We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night out”

Alcatraz Caffe Poole
Reserve with OpenTable
Alcatraz Caffe Poole is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 362 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Alcatraz is the ideal place for a quick lunch, a business meeting, a night out or even for one of our fantastic coffee's, we specialise in home-made pasta & speciality dishes.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

11 of us seated at the table. All of the food came out together without too long a wait. Authentic cuisine and it tasted amazing.

The atmosphere was great and the service had just the right balance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salsal1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    65
    27
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and friendly staff”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We regularly go to Alcatraz because we think the pizza and pasta are first rate. We certainly don`t feel that the food is overpriced or poor quality - quite the opposite. The staff are friendly and efficient and we always receive a warm welcome.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdf53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Taking the family of 9 out for a celebration can sometimes be a daunting affair, however our visit to this restaurant was so easy we will be back. We visited mid week so obviously things were not as busy as a weekend, some places we have visited mid week have been clearly understaffed causing delays in service, this was not the case here.
The waiting staff were attentive yet not overbearing, we always had full glasses and when the food arrived it came all at once also being good and hot.
One of our group had the Salmon and commented that the chef certainly knew his trade, considering the experience and knowledge involved it was not small praise I assure you. The whole family commented on how good their individual meals were, especially the vegetarians. The menu is varied and well priced for the quality of the food and the setting is relaxed and easygoing, all in all a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordietfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good service”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Visited on a Saturday evening in August as party of 6 for Dad's 70th birthday. Staff looked after us well, service very good and happy for table to be decorated. Food on a par with other Italian chain restaurants but that may have been due to my choice of seafood pasta as others in my party who had fish raved about it. If you are looking for a good night out with relaxed atmosphere this would suit you well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Super”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal here tonight
Very genuine staff friendly top food nice wine very clean restaurant
Will be back here soon
Enough said

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcatraz Caffe Poole also viewed

 

Been to Alcatraz Caffe Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing