We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good stay”
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spent two nights at the RNLI COLLEGE, When I first found out where we staying I was sceptical. But from our arrival the stay was superb. Our room had fantastic views across the Harbour, and spending time in the bar and on the balcony we afforded even better views.. Breakfast was as good as you get in a Hilton, Marriott etc A REAL GEM. don't be put off by the name

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mafbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi Maybe

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are really grateful for your kind review.

We are a working College, but quite unique. We are not the usual 'hotel brand' but home of RNLI training for our fantactic Lifeboat Crews, Lifeguards and Flood rescue teams. We do try and offer our volunteers a real 'home from home' and want to extend this individual level of hospitality to all of our supporters.

Every £ spent with us helps support RNLI saving life at sea. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 843 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Not sure where the average price of around £50 comes from, we paid £105 per night! For an extra £65 you can add Pack A - flowers, chocolates, champagne and an RNLI Bear. Flowers were beautiful and the rest of the pack very good - well worth the money paid!

The accommodation was clean and rooms typical of any good standard hotel. Breakfast was good and a decent choice available. The Slipway Bar was pleasant enough but staff were very very slow to clear and wipe down tables. Receptionists did what they had to do but there was no sparkle - the book you in and point you to your room and no more!

Overall good to support the RNLI but really not sure where the top Trip Advisor status comes from unless the other hotels in Poole are sub standard or RNLI course attendees are boosting ratings - at best this place is good.

Would we return again - yes as we'd be happy to support the RNLI.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi Claire N

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are a working College who's main purpose is training for our volunteer Lifeboat Crews, Lifeguards and Flood rescue teams. I'm sorry to read that your reception on arrival was not as welcoming or warm as we strive to offer all our volunteers and supporters.

We do not generate the average price mentioned. We sell our spare capacity at rates we believe offer great value to our supporters. Poole has very high demand in August with rates often over £180 - £200. We also include breakfast.

Our number 1 tripadvisor rating reflects how our supporters feel about us. We do not claim to be the best hotel in Poole - others offer higher levels of luxury. We are not an hotel brand or claim to offer 4 / 5 star accommodation. We do provide world class training to equip our volunteers.

We are unique in our offer and every £ spent helps save lives at sea. Our volunteers offer an insight into the history, work and purpose of RNLI College, including our Sea Survival centre.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you like your RNLI bear!

Kind Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here on the strength of the reviews. The room was quite spacious although but functional. Eg small tv on the desk near the window not fixed to the wall. Bathroom was clean bu again little more than functional. We turned up at 1.30 pm and was asked to return at 2when we could check in. Never had this happen before, usually if we turn up a bit early and the room is ready we can check in. Coffee machine was broken when we went to spend the time in the cafe.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank flossy-t-cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi Flossy-t-cake

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with tripadvisor.

We are a working college and home to RNLI training. We offer our spare capacity to supporters and our rates ofer great value locally.

I am sorry the coffee machine was not working in the cafe bar, this was due to a broken part and filter coffee was available as an alternative.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent a week in this wonderful college/hotel and were very impressed. We made a last minute booking(didn't know anything about the place until I looked on TripAdvisor for places to stay in Poole!). The staff were always happy to help and always greeted us with a smile and a chat. The food was great, bed very comfortable, everywhere was spotless ( except perhaps some of the windows/ portholes) and from our viewpoint - a vista to die for. Our room was on the third floor overlooking Holes Bay, but then all the bedrooms have a similar view. It is a working college where our lifeboat crews train for their often very difficult voluntary jobs, and we had the privilege of being able to see them manning the training lifeboats which are moored immediately outside! There was always something going on to watch on the bay, not least the strange "sail bridge" raising and lowering to accommodate both the yachts and traffic. This was a different experience for us and a most enjoyable one. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view but obviously the higher the floor, the further you can see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi Lyn C

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review with tripadvisor. We are delighted that you found out about us via tripadvisor and completed your stay by sharing your experience with other. @ 100,000+ people look at us a year on tripadvisor and good review ensure we fill our spare capacity, generating addiotnal funds to help RNLI save lives at sea.

Thank you, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Adequate accomodation, if you need to stay in the middle of Poole.
A view of Poole harbour. Stay amongst a working college, with a slightly institutionalised feel.
As a whole, the place can be described as 'Functional'.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi Ed B

Thank you for your review with tripadvisor.

We are a working College and i hope you had the opportunity to enjoy our volunteer guided tour of the College, Sea Survival Centre and lifeboat simulator. RNLI College is unique and we strive to ensure all of our supporters enjoy their stay at some great value rates.

Thank you for supporting RNLI.

Kind Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've lost count of the number of times my wife has used the word 'amazing' to describe our stay. It's faultless, but even that doesn't do it justice. I don't think we've been more impressed by a hotel; certainly, neither of us can remember staying anywhere that comes close to matching the RNLI College's standards of cleanliness. It's easy to find (you simply cannot miss it because it is such a distinctive building - almost iconic), it's located within easy walking distance of most of Poole's major attractions (including the speedway), and the views are so good that you won't even bother with the TV. As internet bargain hunters we're usually looking at paying less than this cost us, however, in future, whenever I visit Poole, I am going to be treating myself to this amazing hotel. Also, you can't put a price on knowing that every penny you spend here helps to support the Royal National Lifeboat Institution.

Room Tip: How to choose a good room? Stay here. End of story!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi bill R

Thank you for such a generous review with tripadvisor. We are very grateful for your kind feedback and hope you choose to stay with us again soon!

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights with my elderly mother and the RNLI College was perfect. We had booked a 90 minute tour of the College for our arrival (free to guests, approx £7 for non residents) It was fascinating and Judith, our Volunteer Guide, immediately realised that my 88 year old mother might have trouble with the stairs. She enlisted the help of a colleague, Gerald, who arranged to meet us after the first hour and he showed my mother a video of how they train the lifeboat crew and generally made her feel special. It meant that my husband and I didn't feel guilty continuing the tour. The rooms were spacious and spotless with amazing views. Breakfast was very satisfying and there was plenty of choice at the evening meal which was delicious on both nights. It is within easy walking distance of the town for the able bodied but Reception were able to book a taxi for us so that we could take a boat trip to Brownsea Island and round the harbour. If you are travelling with an elderly relative, it is worth noting that free guided electric buggy trips are available on Brownsea Island but you need to book - we did it from Poole Quay by ringing the number given when we booked the boat.
There is always something to see from the RNLI College and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hi Margaret E

Thank you for taking thge time to review RNLI College on tripadvisor.

We appreciate your kind support, helping RNLI saving lives at sea.

We hope to welcome you back....soon!

Kind Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range: $113 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing