We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service without a smile!!”
Review of Harvester

Harvester
Ranked #142 of 362 Restaurants in Poole
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Harvester Poole in Parkstone food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Parkstone, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Branksome, East Howe and Bear Cross, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bad service without a smile!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We went for a family meal on the early bird menu, had to wait a bit at the desk before someone
Came over and then we met her , the waitress , who was so miserable and clearly did not want to be there.
She took our order and we decided to have a cup of tea first , this came and she slammed it on the table and split the tea , but just said , I have to go and see to other customers , leaving me to clean up the mess.
The food was ok, but upon paying we had said we had a voucher to use , but she said we are 5p
Short and cannot use this voucher, so we were forced to buy more , to make up the difference.
The funny thing was , she kept saying "the computer says No" . But was being serious.
Shame harvester don't put the customer first or even second.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this. Harvester Poole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    41
    41
    40
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I visited here in January this year. The food was ok. The salad bar had nearly run out so we were left with the bits. The lady that served us called Sharon was very friendly which helped for the lack of good food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taz2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We were sorry to hear that your visit was a disappointment and appreciate you letting us know. Harvester, Poole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Shockingly bad!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Myself and my partner thought we would try our local Harvester last night for a quick bite to eat. Normally we wouldn't touch Harvester with a barge pole but thought we would give them the benefit of doubt after not visiting for so many years. Well what a massive mistake that was! My partner ordered a 'classic' beef burger only to find when eating it that it was full of chopped up chilli peppers! My partner does not like spicy food and did not feel great to say the least. We told our waiter about it so he took it away, he apologised and said that the manageress would come over and take it off of our bill for us which is fair enough. However she came over and proceeded to explain to me that all of the Harvester burgers are this way and full of chilli peppers and we had to pay for the meal! I mean my god I can only imagine what a child would think of such a burger, and there was absolutely no mention on their menu about chilli in the burgers, if there had of been he would not have ordered it. So we paid and left unhappy never to return to any Harvester nor shall we recommend it to our friends. Also the amount of swearing coming out of the kitchen there was unbearable as were the rest of the people eating in the restaurant, 'chavs' does not cover it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester Poole. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The location of this Harvester could not be better, especially on a wet and windy weekend in January! Sat with a good bottle of wine and good food watching the waves crash against the shore, who could want more?
The staff were friendly and helpful, the food and drinks were very good value, once again, who could want more? Unless you want 'fine dinning', I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fabar00ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester Poole. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“christmas meal”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

now the festivities are over I thought I would write to tell you how disappointed we were with the Christmas meal. We paid quite a bit of money to be served raw carrots uncooked stuffing balls and cold potatoes. We often come to this restaurant and have never had anything so bad! Even the first course was not good with too much fat in the pate jars and shells still on the prawns. We were thinking about making our Christmas meal an annual thing but we certainly wont be going to this restaurant for it!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester Poole. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester also viewed

 

Been to Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing