We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RNLI College
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveler rating
711
167
27
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
711
167
27
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriggers restauranttwin sails bridgelifeboat simulatorslipway bardiscovery tourtraining facilitiesworthy causefree tourholes baypoole harbourgreat place to staysecure parkingharbour viewfantastic viewsfunction roombuffet stylestayed for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
728 - 733 of 911 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The lifeboat college never fails to live up to standards. Standards that the RNLI has become infamous for. The food is always good, I never go home hungry, staff are always friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable which you expect from an organisation that looks after its volunteers.

First class and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Who_KnowsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi WhoknowsIreland

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with triapdvisor.

From your review I'm assuming you are with one of our Crews on the Irish coast? The review we get from our Lifeboat Crew are the most special to us as you are the reason we are here!

As the home of RNLI training we appreciate the fanastic work of our crews and aspire to make you feel as much at home as possible.

Thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you back.

Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed here overnight en route to guernsey & I booked a room having searched for hotels & reviews on trip advisor. The reception team were very quick to respond to my enquiry & the booking process was painless as a result. Please let them know soonest if you are bringing a vehicle as parking is limited, but at least free!
We used a combo of using sat nav & road signs & found the college with no problems. It is well located just off the roundabout of the main Poole road to the ferry terminal, which itself, is only a few mins away (walking distance for those who may be foot passengers). We noticed an Asda supermarket just by the college too if you need any provisions.
Check in @ reception was nice & smooth & messages had been relayed from the original booking onwards (which sometimes does not happen!). The reception is manned 24 hrs.
Our room was on the second floor (lift available next to the stairs) & had a stunning view across the harbour & included overlooking part of the college building too - it is a fantastic looking building! I understand all rooms have views of the harbour which must be a great selling point - we were also fortunate not to experience any noise disturbance either. The room was very nicely laid out & clean, light & airy. There are plenty of electric sockets too, along with a tv, alarm clock, ironing board & iron & easy chair. There is also an ample sized built in desk & chair, along with tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities. The bathroom consisted of a adjustable shower over the bath, wc & sink. Plenty of worktop space & a heated towel rail & spare towels. If you've forgotten your toiletries, don't panic - there is shower gel, bath gel & hand soap provided.
We chose to eat @ the Riggers restaurant which was a good decision in our view - reservations not needed. We had a lovely 3 course meal which was really nicely cooked & served & the staff were most attentive throughout. The dining atmosphere was nice & chilled - music on in the background but at a volume where you could still hold a conversation across the table! The restaurant has more lovely views of the harbour. I am not sure if you can only eat here if you are staying at the hotel - just check with reception, but I'd certainly consider coming back to the restaurant even if I wasn't a guest otherwise. Our rate included breakfast, but we knew when booking we would likely miss it due to our ferry crossing, but reception instead offered to make us up a snack box to take with us, which was great & very accommodating. Thank you!
Upstairs from the restaurant is the bar, so more harbour views await! We did not stop @ the bar on this visit as it was getting late for us prior to our early morning ferry crossing & we needed some sleep!
Just by reception is a small gift shop, & there is also a fitness suite available to use - maybe next time! Free wi-fi is provided - reception will give you the access codes at check in.
This is a working/training college & around the facility you can see the various training rooms, which courses are currently taking place, etc which I think is important to show the work going on & the reason why the college exists. They also hold daily tours (I think) around the college for £6.50 to show the training provided etc. It is also good to know that monies go back into the RNLI so a case of seeing what it goes towards. Being a sailor myself, I found the facility to be very calming, very welcoming & a great place of shelter.
I would rate this facility very highly & definitely recommend for others to come & experience the warm welcome, atmosphere & service for themselves - both for those looking to visit the local area as well as being a super stopover for the ferry.

Room Tip: All rooms have harbour views so you should not be disappointed!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frodo848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi FRODO848

Thank your very much for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us at RNLI College. We are delighted you found us and really appreciate you generous comments.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea. We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our booking for the Easter Weekend was made at the last minute – however my telephone enquiry was dealt with in a most professional and pleasant manner ensuring us we had a double ensuite room with full Buffet Breakfast for just £79.00 inclusive.

On arrival the college is a distinctive building easily seen on the West Quay area. Plenty of free parking, a quick simple check-in with a cheerful receptionist and off to our room. A very comfortable well equipped double room & ensuite facilities with a great outlook over the harbour … who could want for more!

Breakfast next morning was a simple but enjoyable buffet style but with plenty of choice and free teas & coffee’s.

One thing we noticed in particular about our stay here … ALL staff we met or even just passed on the stairs were cheerful with a genuine welcoming smile. A great over night stay at this interesting location means I am very happy to strongly recommend the RNLI College to everyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you look out for the "Sail Bridge" from your bedroom window!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aoitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi aiotravels

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor.

Our main purpose is in the provision of world class training for our volunteer Lifeboat Crew, Lifeguards and Flood Rescue Teams. We make use of any spare capacity to raise additional funs to support the work of the RNLI. Every £ spent with us helps support saving lives at sea.

I am delighted you mentioned the friendliness of the team - we want to try and reflect the same level of personal 'home from home' hospitality we aspire to offer of crews to our valued supporters.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

kind Reagrds

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Can't praise this place highly enough.
Just returned from a short Easter break with friends and we were so impressed with the quality of the rooms and the efficient and friendly service.
If you're looking to stay in this area, look no further than this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0ring0ldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi

I'm not sure how to address you, but thought better of using your tripadvisor tag!!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review RNLI College - we really appreciate your kind comments and support for RNLI.

We look forward to welcoming you back before too long!

Kind Regards

Richard Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a lovely hotel ! With welcoming reception staff, the tone was set for a great weekend from the moment we entered the hotel. The room was bright, clean and a lot larger than some other hotels we've stayed in . . . and then we looked out of the window for a lovely view of Poole harbour! We booked dinner in the Riggers Restaurant and the attentive staff ensured we had a lovely time, with good food. The food was very affordable, as was the extensive wine list. A good night's sleep was had in a very comfortable bed, followed by a great selection of dishes at breakfast (all included). Overall I would recommend this hotel to all. I know it's called a College, but the quality of the hotel is testament to the endeavours of our RNLI crews who are trained there and rightly deserve good accomodation and food for all they do for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view, so don't worry about not getting a view!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DB-EastMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi BD-Eastmids

Thank you very much for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. As the home of RNLI Lifeboat crew, Lifeguard and Flood Rescue trainiing we want to offer our supporters the same personal level of 'home from home' hospitality we aspire to deliver for our crews and lifeguards.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI - Every £ spent at RNLI College helps support saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews