We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makeover”
Review of Crown Hotel

Crown Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #45 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have stayed here many times.The rooms have recently had a make over.New beds Flat screen TV.The staff are very friendly and welcoming.The one drawback is no en suite facilities.Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.Can be noisy at the back when people are in the smoking are...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxerteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We both ate and stayed here last weekend on a work trip to Poole. Lindsey and Jeff could not do enough for us and have re-ignited our belief that there are really kind people in this world. The food was lovely and the location is ideal for anyone who wants to be in the centre of Poole close to the waterfront. We will definately be staying here again when we next visit the area. Thanks Caron and Jared

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cazza31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Needed a twin room in Poole over one Saturday night. Most hotels in my price range were full, except the Crown - I should have realised this was for a reason. The Crown Hotel is basically a (reasonable) back street pub that does food at lunch time and in the evenings. I didn't eat there so can't rate the food but it seamed very popular. The rooms are in the building next door. The place is dark, damp and shabby. The rooms basic to say the least and smelly. Separate shower and toilet both with damp on the walls and tiles falling off the walls. Overnight the room was too hot with the window closed and too noisy with it open. All-in-all, this place is not worth £25 per person per night and I would avoid it at all costs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKDAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Needing a place to lay my weary head in Poole I looked at various accommodation from the Hotel du Vin to the Premier Inn varying in price from over £200 to £75 a night but the Crown wanted a mere £25- an absolute steal. I arrived with a washing up brush expecting to have to do the chores at this price but amazingly there were no catches. The room was up two very steep flights of stairs but despite the 70's decor was clean and perfectly comfortable. It even had a TV. Not ensuite but a washbasin in the corner provided water for tea and a most generous basket of tea bags, coffee, etc would have lasted me for a month. The hotel is supposed to be haunted and indeed I was woken up by a terrible screaming at 5 a.m. I stumbled to the window to find a fat seagull calling to his mates. Yesterday evening, enjoying a drink in the yard at the back of the hotel Terry the landlord's wife came out with a huge, free tray of sandwiches- delicious. If you want a cheap, no frills hotel bang in the middle of Poole, go to the Crown. I will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Having read a bad review I was a little apprehensive about booking here, I am so glad I wasn't put off. When we arrived mid afternoon and checked in at the bar it immediately felt welcoming and friendly. Locals and bar staff spoke to us like old friends (polite bar staff being a rare commodity these days). We were shown to our room by Mark the Manager and told that the restaurant opened at 6.30p.m. Yes, the rooms are tired and need some TLC, but they were clean and tidy and inexpensive. We had a drink at the outside area at the back of the pub and would have stayed longer but wanted to go into town and to Poole Quay which were only a stones throw away. We had dinner in the restaurant that evening and were blown away by the whole lobster and the baked crab at £12.99 each. What a deal! It's not hard to see why the restaurant was packed on a Tuesday night. We ate there the next night and had an equally good meal of home made Steak & Ale pie. If u want ano frills break in a central location, with fantastic food, and like being made welcome (especially the chatty landlord ) give it a try.
Mr & Mrs P. Guest. West Yorkshire.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Pauline1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

As we were visiting Monkey World in Dorset thought we would stay at a local hotel overnight. My partner said look for a somewhere with a reputation for being haunted - so googled 'haunted hotels, Dorset' and this place came up on a haunted hotels website - but with no reviews, so i was a bit dubious but the picture looked okay. Also had no website of its own so couldn't see any interior shots or details of rates etc.

I should have had some idea of this place when i rang and the phone was eventually answered by someone who told me she was the cleaner, who told me there was no-one there who could help me but that all the rooms were vacant for Saturday night. When i did speak to someone later in the day they confirmed non of the rooms were en-suite rather they all had a shared bathroom - how quaint! My husband was not impressed when i told him.

When we arrived on the saturday there is no parking at the Crown but there is cheap overnight parking in public car park about 3 minute walk away.

The Crown is not a hotel but a pub with some rooms above it. When my husband and I arrived the bar was full of locals, mostly watching sport on big TV and being very loud. The whole place seemed dingy and me and my husband gave each other several sideway glances before deciding we should at least look at the room.

The landlord wasn't immediatly present, so to try to lighten my husbands mood i suggested a pint - which cost £3!! It's not exactly London prices but not far off, talk about seeing us coming! We also felt a bit uncomfortable when the locals attention turned to us, making comments like ' you dont want to stay here it's worse than Fawllty Towers' - I suggested the landlord would probaly not appreciate comments like that, and they fell about laughing.

When he did eventually turn up, the landlord shiftily sidled up to me and whispered ' i'm sorry but the only double bed we have was broken by some guests last night - would you consider twin beds'. Brilliant - this was our chance to escape! I said to my husband i would have a look at the room, just in case we were about to turn our backs on some hidden gems of kooky, kitsch, haunted hotel bedrooms - but no, it was everything i was realistically dreading. As i went up to the room via stairs next to the pub kitchen the smell of deep fat frying wafted up along with me. The carpet on the stairs gave me an indication of what i was to expect - in the room there was too much old furniture and bad furnishings, horrible, tacky and grim.

I handed the key back to the landlord, saying something about needing double bed as we were tall people, told my husband to down his pint and left, quickly. The landlord did offer the room at £25 as not a double bed - but we declined.

The location is good however and The Crown could be a nice place to stay if it was decorated, cleaned properly and had better furniture - and they changed the fryer oil. Until then stay elsewhere there are plenty of othe places in Poole. No idea if it is really haunted or this is just a marketing ploy to get it on a website. Ghosthunters beware!!

We ended up staying at Hotel du Vin up the road, much pricier but in comparison - worth every penny (pound even!).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank pipsy589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank WilliambA5307XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queen Mary Inn
Queen Mary Inn
#26 of 50 in Poole
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Merchant House
The Merchant House
#16 of 50 in Poole
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 23 Market Street, Poole BH15 1NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing