We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mariners Guest House
Ranked #6 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I found this a very nice place, recently decorated. A very good breakfast, a nice peaceful nights sleep, the attic bedroom has a little head room restriction. A chip shop is in walking distance.
Good location, and off road parking

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    40
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
92
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the attic room which was small but very clean. Excellent choice for breakfast which was served by Yvonne personally, friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Although situated next to a main road we were not bothered by noise as it is pretty quiet at night. Good location, you can walk to Poole Quay or Poole town centre fairly easily and it is close to Parkstone railway station. It's not the cheapest B&B but good value for the location and quality if you're staying as a couple. Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Sox Nation
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for two nights during a trip through the New Forest. Yvonne is a wonderful host! When we arrived, she was about to run out, but stopped to welcome us in and make sure we were settled. Our room had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was small, but serviceable. The breakfast room was decorated beautifully. Both the full English breakfast and the porridge are highly recommended. Yvonne provided us with a very useful map to find dining options nearby. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

One night before an early ferry for a couple with a standard poodle. Very comfortable double room. Worried at first about traffic noise but it was not a problem. Room 2 shower and loo very cramped but cannot speak for others. Good wifi after logging-on problem for Ipad. Good off road parking. Close to Poole Park and town centre. Good breakfast served without quibble when requested for 6.30am. Why no fifth star? Cramped loo and use of plug in air fresheners which aggravate wife's allergies. A fair deal and recommended, especially for pet owners. Off season rates maybe not so competitive? Certainly convenient for early ferry departure.

Room Tip: Ask to see before committing. Room two is a corner room adjacent main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

As part of a group of windsurfers who frequently descend upon this B&B every year, we can honestly say it never fails to be a wonderful stay at The Mariners. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished with lovely décor and the host is very friendly and accommodating. There is also a good variety of breakfast options (including healthy choices as well).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very clean, uncluttered décor, good beds, charming host and excellent range of healthy breakfast options. Several restaurants close by, and La Cruz was amazingly good value. What is it about Poole? Everyone was so friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place is a hidden gem, a total find. My family and I always stay in high end hotels and this was our first venture into guest house land a few years ago but it had come highly recommended by a colleague. We were pleased back then we had given it a go and even more so now. On our first visit not so long after landlady Yvonne bought it you could see she was trying to turn the place around and busy refurb'ing etc and we still enjoyed a fabulous stay and thought she had the place looking pretty good back then! This time round it was just wonderful to go back and see the utter transformation. She is pretty much finished her decorating and the place is just adorable. Beautiful white beach feel interior with lovely pastel shades and seaside bits and pieces giving it a nautical feel. She remembered us and made us feel so welcome we felt like returning friends. Such a nice touch and you really did feel it was authentic. Because we had our children with us this time she went out of her way to spoil them rotten! She recommended some fabulous restaurants in town, we were looking for high end and she didn't disappoint. Storm Fish was a total find. We also ate at Da Vinci's which was wonderful and she recommended the most beautiful Terrace Bar establishment overlooking the whole of Sandbanks and the harbour for my husband and I to go for a romantic drink on our 2nd night whilst she (wait for it) BABYSAT!!! The woman is a trooper! Breakfast was terrific, her teenage daughter is adorable serving brekky with her mum with a smile! I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: NB There is no pool or childrens activities (unless you count the charismatic landlady playing with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella00Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
0.7 mi away
Viewpoint Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mariners Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mariners Guest House

Property: The Mariners Guest House
Address: 26 Sandbanks Road, Poole BH14 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mariners Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Mariners Guest House Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing