thank you for staying with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very happy to have stayed with the kids here. Inter joining rooms meant no need to share a room. The view was superb over the harbour and the tour of the facilities, simulator and training pool was brilliant (and included in the room cost). Breakfast was "substantial". The staff could not have been more helpful. Best of all, the money was going to a really good cause instead of just to a hotel chain. Def will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_TwigMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hi Mr_Twigman

Thank you very much for your lovely review with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us with your family.

Our volunteer guides offer an really interesting insight into the RNLI. Thank you for mentioning the simulator and Sea Survival Centre. These are vital in training lifeboat crew.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

15 of us went to celebrate a 65th birthday. The food was excellent, 3 of us had steak and all said it was the best we had ever had. I like mine really well done( cremated) some say. It was cooked just as I liked it and still remaind lovely and moist. The staff were excellent. Everything was reasonable priced, including the drinks. Enjoyed it so much we are all going to go for Sunday lunch.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Josie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi Josie K

Thank you very much for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have just came back from Poole where we were celebrating our friend's birthday. The staff were accommodating and very polite. The facilities are lovely too. The room was spacious, there was an ironing board and an iron, which we needed. We really liked the decor in the rooms, very maritime and the room looks like a cabin.
We were told the rooms are being redone too, which they do not need as the place is fresh, clean and it has a lovely seaside-y feel to it.
They gave us a special price for block booking for the party. The breakfast was included and it was fresh and plentiful.
Best thing is that 100% of the takings go to the charity.

Room Tip: Any room is great but the views from the third floor are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeloygut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hi aeloygut

Thank you very much for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your friends birthday celebrations and your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $113 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing