We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above & Beyond”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mariners Guest House
Ranked #5 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redcar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above & Beyond”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for a week during August with my daughter. Perfect location, within walking distance of a whole host of activities that kept my little girl and I busy. Ice skating, swimming, boat rides, pottery painting, amazing beaches and fabulous restaurants for all tastes.
B&B itself is modern, spotless and the breakfasts are amazing! Yvonne really went out of her way to make us feel welcome very knowledgeable about the local area and even made pancakes for breakfast!
Best B&B I've stayed in by far!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    40
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
94
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked a single night bed and breakfast at The Mariners for ourselves and our grandson. Yvonne very kindly put an extra bed in our room which suited us perfectly. We had a lovely visit and a delicious breakfast. Nothing too much trouble for this kindly lady! The Mariners is a lovely welcoming accommodation with parking availability, and we will definitely be visiting again when we come to Poole. Thank you Yvonne and team!

Room Tip: On a main road so rear rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burgundycarole4301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay in mid-August at relatively short notice, which was dog-friendly. Yvonne was really responsive and helpful from us first contacting her through to the end of our stay. The guest house is beautifully decorated, it's in a great location for sandbanks and all the surrounding attractions and the breakfast were great. Yvonne could not have been more friendly and helpful while we were there. This is an absolutely great find and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiBu44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights with husband and Charlie, our cocker spaniel! Room was lovely, bright and clean and breakfast great with lots of choice. Lovely walk through Poole Park and along the front to the harbour. Would highly recommed, great to find a pet friendly guest house that is so nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here with a friend and received a warm welcome from the owner Yvonne. She gave us lots of useful information about the surrounding area, such as places to visit, things to do and places to eat, including some maps to help us find our way around. There is good off road parking at the house, so you don't have to worry about your car and can just relax. The guesthouse is a lovely, large, airy and fresh feeling house. We stayed in room 1, which is a large twin room. It was spotless, beds were made daily, well decorated and nicely furnished. The beds were surprisingly comfortable, something that is normally a let down in most hotels and guesthouses. Due to the hot weather when we stayed, we needed to sleep with the windows open. Unfortunately the room faced the busy road, that didn't seem to quieten until very late and became busy again early in the morning. The only real down side to the room was the bathroom. Although it was spotlessly clean, tidy and well equipped, it was tiny, in fact so small that I kept banging my elbows on the walls. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice and freshly cooked, all served in a beautiful and clean dining room. Overall this is a great place to stay, with a friendly and knowledgeable host.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fesmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for two nights 27th and 28th July in the twin attic room and loved it. Yvonne was a great host very helpful. The decor is very clean and modern and fits in by the sea. The house is in a great location within walking distance of the amenities. Lastly the breakfast is great with all tastes catered for. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink_Penguin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights (25/26th July) and it certainly lived up to previous reviews. Friendly reception, decorated to high standards and great breakfast. Ideally situated for leaving the car (on site parking) and exploring Poole on foot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
1.3 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mariners Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mariners Guest House

Property: The Mariners Guest House
Address: 26 Sandbanks Road, Poole BH14 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mariners Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Mariners Guest House Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing