We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!”
Review of Grovefield Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grovefield Manor
Ranked #9 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I were travelling through Poole while visiting from Australia in May 2013. An absolute hidden gem but nothing prepared us for when our host, knowing we had to wake up at 430am to catch the Stonehenge Inner Circle Access got up even earlier to make us breakfast, despite our insistence that it was not fair of him to have to do that at all! Accommodation was well heated, very comfortable and unique. Fast Wi-fi. Many great memories. We will definitely stay again if around the area! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, Owner at Grovefield Manor, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. If an establishment offers bed and breakfast, I do believe that is what should be provided. I am pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and I trust that the remainder of your holiday was very enjoyable. Best wishes, Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    50
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
155
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

You can read many of the reviews on this superb hotel which will tell you about how beautiful and comfortable the rooms and public rooms are,and how great the service is ,and how excellent the breakfasts are.and what a great location it is.and what good value .
They are all perfectly true.This is a truly wonderful find.
But this review is different .it shows you what incredibly kind people Keith and Barbara are.

A few days ago our builder inadvertently locked me out of my house half a mile away from grove field .i had never even passed this hotel before .it was 1145 at night and 2hotels hadn't answered.
I was desperate!!

Keith came down and answered the front door in his boxers(!).I had clearly woken the poor man up but having said they were full he then proceeded himself to make ready a room for me which had been vacated a couple of hours earlier as the guests had left in an emergency.

After a great nights sleep he invited me to breakfast and then only after I insisted,did he accept £20 for the night.
I was bowled over by his kindness .If he goes to theses lengths for a passer by just imagine what he and his wife will do to make your stay a memorable one .

What a total gentleman ,kindness personified. We shall return when overseeing the building works in slightly less stressful circumstances !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, Owner at Grovefield Manor, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you very much Dylan for the review. Reading it makes it sound as though I am somebody special, all I was doing is what I hope somebody would do for me if I was in the same situation. Having made a more formal visit since our 'introductory special offer', you will be aware that there will always be room for you at the inn! My sincere best wishes to Linda and you and I hope the house build continues speedily. Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

the hotel is located near poole in a beautiful area. the house is really amazing and the rooms are wonderful. but the main point is the service ... it's been reaalllly lovely! Thanks for that! We can definetly recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, Owner at Grovefield Manor, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much Dirk for the review. It is always pleasing to read such good reviews and I appreciate the fact that guests spend some of their valuable time to write comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes, Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spent a night here with a group of golfers and was seriously impressed. Beautifully restored Branksome Park manor house at head of a chine and so a short walk through the pine glen to the beach. Each room is very well furnished and the lounge a comfortable retreat for reading or a nap! Evertthing seems fresh and clean. The owner is a convivial chap who takes great pride in the hotel and his cats! I d be by happy to recommend Grovefield Manor to my friends wanting a peaceful break in an exclusive area of sunny Bournemouth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, Manager at Grovefield Manor, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Many, many thanks Howard for your kind review. In a short period of time you showed that it is possible to see and appreciate the location of Grovefield Manor. I am extremely lucky that I really enjoy my job and the best part is meeting and speaking with very interesting people like yourself. My sincere best wishes to you, Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for three wonderful nights at this lovely boutique hotel. Our room was very large and nicely furnished with excellent fittings and a huge bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and the hosts friendly but discreet. Would gladly return again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, Owner at Grovefield Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much Eric, a wonderful review appreciated by all the staff. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again in the future. Our sincere best wishes, Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a lovely, spacious room, with a very comfortable bed, charmingly decorated. Full cooked to order English breakfast, as well as cereals, fruit and yogurt, choices of teas or coffee were included and very good. The hotel is across the rd from a path leading down to Braksome Chine, a gorgeous wide sandy beach with a very nice restaurant.

Room Tip: We loved room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oystertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, Owner at Grovefield Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review. With positive reviews we do not become complacent for it reminds us that we have to keep our standards up to maintain good reviews which are obviously very helpful for us. My sincere best wishes, Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Grovefieild. Excellent location walking distance to beach easy walk down but uphill all the way back
We stayed in the Dolphin apartment ajoining the hotel and it was a lovely 2 bed more like a mini bungalow with small garden, We will go there again and perhaps try the Bed and Breakfast, there is also a really nice pub 3 houses down perfect for a quick drink or a meal
The accommodation was very clean and had everything we required even a dishwasher my only moan would be there is perhaps too much odds and ends in apt but that's just me must admit to moving around a few bits, unsure what to do with the big piece of art standing up in the second bedroom
But overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThailandAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.6 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,691 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,464 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grovefield Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grovefield Manor

Property: Grovefield Manor
Address: 18 Pinewood Road | Branksome Park, Poole BH13 6JS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grovefield Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grovefield Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grovefield Manor Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing